Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 83-21

Geophysikalisches Untersuchungsprogramm Nordschweiz Regionale Refraktionsseismische Messungen

Download

Details

In the framework of the geophysical survey of Switzerland the depth to the basement under the northeastern parts of the Swiss Jura mountains was determined by means of the seismic refraction method. This included an assessment of the seismic velocities within this crystalline basement at depth as well as for its outcrop in the nearby southern part of the Black Forest. The Swiss Geophysical Commission (SGPK) and the National Cooperative for the Storage of Radioactive Waste (NAGRA) were joint sponsors of this survey.

The Institute of Geophysics of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH-Z) organized the fieldwork and performed the interpretation of the data.

In the near-surface gneisses of the southern Black Forest the compressional wave velocities range from 2.2 km/s to 4.5 km/s. The velocity increases to about 5.0 km/s down to a depth of 300 m. It reaches values of about 5.5 km/s and 5.8 km/s at depths of 1 km and 2 km, respectively. At 3 km, which was the maximum depth reached, the velocity is still less than 6 km/s. No lateral changes or significant differences of velocity could be detected along or between the various profiles in the crystalline part of the Black Forest. This holds also for the surveyed gneissic and granitic areas.

The velocity - depth structure under the northeastern parts of the Swiss Jura and the adjacent parts of the Molasse basin is based on data from profiles which run from shotpoints near Villigen, the Hallwilersee and Kaisten in various directions. An average velocity of 3.7 to 3.8 km/ s was derived for the entire Mesozoic overburden. Underneath there is evidence for a heavily fractured transition zone in the crystalline basement with a gradual increase of velocity to about 5.2 km/s at a depth of 300 m below the base of the Mesozoic sediments. On the average a velocity of 6 km/s can be expected 2300 to 2500 m below this interface.

On a contour map covering the area of the northeastern Jura and the adjacent fringe of the Molasse basin the basement dips down to the south-southeast under the Mosozoic and Cenozoic sediments. This dip is more pronounced under the tabular Jura mountains and east of the Aare river than further south where the relief flattens out considerably. Pronounced east-west striking variations overlie the general southward oriented slope. Two small scale troughs seem to exist near Mönthal and Frick west of the Aare valley.

To the east of the Aare valley the crystalline basement forms a regional trough with a maximum depth of 2100 m below mean sea level. This unexpectedly large trough is likely to be filled with Permo-Carboniferous sediments. The eastern ranges of the folded Jura mountains again are underlain by a depression in the basement which is much less marked, however. To the south of this area, between Wildegg and Mellingen, a relative high of 200 m is superimposed on the generally SSE dipping basement.

The unexpected low velocities of the upper basement indicate severe weathering. Possibly the uppermost rocks are altered to such a degree that the location of the top of the basement is relatively inaccurate.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 83-21

Geophysikalisches Untersuchungsprogramm Nordschweiz Regionale Refraktionsseismische Messungen

Télécharger

Détails

Dans le cadre du relevé géophysique de la Suisse, on a cherché à déterminer, au moyen de la sismique de réfraction, la profondeur du socle cristallin sous les prolongements nords orientaux du Jura Suisse. Ceci comprend la recherche des vitesses des ondes sismiques dans les roches cristallines composant le socle en profondeur tout aussi bien qu'en surface au sud de la Forêt Noire. La Commission géophysique Suisse (SGPK) et la Coopérative nationale pour l'élimination des déchets radioactifs (CEDRA) furent les responsables de ces recherches. L'organisation, l'exécution et l’interprétation des mesures ont été accomplies par l'Institut de géophysique de l'école polytechnique fédérale de Zurich.

Dans les gneiss du sud de la Forêt Noire proche de la surface, la vitesse des ondes de compression varie entre 2.2 km/s et 4.5 km/s. La vitesse s'accroît jusqu'à environ 5.0 km/s à une profondeur de 300 m. Elle atteint des valeurs proches de 5.5 km/s à 1 km et 5.8 km/s à 2 km de profondeur. A la profondeur de 3 km, profondeur maximale atteinte par ces mesures, la vitesse est toujours inférieure à 6 km/s. On n'a pas pu déceler de changements latéraux, des différences significatives de vitesses le long ou entre les profils situés sur la partie cristalline de la Forêt Noire. Cette constatation est également valable pour les zones gneissiques et granitiques.

La structure, vitesse-profondeur sous les prolongements nords orientaux du Jura Suisse et le bassin molassique y attenant est établie sur la base des profils rayonnants des points de tirs près de Villigen, du lac de Hallwyl et Kaisten. Dans les séries mésozoïques une vitesse moyenne de 3.7 km/s à 3.8 km/s a été calculée. On trouve en dessous, dans le socle cristallin, une zone de transition probablement fortement fissurée, dans laquelle la vitesse augmente graduellement jusqu'à 5.2 km/s à quelque 300 m en dessous de la base des sédiments mésozoïques. Sous cet horizon sédimentaire on peut s'attendre à une vitesse moyenne de 6.0 km/s à environ 2300 à 2500 m de profondeur.

Sur la carte représentant les contours de la surface du socle cristallin couvrant la région nord orientale du Jura et celle du bassin molassique, le socle s'enfonce dans la direction sud, sud-est sous les sédiments mésozoïques et tertiaires. L'inclinaison est plus prononcée sous le Jura tabulaire et à l lest de l'Aar, que plus au sud, où le relief du socle tend sensiblement vers l'horizontal. A l'inclinaison générale vers le sud se superposent des accidents marqués, orientés est-ouest. Il semble exister à l'ouest de la vallée de l'Aar près de Moental et de Frick deux dépressions de moindre importance.

A l'est de la vallée de l'Aar, le socle cristallin s'enfonce jusqu'à une profondeur maximale de 2100 m en dessous de l'altitude moyenne des océans. Cet inattendu profond bassin est probablement rempli de sédiments permo-carbonifères. Les prolongements orientaux du Jura plissé sont également accompagnés d'une dépression du socle, cependant bien moins marquée. En poursuivant vers le sud, entre Wildegg et Mellingen, à l'inclinaison générale sud, sud-est du socle se superpose un haut de 200 m environ.

Les inattendues faibles vitesses dans le socle supérieur indiquent un degré élevé d'altération. Il est possible que les roches les plus proches de la surface du socle étant à un tel point altérées que la surface même du socle puisse seulement être déterminée de manière relativement imprécise.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs