Search

Technical Report NTB 93-14

Methodology for Deriving Hydrogelogical Input Parameters for Safety-Analysis Models - Application to Fractured Crystalline Rocks of Northern Switzerland

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Switzerland is one of many nations with nuclear power that is seeking to identify rock types and locations that would be suitable for the underground disposal of nuclear waste. A common challenge among these programs is to provide engineering designers and safety analysts with a reasonably representative hydrogeological input dataset that synthesizes the relevant information from direct field observations as well as inferences and model results derived from those observations. Needed are estimates of the volumetric flux through a volume of rock and the distribution of that flux into discrete pathways between the repository zones and the biosphere. These fluxes are not directly measurable but must be derived based on understandings of the range of plausible hydrogeologic conditions expected at the location investigated.

The methodology described in this report utilizes conceptual and numerical models at various scales to derive the input dataset. The methodology incorporates an innovative approach, called the geometric approach, in which field observations and their associated uncertainty, together with a conceptual representation of those features that most significantly affect the groundwater flow regime, were rigorously applied to generate alternative possible realizations of hydrogeologic features in the geosphere. In this approach, the ranges in the output values directly reflect uncertainties in the input values.

As a demonstration, the methodology is applied to the derivation of the hydrogeological dataset for the crystalline basement of Northern Switzerland. The various steps are highlighted in the following.

The hydrogeological conceptual model of the groundwater flow system in the crystalline basement of Northern Switzerland includes descriptions of the hydrogeologic framework and groundwater flow. The crystalline rocks (block elements) are separated by major water-conducting faults. Block elements contain small-scale water-conducting features whose transmissive properties decrease with depth, resulting in an upper higher-permeability domain (about 500 m thick) and an underlying low-permeability domain. In the region, groundwater flows from the major recharge area in the southern Black Forest (Germany) to the principal discharge areas along the Rhine River. On a much smaller scale, groundwater flow in the low-permeability domain occurs principally through a complex network of discrete water-conducting features or transmissive elements.

Regional- and local-scale numerical models of groundwater flow were developed to describe infiltration and exfiltration areas and general flow paths from potential siting areas to the exfiltration regions. The regional-scale model supports the conceptual model of regional flow. The local-scale model utilizes a hybrid modeling approach, in which each of the principal hydrogeologic units is treated as an equivalent porous medium, and the major water-conducting faults are described explicitly.

Model results indicate that groundwater flow characteristics at the local scale depend significantly on the frequency of major water-conducting faults. Two scenarios were tested, one with a high frequency of faults (full scenario) and one with a low frequency of faults (sparse scenario). Distributions of hydraulic gradient were generated for each scenario. Modeling at the block scale, or repository-tunnel scale, was conducted to evaluate the distribution of flow through transmissive elements as a function of their geometric and hydraulic properties. The goal is to assess the expected range of flow path lengths and flow rates from hypothetical repository tunnels to the major water-conducting faults, which are assumed to determine the layout of a repository. Discrete inflow points observed in boreholes are assumed to represent transmissive elements, the principal paths for water flow in the low-permeability domain.

The numerical discontinuum model NAPSAC was used to integrate the statistical information from boreholes into a stochastic framework of discrete transmissive elements. The NAPSAC model allows for the incorporation of all relevant geometric and hydraulic properties of the transmissive elements that are believed to affect the distribution of groundwater fluxes at the block scale. Uncertainty is taken into account by generating multiple realizations of the transmissive-element distribution. From these realizations, the intersections of simulated transmissive elements with hypothetical repository tunnels was directly determined. The following distributions of geometric and hydraulic properties were obtained for transmissive elements intersecting a tunnel segment: number, trace length, transmissivity, conductance, and effective flow path and path length from the tunnel segment to the boundaries of the block.

A major unknown is the size distribution of transmissive elements. On the basis of sensitivity analysis, the geometric and hydraulic characteristics of transmissive elements were determined to be relatively insensitive to size distribution. Nonetheless, the overall pattern of flow within a block depends on the connectivity of the transmissive-element network, which is a function of size.

To evaluate groundwater flow at the block scale, the geometric approach was developed. In this approach, gradients derived from the hybrid local-scale model were multiplied directly by the individual transmissive-element conductance to generate a range of possible volumetric fluxes within each transmissive element. Specific parameters derived are flow through an individual transmissive element, normalized flow through individual transmissive elements, total flow through a 500-meter tunnel segment, and total flow through a repository. Results of the geometric approach were determined to be conservative on the basis of a comparison with results of dynamic flow simulations, or dynamic approach, using the same geometric network.

The geometric and hydrogeologic results were transformed to the actual input values used in the performance assessment of crystalline rocks of Northern Switzerland. The geometric approach differs from the standard hydrodynamic modeling approach in that the former assumes that the driving force (gradient), as determined from the local-scale model, is not influenced by the variability of hydraulic parameters at the block scale. An advantage of the geometric method is that it is simple to implement and it produces demonstrably conservative values for groundwater fluxes. This approach is thus a satisfactory trade-off between a more complex approach (with realistic but uncertain results) and a simple approach (with more certain – in a conservative sense – results).

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 93-14

Methodology for Deriving Hydrogelogical Input Parameters for Safety-Analysis Models - Application to Fractured Crystalline Rocks of Northern Switzerland

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

La Suisse fait partie des nombreux pays qui, disposant de l'énergie nucléaire, cherchent à identifier les types de roches et les localisations appropriés à un stockage souterrain des déchets nucléaires. Un défi commun à tous ces programmes consiste à fournir aux ingénieurs de projet et aux analystes de la sûreté une base de données hydrogéologiques raisonnablement représentative, et qui synthétise non seulement les informations utiles provenant des observations directes sur site, mais également les conclusions et modélisations découlant de ces informations. On a alors besoin d'une estimation du flux volumétrique à travers la roche et de la distribution de ce flux en voies d'écoulement discrètes entre le dépôt final et la biosphère. Ces flux ne sont pas directement mesurables, mais doivent être évalués, sur la base des différentes conditions hydrogéologiques possibles attendues dans la zone étudiée.

La méthodologie décrite dans ce rapport utilise des modèles conceptuels et numériques à des échelles différentes, afin de constituer une base de données d'entrée. Cette méthodologie incorpore une approche novatrice, appelée approche géométrique, dans laquelle les observations sur site et les incertitudes qui s'y rapportent, associées à une représentation conceptuelle des éléments qui affectent le plus le régime des eaux souterraines, ont été rigoureusement utilisées pour générer les différents scénarios des conditions hydrogéologiques de la géosphère. Dans cette approche, la fourchette des résultats reflète directement les incertitudes sur les données d'entrée.

A titre d'exemple, cette méthode a été utilisée pour l'obtention du jeu de données hydrogéologiques pour le socle cristallin du Nord de la Suisse. Les différentes étapes en sont développées ci-après.

Le modèle conceptuel du système de circulation des eaux souterraines dans le socle cristallin du Nord de la Suisse comprend des descriptions de la structure hydrogéologique et de la circulation des eaux souterraines. Les roches cristallines sont structurées en blocs séparés par des zones de failles aquifères majeures. Ces blocs comportent, à petite échelle, des systèmes aquifères dont les propriétés transmissives diminuent avec la profondeur, donnant ainsi un domaine supérieur relativement perméable (d'une épaisseur d'environ 500 mètres) et un domaine sous-jacent faiblement perméable. Dans la région étudiée, les eaux souterraines s'écoulent d'une zone d'infiltration principale située au sud de la Forêt Noire, en Allemagne, vers la zone principale d'exfiltration située le long du Rhin. A une beaucoup plus petite échelle, la circulation des eaux souterraines dans le domaine faiblement perméable a lieu principalement dans un réseau complexe de failles aquifères ou d'éléments transmissifs.

Des modèles numériques de circulation des eaux à une échelle régionale et à une échelle locale ont été développés afin de décrire les zones d'infiltration et d'exfiltration, ainsi que les voies d'écoulement générales des sites potentiels vers les régions d'exfiltration. La modélisation conceptuelle de l'écoulement régional s'appuie sur le modèle à l'échelle régionale. Le modèle à l'échelle locale utilise une approche de modélisation hybride dans laquelle chacune des unités hydrogéologiques principales est traitée comme un milieu poreux équivalent, tandis que les zones de failles aquifères majeures sont décrites explicitement. Les résultats de la modélisation montrent que les caractéristiques de la circulation des eaux souterraines à l'échelle locale dépendent de façon significative de la fréquence d'occurrence des failles aquifères majeures. Deux scénarios ont été testés: l'un tient compte d'une fréquence élevée de failles (scénario complet), l'autre d'une fréquence faible. Des distributions du gradient hydraulique ont été générées pour chacun de ces scénarios.

Une modélisation à l'échelle du bloc, ou à l'échelle du dépôt final, a été effectuée afin d'évaluer la distribution de l'écoulement dans les éléments transmissifs en fonction de leur géométrie et de leurs propriétés hydrauliques. Le but est d'évaluer la fourchette des longueurs de voies d'écoulement et des débits, du dépôt final jusqu'aux zones de failles aquifères majeures qui sont supposées conditionner la géométrie de ce dépôt. Les différentes venues d'eau observées dans les forages sont supposées correspondre aux les éléments transmissifs, principales voies d'écoulement de l'eau dans le domaine faiblement perméable.

Le modèle numérique discontinu NAPSAC a été utilisé pour intégrer les informations statistiques des forages en une structure stochastique d'éléments transmissifs discrets. Le modèle NAPSAC permet l'introduction de toutes les propriétés géométriques et hydrauliques des éléments transmissifs, propriétés supposées influencer la distribution des écoulements des eaux souterraines à l'échelle du bloc. Les incertitudes sont prises en compte en générant un grand nombre de distributions possibles d'éléments transmissifs. Ces résultats ont permis de déterminer l'intersection des éléments transmissifs simulés avec les tunnels du dépôt final. Pour les éléments transmissifs coupant un segment de tunnel, on a obtenu les distributions des propriétés géométriques et hydrauliques suivantes d'éléments: nombre, longueur du tracé, transmissivité, conductance, et, voies d'écoulement effectives avec longueur entre le tunnel et les limites du bloc.

La distribution de la taille des éléments transmissifs est une des principales inconnues. Après une analyse de sensibilité, il a été démontré que les caractéristiques géométriques et hydrauliques des éléments transmissifs sont relativement indépendantes de cette distribution. Toutefois, le régime général de l'écoulement à l'intérieur d'un bloc dépend de la connectivité des éléments transmissifs, celle-ci étant une fonction de la taille.

Une approche géométrique a été développée pour évaluer la circulation de l'eau à l'échelle du bloc. Dans cette approche, on a multiplié directement les gradients provenant du modèle hybride à l'échelle locale par la conductivité individuelle des éléments transmissifs, ceci afin de générer les différents flux volumiques possibles dans chacun des éléments transmissifs. Les paramètres spécifiques obtenus sont: l'écoulement à travers un seul élément transmissif, l'écoulement normalisé à travers les éléments transmissifs individuels, l'écoulement total à travers un tronçon de tunnel d'une longueur de 500 mètres et l'écoulement total à travers le dépôt final. Après comparaison, l'approche géométrique a donné des résultats pessimistes par rapport aux résultats de la simulation dynamique des écoulements, appelée approche dynamique et utilisant la même structure géométrique. Les résultats géométriques et hydrogéologiques ont été combinées pour fournir le jeu de données utilisé actuellement dans l'analyse de sûreté d'un dépôt final dans les roches cristallines du Nord de la Suisse.

L'approche géométrique diffère de la modélisation hydrodynamique standard en ce sens qu'elle assume que la force de mise en mouvement (gradient), telle qu'elle est déterminée dans le modèle à échelle locale, n'est pas influencée par la variation des paramètres hydrauliques à l'échelle du bloc. La méthode géométrique fournit des valeurs d'écoulement des eaux souterraines indiscutablement conservatrices (pessimistes), et sa simplicité d'implémentation est un avantage. Cette approche constitue ainsi un compromis satisfaisant entre une approche plus complexe (aux résultats réalistes mais incertains) et une approche simple (aux résultats plus fiables d'un point de vue pessimiste).

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs