Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 88-09

Sondierbohrung Riniken Untersuchungsbericht

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 100.00

Download

  • Technischer Bericht NTB 88-09 Zusammenfassung
    Download
  • Technischer Bericht NTB 88-09 Beilagenband
    Download
  • Technischer Bericht NTB 88-09 Textband
    Download

Details

In 1980, Nagra (the National Cooperative for the Storage of Radioactive Waste) launched an extensive geological investigation programme covering an area of some 1'200 km2 in Northern Switzerland. The aim of the programme was to collect the geological information necessary for assessing the suitability of the crystalline basement as a disposal medium for high-level radioactive waste. The wide range of investigations performed can be divided logically into a deep drilling programme, geophysical reconnaissance of the rock formations and structures in the region, a hydrogeological programme for investigation of water flow-paths deep in the bedrock and a neotectonic programme for identification of active crustal movements in the area.

The Riniken borehole was the third (after Böttstein and Weiach) in the deep drilling programme. The drill-site (coordinates 656'604/261'799; 385.07 m a.s.l.) lies within the community of Riniken in Canton Aargau, around 3 km north-north-west of the Brugg railway station. The final depth of the borehole was 1'800.5 m.

A wide range of investigations was carried out in the borehole itself, as well as on drill-cores and water samples. The most up-to-date methods were used to draw a detailed picture of the geology of the basement and the deep groundwater regime.

Drilling began on 23rd June 1983 and continued, with regular interruptions for scientific investiga­tions, until 12th January 1984. Further tests were then carried out during the following months up till 18th July 1985. A multipacker system was installed between 19th and 23rd July 1985 with a view to carrying out long-term monitoring of the hydraulic conditions in the Schilfsandstein, the Trigonodus Dolomite, the Buntsandstein and the Permian. The planned investigation programme was carried out more or less in full and with a considerable degree of success.

The drilling and investigation programmes were planned and managed by Nagra employees with the cooperation of external advisers. More than 40 technical colleges, contractors and service companies from Switzerland, the Federal Republic of Germany, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Canada and the USA, representing a total manpower of over 150 scientists and technicians, were involved in the investigations.

This report is a summary of the most significant results obtained during the course of the programme. The series of investigation reports for the deep boreholes (Böttstein, Weiach, Riniken, Leuggern, Schafisheim, Kaisten and Siblingen) is structured in such a way that cross-comparisons can easily be made between the results and data-sets for the different locations. However, the conclusions to be drawn from the data will be reserved for a final synthesis report. Detailed documentation of individual experiments is provided in Nagra's Technical Report series (see NTB list at the end of this report).

Komplette Zusammenfassung / Résumé complet / Full abstract:

NTB 88-09 Zusammenfassung – Résumé – Summary.pdf

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 88-09

Sondierbohrung Riniken Untersuchungsbericht

Ordre

  • version papier, allemand
    100,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

La Cédra (Société coopérative nationale pour l'entreposage des déchets radioactifs) a entrepris en 1980 un programme d'investigations géologiques important sur une aire d'environ 1'200 km2 dans le nord de la Suisse. Ce programme doit fournir les connaissances nécessaires au diagnostic de l'adéquation du sous-sol à l'entreposage définitif de déchets hautement radioactifs. Les diverses investigations peuvent se répartir en un programme de forages profonds, une reconnaissance géophysique de la nature et de la structure régionale des roches, un programme d'études hydrogéologiques axé sur la compréhension des écoulements souterrains dans le sous-sol profond, et un programme d'études néotectoniques destiné à la reconnaissance de mouvements encore actifs de la croûte terrestre dans la région d'investigation.

Le forage de Riniken est le troisième des forages de reconnaissance profonds du programme, après Böttstein et Weiach. Le site se trouve sur le territoire de la commune de Riniken, dans le canton d'Argovie, à environ 3 km au nord-nord ouest de la gare de Brugg (coord. 656'604/261'799; aIt. 385.07 m s.m.). Le forage atteint une profondeur de 1'800.5 m.

Des investigations très poussées ont été menées tant sur les carottes de forage que sur les échantillons d'eau prélevés. Les méthodologies les plus modernes ont été appliquées pour caractériser au mieux les paramètres géologiques et hydrogéologiques du sous-sol profond.

Les travaux de forage ont commencé le 23 juin 1983, et se sont poursuivis jusqu'au 12 janvier 1984, avec plusieurs interruptions destinées aux études scientifiques. Ces études, notamment des tests hydrauliques, se sont poursuivies jusqu'au 18 juillet 1985. Du 19 au 23 juillet 1985, on a installé dans le forage un système d'obturateurs multiples destiné à l'observation des pressions hydrostatiques à long terme dans le Grès à roseaux (Schilfsandstein), la Dolomie à Trigonodus (Trigonodus-Dolomit), le Buntsandstein et le Permien. Le programme d'investigations prévu a pu être mené presque en totalité, et en grande partie de manière satisfaisante.

Le programme de forage et d'investigations a été établi et conduit par la Cédra, avec la participation de conseillers externes. Plus de 40 instituts universitaires, sociétés de conseils ou de services de Suisse, d'Allemagne fédérale, de France, de Grande­-Bretagne, des Pays Bas, du Canada et des Etats Unis d'Amérique ont participé à ces travaux, soit au total plus de 150 scientifiques et techniciens.

Le présent rapport rend compte de manière succincte des principaux résultats acquis dans le cadre du programme de recherches du forage de Riniken. Les programmes des autres forages profonds du nord de la Suisse (Böttstein, Weiach, Leuggern, Schafisheim, Kaisten et Siblingen) sont traités et documentés de manière similaire, afin de faciliter le transfert et la comparaison des informations. Toutefois, les conclusions finales ne seront tirées que dans le cadre d'un rapport de synthèse. Des rapports détaillés ont été établis pour chacun des domaines d'investigation particuliers traités dans ce rapport (série des rapports techniques NTB de la Cédra, voir l'index en fin de rapport).

Komplette Zusammenfassung / Résumé complet / Full abstract:

NTB 88-09 Zusammenfassung – Résumé – Summary.pdf

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs