Search

Technical Report NTB 98-03

Large-scale Experiment for Water and Gas Transport in Cementitious Backfill Materials (Phase 1) COLEX I

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

In the planned Swiss repository for low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste, the voids between the waste containers will be backfilled with a highly permeable mortar (Nagra designation: mortar M1). As well as providing mechanical stability through filling of voids and sorbing radionuclides, the mortar must divert gases formed in the repository as a result of corrosion into the neighbouring host rock. This will prevent damage which could be caused by excess pressure on the repository structures. Water transport, which is coupled to gas transport, is also of interest. The former is responsible for the migration of radionuclides.

Up till now, numerical simulations for a repository situation were carried out using transport parameters determined for small samples in the laboratory. However, the numerical simulations still had to be validated by a large-scale experiment. The investigations presented here should close this gap.  

Investigations into gas and water transport were carried out using a column (up to 5.4 m high) filled with backfill mortar. The column has a modular construction and can be sealed at the top end with a material of defined permeability (plug or top plug). The possibility to vary the material of the plug allows the influence of the more impermeable cavern lining or possible gas escape vents in the cavern roof to be investigated. A gas supply is connected to the bottom end and is used to simulate different gas generation rates from the waste.  

A total of 5 experiments were carried out in which the gas generation rate, the column height and the permeability of the plug were varied. Before the start of the experiments, the mortar in the column and the plug were saturated with water to approx. 95 %. In all the experiments, an increase in pressure with time could be observed. The higher the gas generation rate and the lower the permeability of the plug, the more quickly this occurred. At the beginning, only water flow out of the top of the column was observed. Only after the saturation of the mortar had dropped to approx. 80 % could gas be detected flowing out of the column. This gas flow was not continuous but occurred in pulsed intervals.  

The experimental investigations were then numerically simulated and the results compared with those from the experiments themselves. This demonstrated that, with the transport parameters used up to now, the experiments could be simulated, sometimes resulting in a very good correlation with the actual tests. Extensions to the numerical model are suggested, which will allow simulation of phenomena not yet implemented in the model.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 98-03

Large-scale Experiment for Water and Gas Transport in Cementitious Backfill Materials (Phase 1) COLEX I

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    40,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Dans le projet suisse pour le stockage définitif de déchets radioactifs de faible et moyenne activité, les espaces entre les fûts de déchets seront remplis d'un mortier très perméable («mortier 1» selon la désignation de la Cédra). Ce mortier doit permettre, en plus de la stabilisation mécanique due au remplissage des vides et de l'adsorption des radioéléments, l'évacuation des gaz dus à la corrosion vers la roche encaissante. Cela peut éviter des dégâts à la construction de la caverne dus à une éventuelle surpression. Le transport d'eau couplé à celui du gaz est également digne d'intérêt, car il est le vecteur de transport des radioéléments.

Les simulations numériques effectuées à ce jour pour le transport de gaz et d'eau dans un dépôt final sont basées sur des paramètres de transport évalués en laboratoire sur de petits échantillons de mortier. Il manque encore une validation des simulations numériques basée sur une étude à plus grande échelle. Les investigations présentées ici sont destinées à combler cette lacune.  

La partie expérimentale examine le transport de gaz et d'eau dans une colonne verticale pouvant atteindre 5.4 m de hauteur, remplie de mortier de colmatage. La colonne est modulaire et peut se terminer dans la partie supérieure par un matériau de perméabilité définie (bouchon terminal). Grâce à cette terminaison modulable on peut étudier l'influence de la roche encaissante moins perméable ou celle d'éventuelles ouvertures pour la vidange du gaz au toit de la caverne. L'arrivée de gaz, avec un débit réglable, est connectée à l'extrémité inférieure de la colonne. On peut ainsi simuler la production de gaz des déchets.  

On a effectué 5 essais en tout, en variant le débit de production de gaz, la hauteur de la colonne et la perméabilité de la partie terminale. Le mortier dans la colonne et le bouchon terminal ont été saturés d'eau à 95 % avant le début de chaque essai. Tous les essais ont révélé une augmentation de pression au cours du temps, d'autant plus rapide qu'était forte la production de gaz et faible la perméabilité de la partie terminale. Au début des essais, on n'a observé qu'un débit d'eau à la sortie de la colonne. Ce n'est que lorsque la saturation en eau a baissé jusqu'à 80 % environ que l'on a observé un flux de gaz à la sortie de la colonne. Ce flux de gaz n'était pas continu, mais intermittent, en pulsations.  

Ensuite, les essais ont été simulés numériquement et les résultats comparés aux observations. Les simulations basées sur les paramètres de transport utilisés jusqu'ici restituent en bonne partie les observations. Pour terminer, on propose des extensions du modèle numérique permettant de simuler des phénomènes qui n'ont pas encore été pris en compte dans celui-ci.  

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs