Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 91-28

Diffusion von Eisen- und Jodid-Ionen in hochverdichtetem Bentonit

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

The diffusion coefficients of iron(II) and iodide ions in the Na-bentonite MX-80 and Ca-bentonite Montigel were determined as non-stationary apparent diffusion coefficients under dynamic conditions using special diffusion apparatus.

For dry densities around 16 kN/m3 or saturation water contents of 25 %, the apparent diffusion coefficients of iron(II) ions at ambient temperature are in the order of 8 × 10-13 m2/s to 7 × 10-12 m2/s. An exchange of free cations in the bentonites, i.e. Ca ions rather than Na ions in the MX-80 and Na ions rather than Ca ions in the Montigel, had no effect on the diffusion coefficients of the iron(II) ions. For dry densities of around 17 kN/m3 or water contents of around 20 %, the apparent diffusion coefficients of iodide ions are 2 × 10-11 m2/s to 4 × 10-11 m2/s at ambient temperature and 3 × 10-11 m2/s to 5 × 10-11 m2/s at 150°C. These values are around an order of magnitude smaller than those determined by KAHR et al. (1985) using free-standing, compacted, non­saturated bentonite samples. At ambient temperature, diffusion coefficients of 1 × 10-10 m2/s to 4 × 10-10 m2/s were determined for iodide ions in such experiments.

The apparent diffusion coefficients for iron(II) and iron(III) ions were also measured for free-standing, compacted, non-saturated bentonite samples (MX-80 and Montigel). With water contents of around 17 %, the diffusion coefficients for iron(II) ions at ambient temperature are 3 × 10-11 m2/s to 4 × 10-11 m2/s; with water contents of around 27 %, the figure is 6 × 10-11 m2/s. These values are thus around an order of magnitude above those determined using the diffusion apparatus. With water contents of around 28 %, the diffusion coefficients for iron(lII) ions are 8 × 10-11 m2/s.

The differences between the results for diffusion coefficients for the two measuring methods (diffusion apparatus versus free-standing samples) were a maximum of one order of magnitude for both iron(II) and iodide ions. The larger values for diffusion coefficients were determined for the free-standing samples.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 91-28

Diffusion von Eisen- und Jodid-Ionen in hochverdichtetem Bentonit

Ordre

  • version papier, allemand
    20,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Les coefficients de diffusion de ions de fer(lI) et d'iodures dans de la bentonite au sodium MX-80 ainsi qu'au calcium Montigel, ont été déterminés comme coefficients apparents de diffusion à l'aide d'un appareillage de diffusion spécial, sous conditions dynamiques instationnaires. Pour des densités sèches de l'ordre de 16 kN/m3 et une teneur de saturation en eau d'environ 25 %, l'ordre de grandeur des coefficients apparents de diffusion des ions de fer(II) se situe entre 8 × 10-13 et 7 × 10-12 m2/s à température ambiante. Un échange des cations échangeables dans les bentonites, c.-à­d. des ions de Ca à la place de ions de Na dans MX-80 et des ions Na à la place de ions de Ca dans Montigel, n'a pas eu d'influence sur les coefficients de diffusion des ions de fer(Il). Pour une densité sèche d'environ 17 kN/m3 avec une teneur en eau d'approximativement 20 %, les coefficients apparents de diffusion des ions de iodures se situent entre 2 × 10-11 et 4 × 10-11 m2/s à température ambiante et entre 3 × 10-11 et 5 × 10-11 m2/s vers 150°C. Ces valeurs sont inférieures d'un facteur 10 environ de celles déterminées par KAHR et al. (1985) sur des échantillons libres de bentonites compactées non-saturées. Lors de ces essais des coefficients de diffusion des ions de iodures de 1 × 10-10 à 4 × 10-10 m2/s ont été mesurés à température ambiante.

Les coefficients apparents de diffusion des ions de fer(II) et de fer(III) ont également été mesurés sur des échantillons libres de bentonites compactées et non-saturées (MX­80 et Montigel). Pour des teneurs en eau d'environ 17 % les coefficients de diffusion à température ambiante pour le fer(II) étaient de 3 × 10-11 à 4 × 10-11 m2/s alors que pour des teneurs en eau d'environ 27 % ils se situaient vers 6 × 10-11 m2/s. Les valeurs de ces coefficients se situent donc un facteur dix environ au-dessus de celles déterminées à l'aide d'appareillages de diffusion. Pour des teneurs en eau d'environ 28 %, les coefficients de diffusion des ions de fer(III) se situent vers 8 × 10-11 m2/s.

Les eccarts observés entre les mesures de coefficients de diffusion effectuées par les deux méthodes (appareillage de diffusion et échantillon libre) sont au maximum un facteur dix, pour les ions de fer(lI) comme pour ceux de iodures. Les coefficients de diffusion les plus élevés ont été mesurés sur des échantillons libres.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs