Search

Technical Report NTB 91-12

Grimsel Test Site Structural geology and water flow paths in the migration shear zone

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 50.00

Download

Details

Introduction: The shear-zone in the ventilation tunnel at VT 420 at the Grimsel Test Site (GTS) is a direct continuation of the migration shear-zone AU 96 that is being used for hydraulic and tracer migration experiments. A thick drill-core (diameter 20 cm) was taken from the VT 420 location such that the fragile structures in the central fault breccia remained largely intact. After several hardening steps, thin-sections were produced for all three main deformation planes of the deformation ellipsoid (i.e. parallel/perpendicular to the cleavage and stretching lineation). Vacuum impregnation with fluorescent resin allowed the pore space to be observed microscopically.

Ductile shear-zone: The ductile shear-zone at VT 420 is 0.15 – 0.90 m thick, strikes WSW­ENE and dips steeply to the SSE and trends parallel to the cleavage (S-zone). The shear direction is sub-vertical, parallel to the mineral stretching lineation. Looking to the E, the shear sense is anti-clockwise, meaning the shear-zones have accommodated thrust displacements. A minimum value for the shear displacement across the shear-zone is 3 m. The structure of the ductile shear-zone can be linked with the Alpine greenschist metamorphism and the development of the regional cleavage. This deformation is purely ductile and includes the formation of a set of mylonitic zones within the shear-zone. Mylonitic zones are mica-rich and more fine-grained than the surrounding rock. The shear-zone is markedly asymmetric, with an abrupt northern boundary (very high deformation gradient) and an indistinct southern boundary.

Brittle deformation: During the course of post-metamorphic regional uplift, the ductile shear-zone was reactivated and underwent brittle deformation. This lead to formation of non­cohesive fault breccias several mm thick, particularly in strongly mylonitic zones which acted as pre-existing zones of weakness (reduced mechanical competence, high deformation gradients). The fault breccias can be interpreted genetically as fault gouges and consist of angular rock fragments embedded in a mica-rich matrix. This matrix is non-cohesive because virtually no hydrothermal alteration and cementation of the pore space has occurred after the brittle deformation event. Hypotheses for the origin of the fault gouges besides differential uplift of individual blocks include the effects of periodic movements such as tides and changes in water levels in the nearby reservoirs.

Quantitative porosimetry: A number of methods (Hg injection, water gravimetry, impregnation with polymethylmethacrylate PMMA) have been applied to quantitatively determine the interconnected pore space in the different rock types in the shear-zone. Due to the cohesionless structure, the fault gouge porosity cannot be measured but is estimated at 10 – 30 vol.% from thin-sections. Ultramylonitic rock portions (in which the fault gouges are often embedded) have a rather low porosity (as low as 0.5 vol.%) due to their dense, recrystallized structure. Porosity increases with decreasing degree of ductile deformation, and the granodioritic matrix rocks have open porosities > 1 vol.% in many cases. Porosity of weakly deformed granodiorite decreases with increasing distance from the tunnel wall (10 % decrease over the first 20 cm), which is interpreted as a consequence of microcrack formation during tunnel construction.

Extrapolation of observed structures to larger scales: Because of the limited outcrop size in the tunnel, an attempt to extrapolate the observed structures to larger scales was made using information from geological mapping on the surface. Similar shear-zones at the Räterichsboden reservoir can be mapped on the meter – decametre scale. We assume that the shear-zone geometry described can be extrapolated to the 100 m-range.

Implications for water flow and transport: It is brittle deformation which plays the dominant role as far as water flow is concerned today: the central fault gouge is highly porous due to the lack of hydrothermal cementation. The ultramylonitic rock zones bordering the fault gouge are very tight but do contain planar pore spaces along mica streaks (sheet-silicate porosity). These provide a hydraulic connection between the fault gouge and the less deformed granodioritic gneiss outside the shear-zone. The granodioritic matrix rocks have a well developed, interconnected network of grain boundary and transgranular pores. Feldspars also have numerous solution pores, interpreted as etching phenomena of Alpine metamorphic fluids.

Suggestions for revised conceptual models: Revised conceptual models are suggested for the geometry of the pore spaces and for the hydrodynamic and transport modelling. The geometrical model is based mainly on microscopic parameters derived from thin-sections (for example pore width, persistence and orientation). The model consists of 3 domains: 1) the fault gouges are represented by a system of plates with variable orientation and thickness, consisting of an equivalent porous medium, 2) the mylonitic rocks are described of a highly anisotropic fracture network (sheet silicate pores), 3) the granodioritic gneisses surrounding the shear-zone are represented by a mildly anisotropic fracture network (grain boundary pores). Within these 3 domains, the pore spaces are interconnected. This small-scale conceptual geometrical model can be extrapolated to larger scales by the use of standard averaging techniques. The relevance of advective, dispersive and diffusive transport in all domains was considered. It is suggested that advection and mechanical dispersion is most effective in the fault gouges whereas molecular diffusion is expected to be relevant in the domains 2 and 3. The migration shear-zone can therefore be described in terms of a dual-porosity transport model.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 91-12

Grimsel Test Site Structural geology and water flow paths in the migration shear zone

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    50,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Introduction: Au site d'essais du Grimsel (GTS), la zone de cisaillement située au point 420 dans le tunnel de ventilation (VT) est une prolongation directe de la zone de cisaillement AU 96 utilisée pour les essais hydrauliques et les essais de migration de traceurs. Au site VT 420, on a prélevé une carotte de 20 cm de diamètre, en y laissant intactes les fragiles structures bréchiques de la faille centrale. Après plusieurs phases de durcissement de la carotte, on y a taillé des lames minces selon les trois plans principaux de l'ellipsoïde de déformation, c'est à dire perpendiculairement et parallèlement au clivage et à la linéation d'étirement. Une imprégnation de résine fluorescente sous vide a permis l'examen au microscope des pores.

Zone de cisaillement ductile: Au site VT 420, la zone de cisaillement ductile présente une épaisseur de 0.15 à 0.9 m. Elle est orientée WSW-ENE et plonge fortement vers le SSE. Elle est subparallèle au clivage (zone S). La direction de cisaillement est subverticale, parallèle à la linéation formée par l'étirement des minéraux. Si l'on regarde vers l'E, le cisaillement s'est effectué dans le sens inverse des aiguilles d'une montre. On peut admettre un cisaillement total d'au moins 3 m. La structure de la zone de cisaillement ductile peut être mise en relation avec le métamorphisme alpin des schistes verts, et avec le développement d'un clivage régional. La déformation est purement ductile. Elle comprend la formation d'une série de zones de mouvement mylonitiques à l'intérieur de la zone de cisaillement. Les zones mylonitiques sont riches en micas, et d'une granulométrie plus fine que celle des roches environnantes. La zone de cisaillement possède une asymétrie marquée, avec une terminaison abrupte sur la bordure nord de la zone de cisaillement (gradient de déformation très élevé), et une transition graduelle sur sa bordure sud.

Déformation cassante: Au cours du soulèvement régional, la zone de déformation ductile a été réactivée et soumise à une déformation cassante. Il en est résulté la formation de brèches de faille non cohésives d'épaisseur millimétrique, particulièrement dans les zones très mylonitisées et dans les endroits à fort gradient de déformation. Génétiquement, les brèches de faille sont le résultat d'un broyage. Elles sont composées d'éléments anguleux noyés dans une matrice riche en micas. Ces brèches de faille peuvent avoir pour origine le soulèvement différentiel des blocs rocheux, ainsi que des mouvements périodiques dus aux marées terrestres et aux fluctuations des niveaux d'eau dans les réservoirs tout proches.

Porosimétrie quantitative: La détermination quantitative du volume des pores interconnectés de différents types de roches de la zone de cisaillement a été tentée par différentes méthodes: injection de mercure, pesage de la teneur en eau, imprégnation au métacrylate de polyméthyle. La porosité des brèches de faille n'a pas pu a être mesurée directement, faute de cohésion de la roche. Elle a été estimée à 10 – 30 % du volume par l'examen de lames minces. En raison de leur structure dense et recristallisée, les roches ultramylonitiques dans lesquelles sont souvent noyées les brèches de faille ont une porosité plutôt faible, qui parfois ne dépasse pas 0.5 % du volume. La porosité augmente avec la décroissance du degré de déformation ductile. Elle dépasse fréquemment 1 % du volume dans la matrice granodioritique. La porosité des granodiorites faiblement déformées décroît avec l'augmentation de la distance à la paroi du tunnel (10 % de décroissance sur les 20 premiers cm). On pense que cela est dû à une microfracturation provoquée par la construction du tunnel.

Extrapolation à une plus grande échelle des structures observées: La surface limitée des affleurements dans le tunnel nous a poussé à tenter d'extrapoler à une plus grande échelle les structures observées, en utilisant les informations des levées géologiques de surface. On peut suivre au réservoir du Räterichsboden des zones de cisaillement similaires à l'échelle métrique ou décamétrique. On pense qu'on peut extrapoler la géométrie de la zone de cisaillement décrite sur une longueur d'environ 100 m.

Conséquences pour les écoulements souterrains: A l'heure actuelle, les déformations cassantes constituent le milieu principal des écoulements souterrains. La brèche de faille centrale n'a pas été cimentée hydrothermalement, elle est donc très poreuse. La roche ultramylonitique en bordure de la brèche de faille est nettement plus étanche que la roche voisine, mais elle contient tout de même des pores planaires le long des stries micacées (porosité de silicates feuilletés). Ces pores fournissent une bonne connexion hydraulique entre la brèche de faille et les gneiss granodioritiques moins déformés, en dehors de la zone de cisaillement. La matrice granodioritique présente un réseau bien développé de pores interconnectés, entre et à travers les grains. Les feldspaths présentent aussi de nombreux pores de dissolution, considérés comme la marque des fluides du métamorphisme alpin.

Suggestions pour la révision des modèles conceptuels: on propose une révision des modèles conceptuels en ce qui concerne la géométrie des pores et les phénomènes hydrodynamiques et de transport. Le modèle géométrique est principalement basé sur la définition de paramètres à l'échelle microscopique, à partir de l'observation de lames minces (par exemple largeur des pores, extension et orientation). Le modèle est constitué de 3 domaines: 1) les brèches de faille sont représentées par un système de plaques d'orientation et d'épaisseur variable, les plaques étant constituées d'un milieu poreux, 2) les roches mylonitiques sont décrites par un réseau de fractures très anisotropique (pores de silicates en feuillets), 3) les gneiss granodioritiques entourant la zone de cisaillement sont représentés par un réseau de fractures modérément anisotropique (pores aux limites des grains). Entre ces 3 domaines, les pores sont interconnectés. Ce modèle géométrique à petite échelle peut être extrapolé à plus grande échelle au moyen de techniques courantes de traitement des moyennes. On a examiné dans chacun des domaines l'importance relative du transport par advection, dispersion et diffusion. On pense que dans les brèches de faille la dispersion mécanique et l'advection sont prépondérantes, tandis que dans les deux autres domaines, la diffusion moléculaire joue le rôle principal. La zone de cisaillement utilisée pour les essais de migration peut donc être décrite par un modèle de transport à double porosité.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs