Search

Technical Report NTB 97-08

Coprecipitation of radionuclides: basic concepts, literature review and first applications

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Coprecipitation of radionuclides with solid alteration products is currently not analysed quantitatively in safety assessments for nuclear waste repositories, although this process is thought to be an important mechanism for limiting nuclide concentrations in solution. This is due to the fact that neither the solid phases controlling coprecipitation nor the parameter values necessary to describe this process are known sufficiently.

This introductory report provides basic knowledge on this subject and a review of experimental data from the literature. Emphasis is placed on experiments of trace metal coprecipitation with calcite, because this mineral is a dominating alteration product of cement in the Swiss L/ILW repository. This resulted in a database of partition coefficients, which allow to describe empirically the distribution of trace elements between calcite and solution and thus to quantify coprecipitation processes.

Since laboratory data on coprecipitation with calcite are lacking for many safety-relevant radioelements, their partition coefficients were inferred with the help of estimation techniques. Such techniques rely on empirical correlations, which relate the uptake of trace metals in calcite (measured in laboratory tests) with selected chemical properties of the coprecipitated metals (e.g. ionic radius, sorption properties, solubility products of the pure trace metal carbonates). The combination of these correlations with independent geochemical evidence allows the extrapolation of radioelement-­specific partition coefficients, which are then used for the quantitative modelling.

In a first step the potential role of radionuclide coprecipitation during cement degradation in the L/ILW repository planned at Wellenberg is assessed. The results of model calculations indicate for many radionuclides that a large fraction of the total inventory would remain trapped in the secondary calcite formed during cement degradation, considerably reducing their solution concentration. Such calculations confirm the large potential of coprecipitation as a solubility-limiting mechanism for many radionuclides and suggest that including this process in future safety analyses could lead to a significant decrease in doses.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 97-08

Coprecipitation of radionuclides: basic concepts, literature review and first applications

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

La coprécipitation de radionucléides dans les phases solides d'altération n'a pas été jusqu'à présent prise en compte quantitativement dans les analyses de sûreté pour les dépôts de déchets nucléaires. Pourtant, ce processus est considéré comme un mécanisme majeur limitant la concentration des radionucléides en solution. Ceci est du à une méconnaissance des phases solides contrôlant la coprécipitation et des valeurs des paramètres nécessaires pour la décrire.

Ce rapport introductif donne des connaissances de base à ce sujet et inclut une analyse détaillée des données expérimentales accessibles dans la littérature. En particulier, les expériences sur la coprécipitation des métaux en trace avec la calcite ont été largement considéré, puisque ce minéral est l'un des principaux produits d'altération du ciment dans le dépôt final de déchets de basse et moyenne activité. Cette recherche a permis de mettre au point une banque de données contenant des coefficients de partage qui permettent de décrire de manière empirique la distribution des éléments traces entre la calcite et la solution et donc de quantifier le processus de coprécipitation.

Pour beaucoup de radioéléments importants, ces coefficients de partage ne sont pas connus sur la base de données de laboratoire. Donc, ils ont été déduits à l'aide de techniques d'estimation. Ces techniques s'appuient sur des corrélations empiriques, permettant de relier l'incorporation des métaux en trace dans la calcite (mesurée par des expériences de laboratoire) avec des propriétés spécifiques des métaux coprécipités (comme le rayon ionique, les propriétés d'adsorption et les produits de solubilité des carbonates purs des métaux en trace). En combinant ces corrélations avec des données géochimiques indépendantes il est alors possible d'extraire les coefficients de partage spécifiques des radioéléments, qui sont ensuite utilisés dans la modélisation quantitative.

Un modèle préliminaire a été développé afin de déterminer le rôle potentiel que la coprécipitation des radionucléides pourrait jouer pendant l'altération du ciment dans le dépôt pour déchets de basse et moyenne activité planifié à Wellenberg. Les résultats de la modélisation montrent qu'une proportion importante de l'inventaire de certains radionucléides sera incorporée dans la calcite secondaire produite pendant l'altération du ciment. Ceci permettrait ainsi de réduire largement la concentration en solution de ces radionucléides. Ces calculs confirment le potentiel remarquable de la coprécipitation comme mécanisme limitant la solubilité des radionucléides. La prise en compte de ces processus dans les analyses de sûreté futures devrait donc diminuer considérablement les doses.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs