Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 90-17

Langzeitquellenverhalten von Tongesteinen und tonigen Sulfatgesteinen

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The swelling behaviour of shales such as the Opalinum Clay, and of clay-containing sulphate rocks is, in addition to the influence of the overburden pressure, mainly dependent on the mineralogical composition of the rock.

The swelling potential of shales increases with increasing content and specific surface area of the clay. Swelling pressures greater than 2 MPa and swelling strains greater than 10 percent are usually not encountered above depths of up to 300 m below the ground surface.

The relationship between the swelling behaviour of clay-sulphate rocks and their mineralogical composition is more complicated than that of pure clays. In those rocks which contain anhydrite, the texture determines the time-swelling behaviour and the development of the mineralogical swelling potential.

Rocks containing only anhydrite do not swell, whereas, rocks containing 5 percent clay may develop a swelling stress of more than 1 MPa for axial strains less than 1 percent. The maximum swelling potential was found in rocks containing 10 to 15 percent clay and 70 to 75 percent anhydrite. With this latter composition, a swelling stress greater than 4 MPa was determined for axial strain less than 2.5 percent. Samples containing more than 15 percent clay tended to show a smaller swelling potential.

The swelling strain of clay-sulphate rock depends on the quantity of anhydrite which is converted into gypsum. The clay content also plays an important role. Rock without clay shows no swelling strain, even after a testing period of six years.

Samples with a higher clay content exhibit a faster conversion of anhydrite into gypsum than do samples with a smaller amount of clay. The swelling strain of samples containing as little as 5 percent clay was more than 100 percent after a testing period of two years. During this period 90 percent of the anhydrite was converted into gypsum.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 90-17

Langzeitquellenverhalten von Tongesteinen und tonigen Sulfatgesteinen

Ordre

  • version papier, allemand
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

La composition minéralogique des argiles, telles que "l'Opalinuston", mais aussi d'autres roches sulfatées, semble jouer un rôle aussi décisif que la pression de confinement lors de processus de gonflement.

Le potentiel de gonflement des argiles augmente avec leur contenu en argile et en fonction de leur surface spécifique. Par contre, il est rare de rencontrer des pressions de gonflement supérieures à 2 MPa ainsi qu'une masse de gonflement excédant 10 % à des profondeurs de moins de 300 mètres.

La relation entre la composition minéralogique et le gonflement des roches sulfatées est plus compliqué car la texture influence le potentiel de gonflement. La texture détermine l'évolution temporelle et l'utilisation du potentiel de gonflement des minéralogies en présence.

Les roches anhydritiques pures ne gonflent pratiquement pas. Par contre, les roches anhydritiques dont le contenu en argile dépasse 5 % causent des pressions de gonflement excédant 1 MPa (déformation axiale inférieure à 1 %). Les roches se composant de 10 à 15 % d'argiles et de 70 à 75 % d'anhydrite présentent un potentiel de gonflement maximum. Dans ces cas, les pressions de gonflement excédent 4 MPa (déformation axiale inférieure à 2.5 %). Lorsque le contenu en argile dépasse 15 % et que celui de l'anhydrite est plus bas que 70 %, le potentiel de gonflement diminue à nouveau.

Le volume de gonflement des roches anhydritiques contenant des argiles est directement proportionnel à la quantité d'anhydrite se transformant en gypse. Dans ce contexte, le contenu en argile joue aussi un rôle important: des échantillons sans argiles ne gonflent pas, même sur une durée de six ans.

Plus un échantillon d'anhydrite argilifère contient d'argile, plus la transformation d'anhydrite en gypse se fait rapidement. Après 2 ans et en l'absence de toutes contraintes, des échantillons contenant 5 % d'argile présentent un volume de gonflement supérieur à 100 % alors que 90 % de l'anhydrite s'est transformé en gypse.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs