Search

Technical Report NTB 93-04

TAME – The Terrestrial-Aquatic Model of the Environment: Model Definition

Download

Details

TAME – the Terrestrial-Aquatic Model of the Environment is a new computer model for use in assessments of the radiological impact of the release of radionuclides to the biosphere, following their disposal in underground waste repositories. Based on regulatory requirements, the end-point of the calculations is the maximum annual individual dose to members of a hypothetical population group inhabiting the biosphere region. Additional mid- and end-points in the TAME calculations are dose as a function of time from eleven exposure pathways, foodstuff concentrations and the distribution of radionuclides in the modelled biosphere.

A complete description of the mathematical representations of the biosphere in TAME is given in this document, based on a detailed review of the underlying conceptual framework for the model. Example results are used to illustrate features of the conceptual and mathematical models and to highlight areas where simplifications used to define the example biosphere must be revised in future applications. The end-point of dose is shown to be robust for the simplifying model assumptions used to define the biosphere for the example calculations.

TAME comprises two distinct sub-models – one representing the transport of radionuclides in the near-surface environment and one for the calculation of doses to individual inhabitants of that biosphere. The former is the result of a detailed review of the modelling requirements for such applications and is based on a comprehensive consideration of all features, events and processes (FEPs) relevant to Swiss biospheres, both in the present-day biosphere and in potential future biosphere states. Representations of the transport processes are derived from first principles. Mass balance for water and solid material fluxes is used to determine the rates of contaminant transfer between components of the biosphere system. The calculation of doses is based on existing representations of exposure pathways and draws on experience both from Switzerland and elsewhere.

Both sub-models are described in full and default datasets (i.e. those which are not strongly site specific) are included for the example calculations. The performance of TAME is compared and contrasted with that of earlier biosphere models used in Switzerland, demonstrating the correct working of the new model by limiting the scope to be similar to that of the older models, and illustrating the advantages of the new model when the full TAME dataset is used.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 93-04

TAME – The Terrestrial-Aquatic Model of the Environment: Model Definition

Télécharger

Détails

TAME, le Terrestrial-Aquatic Model of the Environment, est un nouveau modèle ordinatique utilisé dans l'analyse de l'impact radiologique du relâchement des radionucléides dans la biosphère, suite au stockage des déchets dans les dépôts ultimes souterrains. Basé sur des exigences réglementaires, le but des calculs en est la détermination de la dose maximale annuelle reçue par un individu membre d'une population hypothétique habitant la biosphère. TAME calcule également les valeurs intermédiaires et finales de la dose en fonction du temps pour onze voies d'exposition, les concentrations dans les denrées alimentaires et la distribution des radionucléides dans la biosphère modélisée.

Ce document donne une description complète des représentations mathématiques de la biosphère dans TAME. Celles-ci sont basées sur l'examen détaillé de la structure conceptuelle sous-jacente du modèle considéré. Des cas-tests permettent, d'une part d'illustrer le comportement des modèles conceptuels et mathématiques, d'autre part de mettre en lumière les domaines où les simplifications utilisées pour définir la biosphère considérée doivent être révisées dans les applications futures. On montre que la valeur finale des doses est peu sensible aux hypothèses simplificatrices du modèle, faites pour décrire la biosphère dans les calculs des cas-tests.

TAME comprend deux sous-modèles distincts: l'un représente le transport des radionucléides dans l'environnement proche de la surface; l'autre calcule les doses reçues par les habitants de la biosphère. Le premier sous-modèle provient d'un examen détaillé des exigences de modélisation pour de telles applications. Il s'appuie sur la compréhension de toutes les caractéristiques, évènements et processus (FEPs) relatifs aux biosphères suisses, tant en ce qui concerne la biosphère actuelle, que les états possibles des futures biosphères. Le bilan de masse pour les flux des matériaux solides et d'eau sont utilisées pour déterminer des faux de transport entre les compartiments de la biosphère. Le calcul de la dose est basé sur des représentations existantes des voies d'exposition. Il tient compte de l'expérience à la fois en Suisse et à l'étranger.

Les deux sous-modèles sont entièrement décrits. Des bases de données par défaut (c'est­-à-dire celles qui ne sont pas fortement liées au site) sont inclues pour les calculs des cas-tests. La comparaison des performances de TAME avec les résultats fournis par les modèles de biosphère utilisés précédemment en Suisse permet de démontrer le fonctionnement correct de ce nouveau modèle, dans un domaine de validité comparable à celui des anciens modèles, et d'illustrer ses avantages lorsque toute la base de données de TAME est utilisée.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs