Search

Technical Report NTB 92-01

Analysis and Synthesis of Fluid Logging Data from Wellenberg Boreholes SB1, SB2, SB3, SB4 and SB6

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

This document presents the results of the detailed quantitative analysis and synthesis of fluid logging data measured in the Wellenberg boreholes SB1, SB2, SB3, SB4 and SB6 as part of Nagra's characterization program for the Valanginian Marl which is considered as a potential host rock for low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste.

The fluid logging method involves measuring the electrical conductivity and temperature along a pumped borehole after it has been flushed with a fluid with an electrical conductivity and temperature which contrast with those of the formation fluid. Inflow of formation fluid results in electrical conductivity peaks. Quantitative analysis of these peaks provides estimates of hydraulically active feature (HAF) transmissivities, inflowing fluid concentrations and some indications on HAF formation head.

A review of the main assumptions underlying the various codes for quantitative interpretation of the measured logs provides a basis for selecting the appropriate methodology. Examination of the temporal variability and uncertainty related to parameters critical for the analysis (in particular drawdown and inflowing fluid concentration) shows that for all tests there are several logs which are suitable for analysis with BORE, a finite difference code which simulates one-dimensional advective-dispersive transport with multiple inflows.

Unlike previous fluid logging analyses where BORE simulations were performed manually by iteratively adjusting inflow rates and inflowing fluid concentrations to minimize the difference between measured and simulated logs, the approach selected here is to minimize the differences automatically using STARBORE, an inverse model which uses BORE at each iteration. One of the important advantages of this approach compared to previous analyses is that, in addition to estimates of inflow parameters which result in an optimal match between measured and simulated logs, estimates of the uncertainty (standard deviations) affecting each modelled parameter are obtained. STARBORE successfully converged to a minimum of the objective function (sum of square residuals) for all fluid logging tests except one due to insufficient peak development.

HAF flow rates estimated by STARBORE were used to determine HAF transmissivities, taking into account the uncertainty affecting the parameters involved in the calculation (in particular inflow zone formation heads and inflow zone storativities).

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 92-01

Analysis and Synthesis of Fluid Logging Data from Wellenberg Boreholes SB1, SB2, SB3, SB4 and SB6

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    40,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Ce document présente les résultats de l'analyse quantitative détaillée et de la synthèse des données de diagraphies de fluides, mesurées dans les forages du Wellenberg SB1, SB2, SB3, SB4 et SB6, dans le cadre du programme de la Nagra pour la caractérisation de la marne du Valanginien, qui est une roche hôte potentielle pour des déchets faiblement à moyennement radioactifs.

La méthode des diagraphies de fluides consiste à mesurer le profil de conductivité électrique et de température le long d'un forage en pompage, après que ce forage ait été rincé avec un fluide présentant un contraste de conductivité électrique et de température avec le fluide dans la formation. Les zones d'influx dans le forage se traduisent par des pics de conductivité électrique dans les logs mesurés. L'analyse quantitative des logs fournit des estimations des transmissivités des zones d'influx, des concentrations dans la formation au niveau de ces zones ainsi que des indications concernant les potentiels hydrauliques.

Les principales hypothèses sur lesquelles sont basés les divers programmes informatiques servant à l'analyse quantitative sont passées en revue, ce qui permet de sélectionner la méthode d'analyse la plus appropriée aux conditions de mesure. L'examen de la variabilité dans le temps et de l'incertitude liées aux paramètres requis pour l'analyse (en particulier le rabattement et la concentration dans les fluides produits par les zones d'influx), montre que pour chaque test il existe plusieurs logs pouvant être analysées à l'aide de BORE, un code de différences finies qui simule le transport advectif-dispersif à une dimension avec des sources multiples.

Contrairement aux simulations BORE effectuées par le passé, où l'ajustement entre logs mesurés et simulés était effectué manuellement, l'approche adoptée ici consiste à effectuer cet ajustement de manière automatique avec STARBORE, un modèle inverse de minimisation qui fait appel à BORE à chaque itération. Un des avantages importants de cette nouvelle approche est qu'en plus des paramètres correspondant à un ajustement optimal, l'on obtient également une estimation de l'erreur (écarts types) sur chaque paramètre simulé. STARBORE trouva avec succès le minimum de la fonction objective pour chaque test de diagraphies sauf un, en raison d'un développement insuffisant des pics.

Les transmissivités des zones d'influx sont calculées à l'aide des débits estimés par STARBORE et tenant compte de l'incertitude liée aux autres paramètres concernés (en particulier les potentiels des zones d'influx et leur coefficient d'emmagasinement).

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs