Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 14-02/VII

SGT Etappe 2: Vorschlag weiter zu untersuchender geologischer Standortgebiete mit zugehörigen Standortarealen für die Oberflächenanlage Geologische Grundlagen Dossier VII: Nutzungskonflikte

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 30.00

Download

  • Technischer Bericht NTB 14-02/VII
    Download

Details

Dossier VII: Conflicts of use

Dossier VII on conflicts of use discusses whether resources that are commercially exploitable either from a present-day viewpoint or in the foreseeable future (e.g. salt, hydrocarbons, coal), mineral and thermal water sources, geothermal resources, raw materials for the construction industry, ores, etc. occur within, above or below the host rock and to what extent conflicts of use could arise.

A conflict arises when the use of resources is made more difficult or impossible by a deep geological repository (including its underground access structures) or when there is a significant likelihood of unintentional human intrusion into the repository. Whether the exploitation and use of raw materials could have an adverse effect on the barrier function of the effective containment zone (host rock and confining units) is also discussed; this could occur either through direct penetration into the effective containment zone or the repository itself by exploratory boreholes or indirectly due to induced movement along faults (subsidence of the bedrock, induced seismicity).

With the decision of the Federal Council of 30th November 2011 to adopt the siting regions proposed by Nagra in Stage 1 into the Sectoral Plan process, it was also decided that the Cantons would be responsible for checking, in the case of drilling permits or concessions, whether the proposed activities could present a risk to the barrier function of the effective containment zone. These checks are based on documentation provided by ENSI and a report prepared by Nagra with maps showing protection zones.

Potential conflicts of use within, and in the close vicinity of, the geological siting regions were analysed for the raw materials and types of usage mentioned above. The results are summarised below.

  • Hydrocarbons, coal: Potential conflicts of use in terms of mining and conveying of fossil hydrocarbon resources (natural gas, oil) and coal are complex in nature. They relate to exploration, conveying methods and the consequences of the mining activities.

No deposits of fossil raw materials are known in the four host rocks proposed in Stage 1 of the Sectoral Plan process and none of them has the potential for exploitation of shale gas.
 

Evaluation of the possible occurrence of raw materials beneath the host rock shows that only the Zürich Nordost siting region shows no potential for fossil raw resources over large areas. There is a potential for natural gas in the tight rocks of the Permo-Carboniferous (so-called tight gas plays) in the whole of the Jura Ost siting region. The same applies for the Nördlich Lägern siting region; the north-western boundary of this region also lies in an area with other potential types of deposit but these are outside the disposal perimeter. There is a speculative potential for natural gas in the tight gas plays of the Permo-Carboniferous in the Jura-Südfuss and Südranden regions, as well as coalbed methane in the carboniferous coals. The data on the deep underground (> 2 km) in the Wellenberg siting region are insufficient to allow the potential for natural resources to be assessed. However, because deep boreholes would be drilled from the valley floor there are no indications that there would be a conflict of use.
 

The volumes of potential energy resources based on hydrocarbons and coal are considerable, but costly exploration work would be necessary to demonstrate this potential and its economic significance.
 

With regard to exploration of the largely speculative hydrocarbon and coal reserves, no concrete conflicts of interest are expected because of the small footprint of a geological repository. Exploratory boreholes could be drilled outside the potential disposal perimeters (with appropriate safety distances) without any significant loss of relevant information. A repository would not be adversely affected by geophysical exploration campaigns such as reflection seismics and gravimetric surveys, although appropriate safety distances should be observed.

  • Salt: The information on salt deposits in Northern Switzerland was updated for Stage 2 of the Sectoral Plan process. Rock salt is mined exclusively by the leaching extraction process using boreholes. The salt deposits in the vicinity of the siting regions are generally so deep that they do not come into question for commercial exploitation today, or there are indications that they are very small or even completely absent. Salt extraction would only come into question in the very northern and western parts of the Jura Ost siting region if future boreholes indicated a commercially viable thickness of the deposits. However, these areas would lie clearly outside the HLW and L/ILW disposal perimeters.
  • Stone and earth, ores: The collective term stone and earth (also 'inorganic non-ores') includes various non-metallic mineral raw materials such as stone and earth mined for the building industry. For commercial reasons, these materials are extracted only close to the surface, mostly through open-pit mining and rarely in near-surface caverns. Potential adverse effects on a deep geological repository would be conceivable if extensive, deep extraction of mineral resources were to take place directly above the disposal perimeter. This would lead to decompaction of the rock and a corresponding increase in the hydraulic conductivity of the effective containment zone.

In recent years, there has been a public debate in the Jura Ost siting region regarding a large-scale limestone/marl quarrying project. In the extreme case, this project would have reached dimensions that could have had an influence on the definition of the disposal perimeter. However, plans for the project have been withdrawn, meaning that there are presently no such concrete projects for the Jura Ost region. In the meantime, the protection zones for deep geological repositories have also been defined.
 

Commercial extraction of ores in the geological siting regions is thus considered to be unlikely.

  • Mineral and thermal waters: Mineral and thermal water resources are exploited at several locations in Northern Switzerland and in neighbouring southern Germany. The groundwaters typically originate from deep flow systems and it therefore has to be considered whether the accesses to the deep repository (host rock) would influence these uses. Because of the very low hydraulic conductivity of the host rock, any influence from structures in the host rock itself can be ruled out.

Use of mineral and thermal waters could be influenced during the phase of constructing or operating the accesses to the repository if a hydraulic connection is established between these uses and the areas passed through by the repository access infrastructure. Extensive investigations carried out by Nagra over many years have provided a wealth of information on the flow conditions of deep groundwaters; this knowledge provides the basis for evaluating potential conflicts of use associated with mineral and thermal waters.
 

In most cases, an influence of the underground access structures on mineral and thermal waters can be ruled out because the relevant hydrogeological units mostly lie beneath the Opalinus Clay and are not passed through. Considered overall, there is only one case where an influence from the underground access structures cannot be completely ruled out, namely the thermal water borehole (artesian outflow) at Lottstetten-Nack (Germany) which has a small delivery into a well. In this case, appropriate preventive and monitoring measures would have to be taken when passing through the Malm aquifer if the underground access structures are constructed in the Südranden and Zürich Nordost siting regions.
 

There are no uses of mineral or thermal waters in the Wellenberg siting region and its surroundings.

  • Geothermal energy (particularly deep uses): Potential conflicts of use with respect to deep geothermal energy sources depend to a large extent on the type of use (hydrothermal, petrothermal), the geological target structures and target depth and the technology being used (type of stimulation).

The sites for geothermal installations listed by the Swiss Association for Geothermal Energy indicate that there are presently no direct conflicts of use between existing and currently planned geothermal projects and a deep geological repository.
 

A potential target area for future deep hydrothermal installations is the peripheral faults of the Northern Swiss Permo-Carboniferous Trough. These peripheral faults were deliberately avoided when defining the disposal perimeters in the siting regions and boundary zones of the Trough reactivated after the Palaeozoic were designated as tectonic zones to be avoided for several reasons, i.e. there are no disposal perimeters directly above such geothermal target areas. In the siting regions Zürich Nordost, Nördlich Lägern and Jura Ost, the disposal perimeters are partly bounded by fault zones at the Trough periphery.
 

If a geothermal project were to be initiated in peripheral fault zones of the Trough in the future, a safety distance would have to be respected in these areas and monitoring programmes put in place to rule out any adverse effects on the repository due to induced movements along faults and seismic activity.
 

According to a recent assessment by a group of experts, petrothermal systems are the most promising option in terms of successful long-term development of Swiss geothermal resources. However, due to existing technical problems, development of these systems is not yet sufficiently advanced to make them viable on the market.
 

In contrast to hydrothermal systems, petrothermal systems use large-scale heat anomalies deep underground and can be set up practically anywhere. For this reason, there are many opportunities to avoid potential conflicts of use with geological repository projects.

  • Natural gas storage: Research into storage possibilities in the wider surroundings of the geological siting regions proposed by Nagra has not identified any formations that would be suitable for large-scale storage of natural gas.
  • CO2 storage: A recent study by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) shows that most of the siting regions in Northern Switzerland lie outside zones that are potentially suitable for CO2 storage. The Jura-Südfuss siting region is the only one that is located at the edge of the zone designated as suitable in the SFOE study. However, because a geological repository has only a small footprint, the authors of the study consider the potential for conflict of use in this case to be negligible.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 14-02/VII

SGT Etappe 2: Vorschlag weiter zu untersuchender geologischer Standortgebiete mit zugehörigen Standortarealen für die Oberflächenanlage Geologische Grundlagen Dossier VII: Nutzungskonflikte

Ordre

  • version papier, allemand
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Dossier VII: Conflits d’exploitation

Le dossier VII «Conflits d’exploitation» vise à déterminer si, actuellement ou à moyen terme, il existe à l’intérieur, au-dessus ou en dessous de la roche d’accueil, des matières premières susceptibles d’être exploitées (p. ex. sel, hydrocarbures, charbon), des exploitations d’eaux minérales ou thermales, des ressources géothermiques, des matières premières pour la construction, des minerais, etc., si ces gisements sont importants et s’il y a un risque de voir surgir des conflits d’exploitation.

Un conflit d’exploitation peut naître lorsque l’aménagement d’un dépôt en profondeur (y compris la construction des ouvrages d’accès) rend impossible ou difficile l’exploitation de ressources existantes ou s’il existe une forte probabilité d’intrusion humaine involontaire. Il s’agit par ailleurs de déterminer si l’exploration et l’exploitation de matières premières pourraient porter atteinte à la zone de confinement géologique (roche d’accueil et roches encaissantes), que ce soit en raison d’une pénétration directe de forages exploratoires dans la zone de confinement géologique ou le dépôt lui-même, ou par une atteinte indirecte résultant de mouvements induits affectant des failles ou des fractures (subsidence du sous-sol, activité sismique induite).

L’inscription, consécutive à la décision du Conseil fédéral du 30 novembre 2011, des propositions de domaines d’implantation formulées par la Nagra au cours de l’étape 1 dans le plan sectoriel «Dépôts en couches géologiques profondes», signifie aussi que les cantons appelés à délivrer des autorisations de forage ou des concessions d’exploitation doivent vérifier, sur la base de la documentation fournie par l’IFSN, si les activités envisagées pourraient compromettre la capacité de confinement des roches. A cet effet, la Nagra a élaboré, sur mandat de l’IFSN, un rapport contenant les cartes des périmètres de protection.

Les conflits d’exploitation potentiels dans les domaines d’implantation géologiques et les régions environnantes ont été analysés du point de vue des matières premières et des types d’exploitation énumérés plus haut. Les résultats sont résumés ci-après.

  • Hydrocarbures, charbon: les conflits d’exploitation potentiels concernant l’exploitation d’hydrocarbures fossiles (gaz naturel, pétrole) et de charbon sont multiples. Ils peuvent porter sur l’exploration, les méthodes d’extraction ou les conséquences de l’exploitation.

Selon l’état des connaissances, les quatre roches d’accueil proposées dans le cadre de l’étape 1 du plan sectoriel ne contiennent pas de gisements de ressources fossiles. Aucune d’entre elles ne peut être utilisée pour l’extraction de gaz de schiste.
 

L’évaluation relative à la présence d’éventuels gisements de matières premières dans les formations situées en dessous des roches d’accueil montre qu’une grande partie du domaine d’implantation Zürich Nordost ne recèle pas de matières premières fossiles potentielles. En revanche, sur l’ensemble du domaine Jura Ost, du gaz naturel pourrait être présent dans les roches denses du permo-carbonifère (dit tight gas plays). Il en va de même pour Nördlich Lägern, où la zone nord-ouest recèle en outre d’autres types de gisements potentiels; ceux-ci se situeraient toutefois en dehors du périmètre du dépôt. Dans le cas des domaines Jura-Südfuss et Südranden, il se pourrait qu’il y ait du gaz naturel (tight gas) dans les roches denses du permo-carbonifère ainsi que du gaz de couche dans des gisements houillers. Les données disponibles sur le sous-sol profond (> 2 km) du domaine d’implantation du Wellenberg ne permettent pas d’évaluer son potentiel en matière de ressources. Cependant, si des forages profonds étaient effectués, ils le seraient à partir du fond de la vallée. Il n’y a donc pas de raison de craindre des conflits d’exploitation.
 

La quantité de ressources énergétiques potentielles issues d’hydrocarbures ou du charbon est considérable. Pour matérialiser ce potentiel et exploiter ces ressources de façon commerciale, il faudrait toutefois procéder à des travaux exploratoires onéreux.
 

Il n’y a guère de risque de conflits d’intérêts en rapport avec de tels travaux exploratoires pour découvrir des gisements d’hydrocarbures ou de charbon, pour la plupart hypothétiques, car un dépôt en profondeur sollicite peu d’espace. Des forages exploratoires peuvent être effectués en dehors du périmètre potentiel du dépôt, en respectant des distances de sécurité adéquates, sans que leurs résultats en soient affectés. Les campagnes d’exploration géophysiques (sismique réflexion, gravimétrie) ne portent pas atteinte à un dépôt en profondeur. Si l’exploration débouchait sur une exploitation, il conviendrait de respecter les distances de sécurité qui s’imposent.

  • Sel: les informations relatives aux gisements de sel dans le nord de la Suisse ont été mises à jour et précisées au cours de l’étape 2. L’extraction du sel gemme se fait exclusivement par un procédé de lixiviation avec forages. Les couches de sel dans les domaines d’implantation se situent à une profondeur telle qu’ils n’entrent pas en ligne de compte, du point de vue actuel, pour une exploitation commerciale, ou alors tout donne à penser que leur épaisseur est très faible ou qu’ils n’existent pas. Ce n’est que dans la partie à l’extrême nord et à l’extrême ouest du domaine Jura Ost qu’une exploitation du sel pourrait être envisagée, si de futurs forages devaient révéler une épaisseur suffisante pour être économiquement viable. Ce secteur se situe toutefois nettement en dehors du périmètre du dépôt DFMA et DHA.
  • Pierres et terres, minerais: le terme «pierres et terres» est générique (on parle aussi de non-minerais inorganiques) et recouvre différentes matières premières minérales non métalliques. Pour des raisons économiques, celles-ci ne sont extraites qu’à une faible profondeur, généralement à ciel ouvert et plus rarement dans des cavernes proches de la surface. Une atteinte potentielle à un dépôt en couches géologiques profondes est théoriquement possible, si une extraction de matières minérales devait être pratiquée, à grande échelle et sur une certaine profondeur, directement au-dessus du périmètre du dépôt. Ces opérations pourraient entraîner une décompaction des formations rocheuses et partant une augmentation de la conductivité hydraulique des roches assurant le confinement.

Un débat public a eu lieu ces dernières années à propos d’un grand projet d’extraction de calcaires/marnes situé dans le domaine d’implantation géologique Jura Ost. Ce projet aurait pu atteindre des dimensions qui, dans le cas extrême, auraient eu des conséquences sur la délimitation du périmètre de dépôt. La demande a toutefois été retirée. Il n’y a donc pas actuellement de projet concret d’extraction de calcaires/marnes dans le domaine Jura Ost. Dans l’intervalle, les zones de protection requises pour les dépôts en couches géologiques profondes ont été déterminées.

Une exploitation économique de minerais dans les domaines d’implantation géologiques est considérée comme peu probable.

  • Exploitations d'eaux minérales et thermales: il existe plusieurs exploitations d'eaux minérales et thermalesdans le nord de la Suisse et dans les régions voisines du sud de l'Allemagne. Ces eaux souterraines proviennent en général de systèmes d'écoulement profonds. D'où la nécessité d'examiner si les accès au dépôt (c'est-à-dire à la roche d'accueil) pourraient avoir des répercussions sur ces utilisations. Il est permis d'exclure un effet négatif résultant des ouvrages aménagés dans la roche d'accueil elle-même, étant donné que ces formations présentent une très faible conductivité hydraulique.

Des atteintes aux exploitations d'eaux minérales ou thermales sont possibles pendant la phase de construction ou d'exploitation des voies d'accès, s'il existe une connexion hydraulique entre ces exploitations et les zones traversées par les accès. Les vastes études menées pendant de nombreuses années par la Nagra ont fourni des informations qui permettent de mieux comprendre les modes d'écoulement des nappes phréatiques profondes. C'est sur ces connaissances que se fondent les évaluations des conflits d'exploitation potentiels avec des exploitations d'eaux minérales ou thermales.
 

Une atteinte aux exploitations d’eaux minérales ou thermales due aux ouvrages d’accès peut être exclue dans la plupart des cas, étant donné que les unités hydrogéologiques concernées se situent souvent en dessous de l’Argile à Opalinus et ne seront donc pas traversées par des éléments d’infrastructure. Concrètement, il n’y a qu’une seule utilisation où un préjudice lié aux ouvrages d’accès ne peut être entièrement exclu. Il s’agit du forage d’eau thermale de Lottstetten-Nack (D) où l’eau jaillit d’un puits artésien de faible débit. Cela signifie que dans les domaines d’implantation Südranden et Zürich Nordost, il faudrait, lors de la construction des ouvrages d’accès, procéder avec les précautions requises et appliquer des mesures de surveillance appropriées lors de la traversée de l’aquifère situé dans les calcaires.

Le domaine d’implantation géologique du Wellenberg et ses environs ne compte aucune exploitation d’eaux minérales ou thermales.

  • Géothermie (en particulier géothermie profonde): les conflits d’exploitation potentiels en rapport avec la géothermie (profonde) sont fortement dépendants du type d’exploitation (hydrothermal ou pétrothermal), des structures géologiques concernées ainsi que de la profondeur visée par les technologies utilisées (type de stimulation).

La Société suisse pour la géothermie a établi une liste des sites pour installations géothermiques. Sur cette base, il est permis de conclure qu’il n’existe pas actuellement de conflits d’exploitation directs entre des installations existantes ou en projet et un dépôt en profondeur.
 

Les marges perturbées du fossé permo-carbonifère du nord de la Suisse présentent un potentiel pour de futures installations hydrothermales profondes. De ce fait, on a évité les zones de failles connues situées sur les bordures de ce fossé lors de la définition des périmètres de dépôts à l’intérieur des domaines d’implantation; en outre, on a, pour diverses raisons, classé «zones tectoniques à éviter» les zones de failles réactivées du fossé permo-carbonifère du nord de la Suisse. En d’autres termes, aucun périmètre de dépôt ne se situe au-dessus de telles zones envisagées pour une exploitation géothermique. Ainsi, dans les domaines d’implantation Zürich Nordost, Nördlich Lägern et Jura Ost, les limites des périmètres de dépôt sont en partie définies par les bordures tectonisées du fossé permo-carbonifère.
 

Si un projet de géothermie dans les marges du fossé permo-carbonifère devait être lancé à l’avenir dans ces domaines d’implantation, il faudrait veiller à respecter la distance de sécurité requise et à appliquer un programme de surveillance adéquat afin d’exclure une atteinte au dépôt en profondeur résultant de mouvements induits sur les zones de failles ou d’une activité sismique.
 

Un groupe d’experts pluridisciplinaire a récemment conclu que les systèmes géothermiques stimulés (ou «pétrothermaux») s’avéraient les plus prometteurs au regard de l’exploitation à long terme des ressources géothermales en Suisse; la maturité technologique de cette méthode n’est toutefois pas encore suffisante pour une utilisation commerciale.
 

A la différence des systèmes hydrothermaux, la géothermie pétrothermale exploite des anomalies à grande échelle dans la distribution des températures dans le sous-sol profond. Elle peut être par conséquent mise en œuvre presque partout. Il est dès lors possible de contourner aisément les périmètres des dépôts en profondeur et d’éviter ainsi les conflits d’exploitation.

  • Stockage de gaz naturel: les travaux de recherche menés jusqu’ici n’ont révélé aucune formation se prêtant au stockage à large échelle de gaz naturel dans les domaines d’implantation proposés par la Nagra ni dans leurs environs.
  • Stockage du CO2: selon la dernière étude de l’OFEN, la plupart des domaines d’implantation dans le nord de la Suisse se situent en dehors des zones se prêtant au stockage de CO2. Seul le domaine Jura-Südfuss se trouve à la limite d’une zone désignée comme favorable dans cette étude. Mais étant donné qu’un dépôt en profondeur ne nécessite qu’une petite surface, les auteurs de l’étude estiment que les conflits d’exploitation sont négligeables.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs