Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 08-01

Entsorgungsprogramm 2008 der Entsorgungspflichtigen

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

Important steps in the management of radioactive waste have already been implemented in Switzerland and there is now wide experience in carrying out the associated activities. These include the handling and packaging of waste, waste characterisation and compiling of inventories and interim storage and the associated waste transport. In terms of preparing for deep geological disposal, the necessary scientific and technical work is well advanced and the feasibility of implementing geological repositories that provide the required long-term safety has been successfully demonstrated for all wastes arising in Switzerland; these feasibility demonstrations have also been approved by the Federal Council. Sufficient knowledge is available to allow the next steps in the selection of repository sites to be performed. The legal framework and organisational measures are also in place that will allow the prescribed steps to be performed in the coming years to be implemented efficiently. The conceptual part of the Sectoral Plan for Deep Geological Repositories that was approved by the Federal Council on 2nd April 2008 plays a major role, as it regulates the details of the site selection process to be conducted over the next years.

This report documents the waste management programme prepared by the waste producers, as required by the legislation (Nuclear Energy Act (KEG 2003), Art. 32 and Nuclear Energy Ordinance (KEV 2004), Art. 52). The report was prepared by Nagra on behalf of the waste producers and covers all aspects as required by law. The following areas are addressed: 

  • Origin, type and volumes of radioactive waste: The origin, types and volumes of radioactive waste to be disposed of in Switzerland are known. The reference case for the waste management programme assumes operation of the existing nuclear power plants for a period of 50 years and a collection period up to around 2050 for radioactive waste from medicine, industry and research (the time by which, in the reference case, emplacement in the repository of the low- and intermediate-level waste from the power plants will have been completed). Sufficient flexibility in dealing with future developments has to be retained. For this reason, the types and volumes of radioactive waste that would arise in the case of extension of the operating lifetime of the existing power plants and the collection period for waste from medicine, industry and research by 10 years are included for planning purposes. Also considered are the wastes to be expected in the case of an additional production of 5 GWe for a period of 60 years by way of replacing the existing power plants and the stepwise expiry of the electricity supply contracts with France, while assuming a moderate increase in electricity consumption.

    The resulting wastes are conditioned, characterised and inventoried on an ongoing basis. Before conditioning of a waste stream begins, the proposed conditioning procedure is evaluated by Nagra in terms of the suitability for disposal of the resulting waste packages. This is a prerequisite for clearance by the authorities of routine conditioning procedures. Conditioned waste will also be evaluated when preparing the safety reports in support of the programme milestones and it is possible that some conditioning procedures will be modified in the light of new understanding. Besides information on waste that already exists, a model inventory of waste that will arise in the future has also been compiled. This provides a reliable basis for planning and implementing geological repositories and managing available interim storage capacity.

  • Geological repositories, including design concepts: The Swiss waste management concept assumes two deep geological repositories, one for low- and intermediate-level waste (L/ILW repository) and one for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste from reprocessing and long-lived intermediate-level waste (HLW repository). These two repositories could be implemented at different sites or at the same site if the geological situation is suitable. For the latter possibility of a combined repository, the disposal chambers of the two facilities could be constructed in the same or in different geological formations. Against the background of the legal and regulatory framework, the conceptual requirements and assumptions to be taken into consideration for the different repositories are defined and corresponding projects have been developed. The proposed design concepts are based on the requirement in the nuclear energy legislation that long-term safety is to be assured by a system of multiple passive safety barriers. For repository implementation, a range of design alternatives exist for individual components that allow consideration of the site-specific situation. In order to ensure optimum configuration of the repository installations, there must be sufficient flexibility to allow information and experience arising in the future (results of site explorations, improvement of knowledge through research and development) to be taken into account. Planning must also account for waste arising as a result of future developments in the areas of nuclear energy and application of radioactive materials in medicine, industry and research. With this in mind, the possibility of increasing the disposal capacity of the repositories has to be considered when planning the facilities.

  • Allocation of the waste to the geological repositories: Site selection and design of the repositories have to consider the allocation of the waste to the different repositories. An allocation of the waste taking into account specific waste properties was undertaken in the context of preparing proposals for geological siting regions in order to derive the requirements on the geology. The waste allocation will gradually be refined in the course of the different licensing steps.
  • Implementation plan for the geological repositories: The legal and regulatory framework and the definition of other conceptual requirements and assumptions form the starting-point for deriving an implementation plan for the L/ILW and HLW repositories. The requirements and assumptions allow the basic procedure to be defined and the necessary work to be specified. After estimating the time required for performing the technical work and for the regulatory procedures, the implementation time plan can be defined. It assumes that the general licences will be granted for both repositories in 2018 and, in accordance with the most recent cost study, start of operation of the L/ILW repository in 2035 and the HLW repository in 2050. This assumes that there will be no time-consuming appeal procedures and that the technical work can be performed efficiently and without delay.

    The time plan takes into account site-specific studies for the L/ILW and HLW repositories, as well as the more generic, non-site-specific work that forms part of the research and development programme. The work foreseen in the plan also considers the recommendations made by the federal authorities and their experts when reviewing Nagra’s work. Nagra has prepared a separate report that addresses implementation of the recommendations made in the various reviews of the HLW "Entsorgungsnachweis" feasibility demonstration project.

    The stepwise licensing procedure set out by the legislation ensures that the necessary flexibility is maintained in terms of achieving optimum design of the disposal facilities. According to the law, it is also possible to take into account the waste arisings foreseeable in each licensing step that will result from future developments in nuclear energy and in the use of radioactive materials in medicine, industry and research. Handling future licensing steps appropriately will allow optimum use to be made of information that becomes available in the future (results of detailed site explorations, increase in knowledge through research and development); it will also allow any required expansion of repository capacity to be taken into account and the stepwise refinement of the waste allocation will also be possible.

  • Duration and required capacity of centralised and decentralised interim storage facilities: Radioactive waste must be held in interim storage until such time as it can be emplaced in geological repositories. For L/ILW, this will be around 2035 and for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste and long-lived intermediate-level waste around 2050, taking into account the required cooling time for the spent fuel and the high-level waste. For the existing power plants and waste from medicine, industry and research collected up to 2050, sufficient interim storage capacity can be made available to hold the waste safely until it can be emplaced in the repositories. If the start of operation of the repositories should be delayed, the interim storage facilities can also be operated for a longer period of time. Triedand- tested infrastructure and technology for transporting the waste is already in place and concepts have been prepared for any infrastructure that will be required in the future.

  • Financing the waste management activities up to shutdown of nuclear installations: The costs of waste management and decommissioning are estimated periodically in order to specify the contributions to be made to the decommissioning and waste management funds and the reserves to be put aside by the owners of the nuclear installations. The last cost study was carried out in 2006, reviewed by the authorities (HSK) and approved in December 2007 by the administrative commission of the decommissioning and waste management funds. The 2006 study forms the basis for the information on costs presented in the waste management programme. Financing of future costs is done either directly by the facility owners (costs arising before shutdown) or through the decommissioning fund for the costs of decommissioning nuclear installations and the waste management fund for waste management activities after shutdown of the power plants. The model used for calculating the reserves is based on the current cost estimates, and ensures that the reserves already set aside and to be made in the future will cover all expected costs, taking into account capital yields (assuming a rate of return of 5 % and a rate of price increases of 3 %).

  • Information concept: Decisive in terms of implementing the required repositories are active dialogue with interested audiences and the provision of comprehensive information to the public on all aspects of nuclear waste management. The public should be in a position to understand the roles played by the different participants in the process. With the Sectoral Plan process that is now in place and the licensing requirements specified by the nuclear energy legislation, the lead, and hence the responsibility for providing information, lies with the federal authorities (in particular the Federal Office of Energy). They are in particular responsible for ensuring appropriate participation and involvement of the public in the site selection process. They can call for the involvement of the regulatory authorities and, if necessary, of Nagra, who then bring their technical know-how to the process. The regulatory authorities (particularly HSK/ENSI) prepare reviews of licence applications and supervise the operation of nuclear installations from the viewpoint of safety and, in their position as an independent evaluator, ensure that safety requirements are met. They inform the public about the results of their supervisory activities and function as contacts for questions on safety. Nagra has been entrusted by the waste producers with the task of preparing for the construction and operation of deep geological repositories. In this capacity, Nagra provides comprehensive information on its work, the results of its investigations, its ongoing projects and later on the construction and operation of the facilities, seeking active dialogue throughout with interested parties.

  • Nagra openly provides information on the status of its work and its projects at an early stage and on a regular basis. The aim of these information activities is to understand the concerns of the different groups and to inform them openly about nuclear waste management in general and the activities of Nagra in particular. The public is informed in a transparent way about why radioactive waste should be disposed of in geological repositories. The public and elected representatives should be able to recognise the need for action in achieving this goal and to form objective opinions on the concrete projects outlined in the Sectoral Plan procedure. Using trained personnel and an ongoing approach of adapting to meet the needs of dialogue partners at different stages in the process ensures that the instruments used for information and communication are kept up to date.

The waste management programme presented here documents the general conditions and the fundamental procedures for the timely implementation of repositories that provide the required long-term safety. It provides information on all the topics specified in the Nuclear Energy Ordinance. The programme contains proposals by the waste producers regarding how the repositories are to be designed on a conceptual level (including alternatives), how the individual steps in implementing repositories are to be developed, how the time plan for implementation looks and what financial means are required. Once the waste management programme has been reviewed and approved, a phase of active and committed cooperation among all parties involved will be required in the coming years to achieve the desired progress in implementing the repositories.

The work programme for the immediate future is clearly defined. Until the next update of the waste management programme in approximately five years, it is expected that significant progress will be made, particularly in identifying potential geological siting regions and sites to be approved by the Federal Council in stage 1 (preliminary orientation) and stage 2 (interim result) of the Sectoral Plan process.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 08-01

Entsorgungsprogramm 2008 der Entsorgungspflichtigen

Ordre

  • version papier, allemand
    40,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Des étapes décisives ont été franchies en matière d'évacuation des déchets radioactifs en Suisse et l'on dispose aujourd'hui d'une expérience considérable dans les domaines nécessaires à sa réalisation. C'est vrai pour le traitement et le conditionnement des déchets, pour leur caractérisation et leur inventaire ainsi que pour leur stockage intermédiaire et leur transport. S'agissant de la préparation des dépôts géologiques en couches géologiques profondes, l'état des connaissances scientifiques et techniques a atteint un bon niveau. La démonstration de la faisabilité et de la sûreté à long terme du stockage géologique, à l'intérieur des frontières nationales et pour tous les déchets radioactifs produits en Suisse, a été apportée et reconnue par le Conseil fédéral. Nous disposons des connaissances requises pour mener à bien les prochaines étapes de la sélection des sites pour les dépôts en profondeur. Le cadre légal et organisationnel est en place, de manière à ce que les travaux nécessaires puissent être réalisés au cours des prochaines années. Il s'agit en particulier de mettre en oeuvre la "conception générale" du plan sectoriel "Dépôts en couches géologiques profondes", approuvé par le Conseil fédéral le 2 avril 2008 et régissant en détail la procédure de sélection des sites.

Le programme d'évacuation des producteurs de déchets requis pas la législation en vigueur (art. 32, Loi sur l'énergie nucléaire; art. 52, Ordonnance sur l'énergie nucléaire) constitue l'objet du présent rapport. Il a été établi par la Nagra, sur mandat des producteurs de déchets, et inclut tous les aspects énumérés dans la législation, à savoir:

  • Origine, typologie et quantité des déchets radioactifs: l'origine, la typologie et la quantité de déchets radioactifs produits en Suisse est connue. Le programme d'évacuation se base sur un cas de référence qui postule une durée d'exploitation de 50 ans pour les centrales nucléaires existantes, ainsi qu'une période de collecte allant jusqu'en 2050 pour les déchets radioactifs émanant de la médecine, de l'industrie et de la recherche (c'est-à-dire jusqu'au moment où les déchets de faible et de moyenne activité provenant des centrales nucléaires auront tous été stockés dans le dépôt pour DFMA). Il faut prévoir suffisamment de marge pour d'éventuels développements futurs. C'est pourquoi il est également tenu compte du type et des quantités de déchets radioactifs à évacuer dans le cas d'une prolongation de 10 ans de la durée d'exploitation des actuelles centrales nucléaires et de la collecte des déchets produits par la médecine, l'industrie et la recherche. Le programme envisage en outre la possibilité d'une production additionnelle de 5 GWe pendant 60 ans, en remplacement des actuelles centrales nucléaires, compte tenu de l'expiration progressive des contrats de livraison passés avec la France et d'une augmentation modérée de la consommation d'électricité.

    Les déchets produits sont conditionnés, caractérisés et inventoriés au fur et à mesure. Avant le conditionnement d'un type de déchets, le procédé proposé est évalué par la Nagra afin de s'assurer que les colis se prêteront au stockage profond. C'est là une condition pour que les autorités donnent le feu vert pour un conditionnement routinier. Les déchets conditionnés sont en outre évalués dans les divers rapports de sûreté établis lors des étapes successives de la procédure; d'une manière générale, il n'est pas exclu que certains procédés de conditionnement soient modifiés sur la base de connaissances nouvelles. En sus des informations enregistrées au sujet des déchets existants, un inventaire-type est tenu pour les déchets qui seront produits à l'avenir. Nous disposons par conséquent d'une base solide pour la planification et la réalisation des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes ainsi que pour la gestion de site de stockage intermédiaire actuel.

  • Dépôts en couches géologiques profondes requis, y compris dimensionnement des ouvrages: le concept de gestion des déchets nucléaires en Suisse prévoit le stockage dans deux dépôts géologiques profonds distincts, l'un pour les DFMA (déchets de faible et de moyenne activité), l'autre pour les DHA (qui englobent les assemblages combustibles usés, les déchets hautement radioactifs vitrifiés résultant du retraitement de tels assemblages et les déchets de moyenne activité à vie longue). Ces deux installations peuvent être réalisées sur des sites différents, mais, selon la situation géologique, elles peuvent aussi l'être au même endroit (dépôt dit "mixte", avec des emplacements de stockage situés dans la même ou dans différentes couches géologiques). Les exigences conceptuelles à respecter pour ces divers dépôts, sur la base des impératifs fixés par la loi et par les autorités, ont été définies, tout comme diverses hypothèses ont été formulées, qui ont ensuite été appliquées dans plusieurs projets-types. Les concepts de dimensionnement proposés satisfont à la condition énoncée dans la législation sur l'énergie nucléaire, à savoir que la sûreté à long terme est garantie par une succession de barrières de sécurité passives. Dans la perspective de la future réalisation du dépôt, plusieurs options de dimensionnement ont été envisagées pour un certain nombre d'éléments, afin de pouvoir tenir compte de la situation spécifique sur le site choisi. Il est important de s'assurer la marge de manoeuvre nécessaire dans les procédures à venir de sorte que les informations et les connaissances nouvelles (résultats de l'exploration des sites ou de la recherche-développement) puissent être intégrées dans la conception des dépôts, assurant ainsi un aménagement optimal. La planification doit également prendre en considération des déchets issus de futurs développements de l'énergie nucléaire et de l'utilisation de matières radioactives dans la médecine, l'industrie et la recherche. C'est pourquoi il faut prévoir la possibilité d'augmenter la capacité de stockage des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes.
  • Attribution des déchets aux différents dépôts en couches profondes: la sélection des sites et le dimensionnement des dépôts doivent tenir compte de l'attribution des déchets aux diverses installations. Une telle répartition, fondée sur les propriétés des déchets, a été faite en vue de l'élaboration de propositions pour des domaines d'implantation géologiques. Les spécificités des déchets dictent en effet les exigences auxquelles doit satisfaire la configuration géologique des régions retenues. Cette attribution sera affinée progressivement, au fil des diverses procédures d'autorisation nucléaires.
  • Plan pour la réalisation des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes: le plan de réalisation pour les dépôts destinés à recevoir les DFMA et les DHA respectivement repose sur les exigences légales et les conditions fixées par les autorités ainsi que sur d'autres hypothèses et critères conceptuels. Ces critères et hypothèses permettent de déterminer le déroulement général des opérations et de dresser la liste des travaux nécessaires. Le plan de réalisation peut être défini dès que le temps requis pour les travaux techniques et les procédures officielles a été estimé. Il table sur l'octroi en 2018 d'une autorisation générale ayant force de droit et, se basant sur l'évaluation des coûts 2006, sur la mise en exploitation des dépôts pour DFMA et DHA en 2035 et 2050 respectivement. Ce calendrier part de l'hypothèse qu'il n'y aura pas de longues procédures de recours et que les travaux techniques pourront être accomplis rapidement.

    Le plan de réalisation tient compte des études spécifiques des sites menées pour les dépôts DFMA et DHA ainsi que de travaux généraux effectués dans le cadre du programme de recherche et de développement. Ce plan respecte les recommandations formulées par les autorités et leurs experts dans diverses expertises et prises de position concernant les travaux accomplis jusqu'ici par la Nagra. Cette dernière a rédigé un rapport spécifique consacré à la mise en oeuvre des remarques et recommandations émises au sujet de la démonstration de faisabilité pour le stockage des DHA ("Entsorgungsnachweis").

    La procédure d'autorisation par étapes prévue par la loi permet de conserver la marge de manoeuvre nécessaire pour optimiser encore l'aménagement des dépôts. Les dispositions légales admettent également, à chaque étape de la procédure, l'intégration de déchets prévisibles sur la base de futurs développements de l'énergie nucléaire ou de l'utilisation de substances radioactives dans la médecine, l'industrie et la recherche. Si les requêtes ou les autorisations sont gérées en conséquence, il restera possible d'exploiter au mieux les informations nouvelles (résultats de l'exploration détaillée des sites ou connaissances issues de la recherche et du développement) et d'envisager au besoin une augmentation de la capacité de stockage des dépôts en profondeur. En outre, l'attribution des déchets pourra être affinée progressivement.

    La responsabilité de l'évacuation incombe aux producteurs des déchets. Ceux-ci ont confié à la Nagra toutes les tâches en rapport avec la réalisation des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes. La Nagra s'est dotée d'un système de gestion de la qualité formel, axé sur ces exigences spécifiques et au sein duquel se déroulent tous ses travaux. Pour ces derniers, elle peut compter sur une équipe de collaborateurs hautement qualifiés, secondés par des mandataires chevronnés, et en partie aussi sur des centres de compétence avec lesquels elle a passé des contrats pluriannuels, sur des instituts en Suisse et à l'étranger et sur des projets partenaires.

  • Durée de l'entreposage, central et décentralisé, et capacité requise: les déchets radioactifs produits doivent être entreposés avant de pouvoir être évacués vers les dépôts en couches géologiques profondes. Pour les DFMA, le plan de réalisation envisage un stockage final dès 2035; pour les assemblages combustibles usés, les déchets hautement radioactifs vitrifiés et les déchets de moyenne activité à vie longue, cette évacuation ne sera pas possible avant 2050 environ, en raison du temps de refroidissement nécessaire. La capacité d'entreposage à disposition est suffisante pour accueillir les déchets provenant des centrales nucléaires existantes et ceux que la médecine, l'industrie et la recherche produiront d'ici à 2050, c'est-à-dire jusqu'à leur stockage dans les dépôts en couches géologiques profondes. Si la mise en service de ces derniers devait être retardée, les sites de stockage intermédiaire pourraient être exploités plus longtemps. L'infrastructure et la technologie nécessaires pour le transport des déchets existent et elles ont été éprouvées; des projets ont été élaborés pour les infrastructures qui seront requises à l'avenir.
  • Plan financier pour les travaux d'évacuation jusqu'à la mise hors service des installations nucléaires: les coûts de l'évacuation des déchets et de la désaffectation des installations nucléaires sont estimés à intervalles réguliers afin de fixer les contributions que les propriétaires doivent verser au fonds pour l'évacuation et la fermeture ainsi que les provisions qu'ils doivent faire. La dernière estimation des coûts a été réalisée en 2006; elle a été vérifiée par les autorités (DSN) et approuvée le 6 décembre 2007 par la commission de gestion du fonds. C'est sur elle que sont fondés les coûts figurant dans le présent programme d'évacuation. Les futures dépenses seront financées, d'un côté, directement par les propriétaires (coûts avant la mise hors service des centrales nucléaires) et, de l'autre, par le biais du fonds de désaffectation (coûts liés à la fermeture des installations nucléaires) et du fonds d'évacuation (coûts des tâches d'évacuation après la désaffectation des centrales). Le modèle de calcul appliqué pour définir le montant des provisions repose sur la dernière estimation des coûts. Il est ainsi garanti que les provisions devant encore être faites à l'avenir couvriront effectivement tous les coûts escomptés, en prenant en compte des revenus du capital calculés sur la base d'un rendement de 5 % et d'un taux de renchérissement de 3 %.
  • Stratégie d'information: dans la perspective de la réalisation des dépôts en profondeur nécessaires, il est essentiel de mener un dialogue avec les intéressés et d'informer le public sur toutes les questions ayant trait à l'évacuation des déchets nucléaires. La population doit être en mesure de comprendre les rôles des divers acteurs. La responsabilité pour le plan sectoriel "Dépôts en couches géologiques profondes" et les procédures d'autorisation consécutives selon la loi sur l'énergie nucléaire relève des autorités concédantes (en premier lieu l'OFEN); celles-ci sont par conséquent aussi chargées d'informer la population sur ces étapes et de lui garantir une participation adéquate. Elles peuvent consulter les autorités de surveillance, ou dans certains cas la Nagra, pour des questions pointues. En qualité d'organes indépendants, les autorités de surveillance (en particulier la DSN ou plus tard l'IFSN) examinent les requêtes et l'exploitation d'installations nucléaires sur le plan de la sûreté, garantissant ainsi le respect des dispositions sécuritaires. Elles informent également le public sur les résultats de leurs activités et jouent le rôle d'interlocuteurs de la population pour toutes les questions de sûreté et de sécurité. La Nagra, quant à elle, est chargée par les producteurs de déchets de préparer la construction et l'exploitation des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes. À ce titre, elle renseigne sur ses travaux, les résultats d'études, les projets et ultérieurement au sujet de la réalisation et de la gestion des installations. Elle entretient un dialogue actif avec les personnes intéressées.

    La Nagra informe le plus tôt possible sur l'état de ses travaux et sur ses projets, de manière régulière et sans réserve. Ses activités de communication ont pour but de connaître les préoccupations des divers intéressés, de les renseigner sur l'évacuation des déchets nucléaires en général et sur les travaux de la Nagra en particulier. La Nagra explique de manière transparente au public suisse pourquoi les déchets radioactifs doivent être confinés dans des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes. La population et les politiques doivent être en mesure de reconnaître la nécessité d'agir et se faire une opinion objective sur les projets concrets s'inscrivant dans la procédure du plan sectoriel. Les instruments d'information et de communication sont mis à jour au fur et à mesure par du personnel qualifié, afin qu'ils soient toujours adaptés aux groupes cibles et aux étapes de procédure en cours.

Le présent programme d'évacuation documente les conditions cadres et la démarche générale proposées pour réaliser en temps voulu et avec la sûreté requise les dépôts en profondeur nécessaires à long terme. Il renseigne en outre sur les points figurant dans l'ordonnance sur l'énergie nucléaire, sans toutefois empiéter sur la procédure du plan sectoriel. Les producteurs de déchets y proposent également une solution (et des alternatives) pour la conception des dépôts, des étapes concrètes et le plan pour la réalisation et dressent enfin la liste des moyens financiers nécessaires. Lorsque le programme d'évacuation aura été examiné et approuvé, il est important que tous les intéressés participent activement et résolument à sa mise en oeuvre afin que les travaux en vue de la réalisation des dépôts en profondeur puissent progresser rapidement.

Le programme d'activité pour l'avenir proche est clairement défini. D'ici à la prochaine actualisation du programme d'évacuation, à savoir dans cinq ans environ, on escompte des progrès notables, en particulier la définition de domaines d'implantation géologiques possibles ou de sites dans les fiches d'objet que le Conseil fédéral doit approuver pour la première étape ("information préalable") et la deuxième étape ("coordination en cours") en vertu du plan sectoriel "Dépôts en couches géologiques profondes".

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs