Search

Technical Report NTB 93-07

Chemistry of Reference Waters of the Crystalline Basement of Northern Switzerland for Safety Assessment Studies

Download

Details

The chemistry of groundwater in formations being considered as host rocks for nuclear waste repositories must be known to assess the performance of those repositories, and as media for laboratory experiments. Two potential repository siting areas in the crystalline basement of northern Switzerland are being assessed.

This report gives the chemistry of water in both areas for reference use in this assessment. The western area is in the region defined by the Kaisten, Leuggern, Böttstein, and Zurzach boreholes. The western reference water is an Na-SO4-(Cl-HCO3) type with total dissolved solids of 1.0 g/l. Its composition is based on samples from the Leuggern, Böttstein, and Zurzach boreholes. Kaisten water is of higher salinity (1.3 g/l). The concentration ranges of the reference water include Kaisten values, however. High quality samples and analyses, particularly from long term sampling at Zurzach and Leuggern, define the concentration ranges of many trace elements. The definition of this water assumes saturation with respect to calcite, baryte, fluorite, chalcedony, and kaolinite. The reference pe is based on the assumption that dissolved iron concentrations are controlled by the solubility of the mineral goethite, and is consistent with other redox indicators such as the measured Pt-­electrode potential and the ratio of dissolved As(V) to As(III).

The eastern area is characterized by the Siblingen borehole. The eastern reference water is an Na-HCO3-SO4-(Cl) type with a total dissolved solids content of about 0.5 g/l. Only three samples taken during borehole drilling are available to define this water, so it can be specified in less detail and with less precision than the western water. Its definition assumes saturation with respect to calcite, baryte, and fluorite. The samples permit only a broad definition of its oxidation potential and content of redox-sensitive metals such as Fe, As, Mn, and U. Trace element data for the most part are lacking.

Small quantities of much more saline water were found in two locations in the realm of the western reference waters. A sample of an Na-(Ca)-Cl-(SO4) water was taken from 1326 m at Böttstein and of an Na-Ca-SO4 water from 923 m at Leuggern. These waters have total dissolved solids contents of 13 and 5 g/l, respectively, and their chemistries are also given. They probably represent the extreme range of water compositions that might be encountered in parts of a repository in the crystalline basement of northern Switzerland.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 93-07

Chemistry of Reference Waters of the Crystalline Basement of Northern Switzerland for Safety Assessment Studies

Télécharger

Détails

La connaissance du chimisme des eaux souterraines des formations envisagées comme roches d'accueil pour le dépôt final de déchets radioactifs est nécessaire pour évaluer le comportement de tels dépôts; il en est de même pour la réalisation d'essais en labora­toire. Deux sites potentiels dans le cristallin du Nord de la Suisse sont à l'étude. Ce rapport présente le chimisme des eaux souterraines de ces deux sites qui servira de réfé­rence pour ces évaluations.

Le site occidental se trouve dans la region définie par les forages de Kaisten, Leuggern, Böttstein et Zurzach. L'eau de reference correspondante est de type Na-SO4-(CI-HCO3) avec une minéralisation totale de 1.0 g/l. Sa composition est basée sur des échantillons préléves dans les forages de Leuggern, Böttstein et Zurzach. L'eau de Kaisten est plus saline (1.3 g/l). Les plages de concentration pour l'eau de référence incluent toutefois les valeurs de Kaisten. Des échantillons et des analyses de haute qualité provenant en particulier de prélèvements effectués durant de longues périodes a Zurzach et à Leuggern définissent les domaines de concentration de nombreux éléments traces. La définition de cette eau présuppose une saturation en calcite, barite, fluorite, calcédoine et kaolinite. Le potentiel rédox (pe) de référence est basé sur l'hypothèse que le fer est contrôlé par le minéral goethite. Il est en accord avec d'autres indicateurs rédox tels que la mesure du potentiel de l'électrode Pt et le rapport de l'As(V) dissous à l'As (Ill).

Le site potentiel oriental est caractérisé par le forage de Siblingen. L'eau de référence est ici de type Na-HCO3-SO4-(Cl) avec une minéralisation totale d'environ 0.5 g/l. Seuls trois échantillons prélevés durant les travaux de forage sont disponibles pour caractériser cette eau qui par conséquent ne peut être définie avec autant de détails et de précision que celle du site occidental. Sa défimition présuppose une saturation en calcite, barite et fluorite. Les échantillons ne permettent qu'une definition approximative de son potentiel rédox et de sa concentration en métaux sensibles à ce potentiel comme le Fe, le Mn et l'u. Pour la plupart, les données relatives aux éléments traces ne sont pas disponibles.

De faibles quantités d'eaux beaucoup plus salines ont été trouvées en deux points situés dans le domaine des eaux de référence occidentales. Un échantillon d'une eau de type Na-(Ca)-Cl-(SO4) a été prélevé à 1326 ID de profondeur à Bottstein, et d'une eau de type Na-Ca-SO4 à 923 m à Leuggern. Ces eaux présentent une minéralisation totale de respectivement 13 et 5 g/l et leurs compositions chimiques figurent dans le rapport. Elles représentent probablement des valeurs extrêmes du domaine de variation des eaux qui pourraient être rencontrées dans certaines parties d'un dépot final dans le cristallin.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs