Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 99-12

Sondierbohrung Benken Bohrtechnik, Bau- und Umweltaspekte

Download

Details

The aim of the Benken borehole was to investigate the properties of the Opalinus Clay and surrounding rock formations and to correlate the seismic data with these results.

Following a licensing procedure which lasted several years, accessing and construction of the drillsite began in April 1998. As a result of the poor ground conditions, additional piling of the foundation for the drilling equipment was necessary, as was installation of a string of auxiliary casing down to a depth of 30 m.

Drilling began on 3rd September 1998 and, including the scientific investigations carried out in the borehole, continued till 12th May 1999. With a final depth of 1007.00 m, the borehole passed through 983.3 m of Neozoic and Mesozoic sediments and 23.7 m of gneisses of the crystalline basement.

With the exception of a salt horizon and crystalline basement in the deepest part of the borehole, geological predictions were largely confirmed by the drilling results.

The borehole was drilled with three-cone-bits for the uppermost 394.8 m; the remaining section was continuously cored using the wire line technique. The drilling rig used was a hydraulic rotary drillig rig, type Wirth B5-R.

For the cored sections, triple core barrels with synthetic liners were used almost exclusively and core recovery was around 99%. The main cored diameter and the final diameter of the borehole were 6 1/4" (158.8 mm).

A total of four permanent casings were installed in the borehole and, with the exception of the anchor casing, were cemented up to ground level. It was not necessary to install a further reserve casing.

The upper section of the borehole down to the base of the Malm limestones and the Upper and Middle Muschelkalk were drilled using a clay-freshwater drilling fluid. The section up to the installation of the anchor casing was marked by unfavourable geohydraulic formation properties.

For the first time in such an exploratory borehole, the Opalinus Clay and its neighbouring formations were drilled using a sodium silicate fluid. Despite the excellent functioning of this fluid in inhibiting the swelling of clay formations that are sensitive to freshwater, stability problems did occur. The reason for this was the hydraulic borehole tests, which were intensive in terms of time and procedure and partly involved several exchanges of drilling fluid. The difficult situation also led, on several occasions, to time-consuming fishing jobs.

Besides the two types of drilling fluid (clay-freshwater and sodium silicate), it was also necessary to use a saturated saline fluid for drilling through the salt horizon as stabilisation of the salt zone by cementation proved unsuccessful.

Once the final depth of 1007.0 m had been reached and the active borehole investigations were completed, the borehole was backfilled with cement up to 827.7 m.

With the perforation of the end casing and preparation of the borehole for installation of the long-tem monitoring system, work was completed 250 working days (continuous 24-hour operation) after spud-in. Of this total, the time used for scientific investigations in the borehole amounted to around 44% and the drilling activities to 56%.

Once the drilling equipment had been removed, a system for long-term monitoring of deep groundwaters was installed in the borehole and the drill-site was partly recultivated.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 99-12

Sondierbohrung Benken Bohrtechnik, Bau- und Umweltaspekte

Télécharger

Détails

Le forage de reconnaissance de Benken avait pour objectif d’explorer les propriétés des Argiles à Opalinus et des couches adjacentes (substratum et couverture), et de les corréler avec les résultats des études sismiques.

Après une procédure d’autorisation de plusieurs années, l’aménagement et l’installation du site de forage ont pu débuter en avril 1998. Les conditions géotechniques locales défavorables ont nécessité la consolidation du socle de la foreuse au moyen de pieux et la mise en place et d’un tubage-guide d’appoint jusqu’à 30 m de profondeur.

Les travaux de forage ont commencé le 3 septembre 1998 et se sont déroulés, avec les investigations scientifiques effectuées dans le forage, jusqu’au 12 mai 1999. D’une profondeur totale de 1'007.0 m, le forage a traversé 983.3 m de sédiments mésozoïques et cénozoïques, et 23.7 m de gneiss du socle cristallin.

Les prévisions géologiques ont été largement confirmées par les résultats du forage, à l’exception de la présence d’un horizon de sel et du socle cristallin à la base du forage.

Le forage a été exécuté au trépan jusqu’à une profondeur de 394.8 m, et ensuite carotté au carottier à câble sans interruption jusqu’à la base. La foreuse était une machine rotative hydraulique du type Wirth B5-R.

Les tronçons carottés ont été forés presque exclusivement à l’aide d’un carottier triple à chemise interne en résine. Le taux de récupération des carottes a atteint pratiquement 99 %. Le diamètre du trou carotté principal était de 6 ¼ " (158.8 mm), comme celui du diamètre final du forage.

Le forage a été équipé de quatre tubages définitifs, cimentés jusqu’au sol, à l’exception du tubage d’ancrage. On a pu renoncer à la mise en place d’un autre tubage-guide gardé en réserve.

La partie supérieure, jusqu’à la base des calcaires du Malm, ainsi que le Muschelkalk supérieur et moyen, ont été forés avec une boue à l’eau douce. Jusqu’à la mise en place du tubage d’ancrage, le tronçon correspondant a été affecté par les médiocres caractéristiques géohydrauliques des formations.

Les Argiles à Opalinus et les formations adjacentes ont été forées avec un fluide au silicate de sodium, utilisé pour la première fois dans ce type de forage. Malgré son excellente capacité d’inhibition du gonflement des formations argileuses sensibles à l’eau douce, on a rencontré des problèmes de stabilité et de calibre. Ces problèmes ont été causés par des tests hydrauliques de très longue durée et nécessitant trop d’interventions, avec parfois des échanges répétés du fluide de forage. Les parties endommagées du forage ont occasionné à plusieurs reprises des travaux de repêchage de longue durée.

En plus des deux types de fluide de forage mentionnés, la boue à l’eau douce et le silicate de sodium, on a aussi utilisé un fluide saturé en sel pour forer l’horizon salin, après avoir constaté qu’une stabilisation de la zone saline n’était pas possible par cimentation.

Après la complétion du forage à la profondeur finale de 1'007.0 m et la fin des investigations actives dans le forage, ce dernier a été scellée au ciment de la base à 827.7 m de profondeur.

La perforation du tubage définitif et la préparation du forage pour l’observation a long terme ont marqué la fin du forage, après 250 jours d’activité ininterrompue, 24 heures sur 24, à partir de l’ablation du sol. Globalement, les investigations scientifiques ont accaparé 44 % du temps de travail, et les travaux de forage 56 %.

Après le démontage de l’installation de forage, un système d’observation à long terme des eaux souterraines profondes a été installé dans le forage, et le site partiellement remis en état.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs