Search

Technical Report NTB 92-04

Hydrodynamic Synthesis and Modeling of Groundwater Flow in Crystalline Rocks of Northern Switzerland

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 50.00

Download

Details

This report represents the methodology and results of hydrogeological synthesis of crystalline rocks in Northern Switzerland. This synthesis concludes the regional investigation program KRI-I that was conducted by Nagra (Swiss National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste) during 1981 – 1993. The principal objective of this program is to assess the suitability of the crystalline basement as a host rock for a deep-seated repository for high-level and long-lived intermediate-level radioactive waste (HLW/ILW).

The present report provides a comprehensive hydrogeological characterization of the crystalline basement. The characterization study plays a key role in assessing the repository safety and performance, given that any release of radionuclides from a repository and further transport through the geological environment (geosphere) will occur by groundwater. The final objective of the characterization study is to provide a representative description of processes and parameters that control the flow system between the repository and the biosphere.

The hydrogeological characterization study of crystalline rocks was performed in 1991 – 1993 and included the following steps:

  • compilation and a consistent interpretation of hydraulic borehole data
  • development of the hydrogeological conceptual model of crystalline rocks
  • analytic estimates of effective hydraulic properties of the defined conceptual units
  • modeling and evaluation of regional flow
  • modeling and evaluation of local-scale flow in a selected area of interest
  • stochastic modeling of fracture flow at repository (block) scale and derivation of relevant input parameters for repository-safety assessments

The results of this multi-level synthesis study were presented in a series of Nagra internal reports. They all are integrated in this report which represents a complete background information on the hydrogeology of crystalline rocks in the basement of Northern Switzerland. The overall synthesis of all investigations performed in the scope of KRI-I program is presented in THURY et al. (1994).

Nagra's area of interest is a strip of crystalline basement between the deep Permocarboniferous Trough in the south and the German border in the north.

This area is characterized by Nagra's deep boreholes at the sites of Kaisten, Böttstein, Leuggern and Siblingen. Because the basement is covered by Mesozoic sediments throughout the investigation area, no direct surface observation is available. Instead, studies on crystalline outcrops in the adjacent Southern Black Forest are used to complement the scarce information from boreholes.

The first step of hydrogeological characterization is the development of a conceptual model that provides a simplified but consistent description of flow through crystalline rocks. Based on the synthesis of experimental data, the crystalline basement of the investigation area is subdivided into conceptual domains. Each domain is deemed to represent a homogeneous volume of rock that can be characterized by a single mean property. The combined framework of these domains accounts for the observed spatial heterogeneity of crystalline rocks. In terms of the large-scale flow, the basement is separated into large subvertical faults acting as water conduits and irregular blocks of relatively undisturbed rock. Based on generally observed tendency, the latter are further subdivided into an upper, relatively high-permeable crystalline unit and a lower, relatively low-permeable unit. An earlier geological synthesis suggested that potentially suitable crystalline rocks occur in two sub-regions of Northern Switzerland, identified as area West (Kaisten – Leuggern – Böttstein) and area East (Siblingen). These sub-regions are also characterized by different hydraulic properties. The lower crystalline unit in area West was identified as the potential host formation for a deep repository designated the Lower-permeability domain. In area East, which is characterized only by one borehole at Siblingen, no such crystalline-rock domain of similarly favorable properties was observed. The fundamental question is here, whether the data from the Siblingen borehole are representative for the area of interest, or whether they rather represent local hydrogeologic conditions that are specific for that site only. The conceptual model of sub-regional flow considers both alternatives as equally plausible.

At a much smaller scale of a potential repository (block scale), the flow through an undisturbed block of the low-permeable domain is controlled by a variety of discrete discontinuities. These planar features are identified as inflow points in hydraulic borehole tests and are generalized as transmissive elements in the conceptual model. They are characterized by statistical properties derived or inferred from borehole and outcrop observations.

The modeling of large-scale groundwater flow was used to confirm and improve the general understanding of the regional flow system in Northern Switzerland.

At this scale, the crystalline rocks were approximated by an equivalent-porous medium (EPM). Model results were compared with observed heads and hydrochemical evidence to test the plausibility of several conceptual hypotheses. The outcome is a set of concise statements, weighed hypotheses and alternatives that express the current conceptual understanding of the regional hydrodynamic system. The robustness of the simulated hydrodynamic system was also tested by inserting discrete faults and by including long-term scenarios that consider neotectonic changes in the topography and lateral displacements of river channels.

At a smaller scale, the local flow system in area West was evaluated by means of a hybrid or "double-porosity" model. This approach allows modelling explicitly the large water-conducting faults and the intervening blocks of undisturbed crystalline rocks, represented as EPM. The development of a new mesh generator was required to handle the complex geometry of arbitrarily oriented faults. A simplified geometric fault model designed by structural geology served as basis for the numerical grid. Multiple geometric variants of the hybrid model were implemented to cover the uncertainty related to the geometry and frequency of the hydraulically active faults. The two bounding patterns, referred to as the full scenario and sparse scenario, were assumed to cover the full range of possible model results and were subjected to a comprehensive analysis. The principal objective of the simulations is to evaluate the impact of major water-conducting faults on the local flow field in the intervening blocks of undisturbed crystalline rocks. The model results are evaluated from the perspective of needs for the repository safety analysis. The principal output consists in 1) the distribution of fluxes between the crystalline rock blocks and large faults, 2) the distribution of hydraulic gradients within the potential host rock as function of the fault frequency, and 3) the direction and path length of flow between the disposal location and the closest high-permeability medium. The simulated mean absolute gradients vary between 0.01 (full scenario) and 0.05 (sparse scenario). The direction and path length of flow within the low-permeable host rock depends on the size of the undisturbed block. It is shown that local flow systems are preserved only in large blocks. The comparison of model results with borehole observations suggests that not all faults in the geometrical network, such as identified by the structural geology, are hydraulically active. In other words, the conditions simulated in the sparse scenario (large blocks) are more plausible than those in the well-connected network of the full scenario.

The next level of modeling deals with characterization of flow through a typical block volume of low-permeable crystalline rocks surrounding a hypothetical repository drift. According to the conceptual model, the advective flow and transport at this scale is entirely controlled by conductive fractures, termed transmissive elements. Because the hydraulic and geometric properties of these features are not known explicitly, they are incorporated into a statistical framework. These are the discontinuum models that simulate the advective flow through a fractured medium, where the contribution of the matrix flow is negligible. The models are generated as complex stochastic networks based on statistical input data derived from borehole observations.

The simulation of fracture networks encompassing a hypothetical repository serves to provide the following input for repository-performance analysis:

  • Frequency, trace length and transmissivity of intersected fractures. These parameters in combination with hydraulic gradients (obtained from the local-scale model) allow estimating the volumetric flow through a repository.
  • Effective hydraulic conductivity of the modeled block. This parameter can be used as a feedback to characterize the block matrix in the hybrid models.

Evaluation of block-scale flow was performed for typical volumes of the lower crystalline rock unit in area West and East, with the final goal to provide quantitative input data for safety analysis calculations. The results are the water flow through a repository and its distribution among single transmissive elements, and the dilution potential of flow passing the repository within the near-surface aquifers and rivers in each area. Area East is less well-characterized and a substantial uncertainty is related to the evaluation of results at the block scale. Two separate datasets are derived for the safety analysis in area East, considering the two possible alternatives regarding the representativeness of Siblingen observations.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 92-04

Hydrodynamic Synthesis and Modeling of Groundwater Flow in Crystalline Rocks of Northern Switzerland

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    50,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Ce rapport donne une synthèse hydrogéologique du socle cristallin de la Suisse du Nord ainsi que la méthodologie d'investigation utilisée pour ce faire. Il clôt les études effectuées par la Société coopérative nationale pour l'entreposage de déchets radioactifs (Nagra) de 1981 à 1993. Le principal but de celles-ci était de déterminer l'aptitude du socle cristallin comme roche d'accueil pour le stockage définitif de déchets radioactifs à haute activité et de déchets à moyenne activité et longue durée de vie.

La caractérisation hydrogéologique détaillée du socle cristallin présentée dans ce rapport occupe une position clé pour l'analyse de sûreté et de performance du site, compte tenu du fait que les mouvements d'eaux souterraines provoquent le transfert de radionucléides entre le site d'entreposage et au travers du milieu géologique (géosphère). L'objectif final de la caractérisation est de fournir une description adéquate des processus et des paramètres qui contrôlent le système d'écoulement entre le site de stockage et la biosphère. L'étude hydrogéologique de caractérisation du socle cristallin a été accomplie de 1991 et 1993 et comprend les étapes suivantes:

  • Synthèse des données hydrauliques des forages et conceptualisation hydrogéologique de la roche cristalline.
  • Estimation analytique des propriétés hydrauliques effectives dans le cadre conceptuel adopté.
  • Modélisation des écoulements à l'échelle régionale.
  • Modélisation et évaluation des écoulements à une échelle locale pour des domaines d'étude choisis.
  • Modélisation stochastiques des écoulements en milieu fracturé à l'échelle du site de stockage et déduction des paramètres d'entrée nécessaires pour les études de sûreté.

Les résultats de cette étude effectuée sur différents niveaux ont été présentés dans une série de rapports techniques de la Nagra. Ce rapport en fait une synthèse et présente une description exhaustive de l'hydrogéologie des roches du socle cristallin de la Suisse du Nord. La synthèse de tous les travaux effectués dans le cadre du programme KRI-I est donnée par THURY et al. (1994).

L'intérêt de la Nagra s'est focalisé sur une bande du socle cristallin située entre la bordure du fossé au Sud et la frontière avec l'Allemagne au Nord. Ce domaine a été investigué par les forages profonds de la Nagra à Kaisten, Böttstein, Leuggern et Siblingen. Comme le socle y est recouvert par des sédiments du Mésozoïque, aucune observation de surface n'est disponible. Aussi, des études d'affleurement du socle cristallin dans la partie méridionale de la Forêt Noire sont utilisées afin de compléter les informations fragmentaires des forages profonds.

Une première étape dans la caractérisation hydrogéologique est l'élaboration d'un modèle conceptuel qui donne une description simplifiée mais cohérente de l'écoulement à travers les roches cristallines. Le socle cristallin est subdivisé en plusieurs unités conceptuelles qui constituent une représentation simplifiée du milieu en blocs homogènes caractérisés par une valeur unique moyenne des paramètres. A une échelle d'écoulement régionale, le socle est traversé par des failles subverticales occasionnant d'importantes circulations d'eau. La matrice rocheuse des blocs de taille variable situés entre ces failles est peu diaclasée. Verticalement ces blocs peuvent être subdivisés en une zone supérieure plus perméable et une zone inférieure moins perméable. Dans une synthèse hydrogéologique précédente deux régions du Nord de la Suisse ont été identifiées comme possédant une roche cristalline adéquate: à l'Ouest la zone de Kaisten – Leuggern – Böttstein, à l'Est la zone de Siblingen. Ces deux régions sont caractérisées par des propriétés hydrauliques différentes. La partie inférieure du cristallin dans la zone Ouest a été identifiée comme roche d'accueil potentielle pour un stockage profond. Dans la zone Est, caractérisée par un seul forage à Siblingen, une roche cristalline semblable n'a pas été identifiée. La question fondamentale est de savoir si les données du forage de Siblingen sont représentatives de l'ensemble du domaine considéré ou si elles reflètent plutôt des conditions hydrogéologiques locales. Le modèle conceptuel d'écoulement à l'échelle subrégionale considère ces deux éventualités. A l'échelle du site de stockage (échelle d'un bloc) l'écoulement est contrôlé par des discontinuités discrètes. Ces structures bidimensionnelles sont identifiées comme zones d'afflux lors des essais hydrauliques en forages, sont conceptualisées sous forme d'éléments transmissifs et sont caractérisées par les propriétés statistiques déduites ou induites des observations.

Les écoulements souterrains régionaux ont été modélisés afin de confirmer et d'augmenter la compréhension générale du système d'écoulement dans le socle cristallin en Suisse du Nord. A cette échelle, la roche cristalline est considérée comme milieu équivalent à un milieu poreux. Les résultats de modélisation ont été comparés aux hauteurs piézométriques observées ainsi qu'aux données hydrochimiques afin d'analyser la plausibilité des différentes hypothèses conceptuelles. Cette étude a conduit à un tableau résumant les éléments clé et les alternatives pondérées selon leur plausibilité, donnant ainsi une vue globale du système hydrogéologique régional. La robustesse du système simulé a été testée en introduisant des fractures discrètes et en considérant des scénarios géologiques à long terme comprenant des changements topographiques néotectoniques et des modifications du cours des rivières.

Le régime d'écoulement local dans la zone Ouest a été évalué au moyen d'un modèle dit hybride ou à double porosité. Cette approche permet de prendre en compte de façon explicite les failles à haute perméabilité et les blocs peu diaclasés dans la modélisation. Le développement d'un nouveau générateur de maillage a été nécessaire afin de prendre en compte la géométrie complexe et les orientations aléatoires des failles. Un modèle géométrique de failles simplifié a servi de base pour le maillage numérique. L'impact de différentes variantes géométriques du modèle hybride sur les résultats de simulation a été investigué afin de couvrir les incertitudes relatives à la géométrie et à la distribution statistique des failles hydrauliquement actives. Les deux situations extrêmes dénommées scénario "réseau de failles complet (RFC)" et scénario "réseau de failles réduit (RFR)" sont supposées couvrir l'ensemble des situations possibles et ont été sujettes à une analyse exhaustive. L'objectif principal des simulations était d'évaluer l'impact des failles à conductivité majeure sur l'écoulement dans les blocs du cristallin peu diaclasés à l'échelle locale. Les résultats de modélisation sont évalués dans l'optique d'une analyse de sûreté. Les résultats principaux sont 1) la distribution des flux entre les blocs de roche cristalline et les failles, 2) la distribution des gradients hydrauliques à l'intérieur de la roche d'accueil en fonction de la fréquence des failles, et 3) l'orientation et les longueurs de cheminement de l'écoulement entre le site de stockage et le milieu fortement perméable le plus proche. Les gradients hydrauliques moyens varient entre 0,01 (RFC) et 0,05 (RFR). L'orientation et les longueurs de cheminement de l'écoulement dans la roche d'accueil peu perméable dépendent de la taille des blocs peu diaclasés. Les résultats montrent que l'écoulement local n'est préservé que dans le cas de blocs de dimensions importantes. La comparaison des résultats de modélisation avec les observations effectuées par forage suggèrent que seulement un certain nombre des failles identifiées par une analyse de géologie structurale et appartenant à un réseau géométrique donné sont hydrauliquement actives. En d'autres termes, les conditions simulées dans le scénario RFR sont plus plausibles que celles du scénario RFC pour lequel l'interconnexion du réseau est importante.

Dans un second temps, la modélisation a porté sur la caractérisation de l'écoulement à l'intérieur d'un bloc de roche cristalline à faible perméabilité dans lequel est positionnée une galerie de stockage hypothétique. D'après le modèle conceptuel, l'écoulement et le transport advectif à cette échelle est entièrement contrôlé par les éléments transmissifs dont les caractéristiques géométriques et hydrauliques ne sont pas connues de façon déterministe mais de façon statistique. Le modèle conceptuel considéré est donc un modèle de milieu fracturé discontinu, dans lesquels la contribution de la matrice à l'écoulement est négligeable. Le réseau de fractures complexe est généré par simulation statistiques sur la base des paramètres descriptifs obtenus par observations dans les forages. La simulation de réseaux de fractures comportant une galerie de stockage hypothétique fournit les paramètres suivants nécessaires à l'analyse de performance de la galerie de stockage:

  • Fréquence, longueur de la trace d'intersection et transmissivité des fractures intersectées. Ces paramètres combinés aux gradients hydrauliques (obtenus par le modèle d'écoulement à l'échelle locale) permettent l'estimation des flux volumétriques au travers de la galerie de stockage.
  • Conductivité effective du bloc simulé. Ce paramètre peut être utilisé comme information a posteriori pour la caractérisation des blocs de matrice rocheuse du modèle hybride.

L'écoulement à l'échelle d'un bloc a été calculé pour des volumes, de roche cristallines typiques de l'unité inférieure des zones Est et Ouest dans le but de procurer des données d'entrée quantitatives pour les simulations de l'analyse de sûreté. Les résultats obtenus portent sur les flux hydriques à travers le site de stockage ainsi que leur distribution entre les éléments transmissifs, et sur la dilution potentielle des eaux passées au travers du site dans les aquifères de surface et les rivières. Comme la zone Est est moins bien caractérisée, une incertitude importante entache les résultats d'évaluation à l'échelle d'un bloc. Deux groupes de données distincts sont obtenus pour l'analyse de sûreté de la zone Est qui prennent en compte les deux alternatives d'interprétation possibles des observations de Siblingen.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs