Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 88-10

Sondierbohrung Leuggern Untersuchungsbericht

Download

  • Technischer Bericht NTB 88-10 Zusammenfassung-Resume-Summary
    Download
  • Technischer Bericht NTB 88-10 Beilagenband
    Download
  • Technischer Bericht NTB 88-10 Textband
    Download

Details

In 1980, Nagra (the National Cooperative for the Storage of Radioactive Waste) launched an extensive geological investigation programme covering an area of some 1'200 km2 in Northern Switzerland. The aim of the programme was to collect the geological information necessary for assessing the suitability of the crystalline basement as a disposal medium for high-level radioactive waste. The wide range of investigations performed can be divided logically into a deep drilling programme, geophysical reconnaissance of the rock formations and structures in the region, a hydrogeology programme for investigating water flow paths deep in the bedrock and a neotectonic programme for identification of active crustal movements in the area.

The Leuggern borehole was the sixth in the deep drilling programme. The drill-site (coordinates 657.664/271.208; 358.8 m a.s.l.) is located within the community of Leuggern in Canton Aargau, some 13 kilometres to the north of Brugg. The borehole reached a final depth of 1'689 m.

The aim of the Leuggern borehole was to penetrate through the sedimentary overburden and around 1'500 metres deep into the underlying crystalline bedrock. A wide range of investigations was carried out in the borehole itself, as well as on drill-cores and water samples, and state-of-the-art techniques were used to compile a detailed picture of the geology of the basement and the deep groundwater regime.

Drilling began on 9th July 1984 and continued, with regular interruptions for scientific investigations, until 19th February 1985. Further tests were then carried out during the course of the following months up till 22nd May 1985. A temporary multipacker system was installed for long-term monitoring of the hydraulic conditions in the crystalline formations. Fluid logging tests designed specifically to identify water inflow points were carried out in August and September 1987. The temporary monitoring system also had to be dismantled and replaced with a definitive multipacker system which came into operation on 1st October 1987. The investigation programme was carried out more or less completely according to plan and with a considerable degree of success.

The drilling and investigation programmes were conceived and managed by Nagra scientists with the assistance of external advisers. More than 40 technical colleges, outside contractors and service companies from Switzerland, Germany, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Canada and the USA participated in the programmes, bringing the total number of scientists and technicians involved to over 150.

This report takes the form of a summary of the most significant results obtained in Leuggern during the course of the investigation programme. The series of reports for the deep boreholes (Böttstein, Weiach, Riniken, Leuggern, Schafisheim, Kaisten and Siblingen) is structured in such a way as to allow cross-comparisons to be made between results and data-sets for the different sites. Presentation of the actual conclusions to be drawn from the data will be reserved for a final synthesis report. Detailed documentation of individual experiments can be found in Nagra's Technical Report (NTB) series (see list at the end of this report).

Komplette Zusammenfassung / Résumé complet / Full abstract: NTB 88-10 Zusammenfassung – Résumé – Summary.pdf

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 88-10

Sondierbohrung Leuggern Untersuchungsbericht

Télécharger

Détails

La Nagra (Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle) a entrepris en 1980 un programme d'investigations géologiques important sur une aire d'environ 1'200 km2 dans le nord de la Suisse. Ce programme doit fournir les connaissances nécessaires au diagnostic de l'aptitude du sous-sol à l'entreposage définitif de déchets hautement radioactifs. Les diverses investigations peuvent se répartir en un programme de forages profonds, une reconnaissance géophysique de la nature et de la structure régionale des roches, un programme d'études hydrogéologiques axé sur la compréhension des écoulements souterrains dans le sous-sol profond, et un programme d'études néotectoniques destiné à la reconnaissance de mouvements encore actifs de la croûte terrestre dans la région d'investigation.

Le forage de Leuggern est le cinquième des forages de reconnaissance profonds du programme. Le site se trouve sur le territoire de la commune de Leuggern, dans le canton d'Argovie, à environ 13 km au nord de Brugg (coord. 657.664/271.208; alt. 358.80 m s.m.). Le forage atteint une profondeur de 1'689 m.

Le forage de Leuggern avait pour but de reconnaître la couverture sédimentaire et le substratum cristallin sur une épaisseur de 1'500 m. Des investigations très poussées ont été menées dans le forage, sur les carottes et sur les échantillons d'eau prélevés. Les méthodologies les plus modernes ont été appliquées pour caractériser au mieux les paramètres géologiques et hydrogéologiques du sous-sol profond.

Les travaux de forage ont commencé le 9 juillet 1984 et se sont poursuivis jusqu'au 19 février 1985, avec plusieurs interruptions destinées aux études scientifiques. Ces études, notamment des tests hydrauliques, se sont poursuivies jusqu'au 22 mai 1985. On a alors installé dans le forage un système provisoire d'obturateurs multiples destiné à l'observation des niveaux piézométriques à long terme dans le cristallin. Des tests complémentaires (diagraphies de fluide) ont été effectués en août et septembre 1987, afin de localiser les venues d'eau. Pour cela, il a fallu démonter le système provisoire d'obturateurs multiples. Un système définitif a été installé une fois les diagraphies terminées. Il est opérationnel depuis le 1er octobre 1987. Le programme d'investigations prévu a pu être mené presque en totalité, et en grande partie de manière satisfaisante.

Le programme de forage et d'investigations a été établi et conduit par la Nagra, avec la participation de conseillers externes. Plus de 40 instituts universitaires, sociétés de conseils ou de services de Suisse, d'Allemagne fédérale, de France, de Grande-Bretagne, des Pays Bas, du Canada et des Etats Unis d'Amérique ont participé à ces travaux, soit au total plus de 150 scientifiques et techniciens.

Le présent rapport rend compte de manière succincte des principaux résultats acquis dans le cadre du programme de recherches du forage de Leuggern. Les programmes des autres forages profonds du nord de la Suisse (Böttstein, Weiach, Riniken, Leuggern, Schafisheim, Kaisten et Siblingen) sont traités et documentés de manière similaire, afin faciliter le transfert et la comparaison des informations. Toutefois, les conclusions finales ne seront tirées que dans le cadre d'un rapport de synthèse. Des rapports detaillés ont été établis pour chacun des domaines d'investigation particuliers traités dans ce rapport (série des rapports techniques NTB de la Nagra, voir l'index en fin de volume).

Komplette Zusammenfassung / Résumé complet / Full abstract: NTB 88-10 Zusammenfassung – Résumé – Summary.pdf

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs