Search

Technical Report NTB 91-02

Grimsel Test Site Ventilation test In-situ-Experiment for Determination of Permeability in Crystalline Rock

Download

Details

The Ventilation Test is an in situ test aimed at determining the mean permeability – macropermeability – of a hydrogeologically representative underground rock volume with relatively low water inflow rates.

Measurements are made of the natural rate of water inflow and hydraulic head distribution in the near vicinity of a defined section of the drift, taking care not to interfere with the flow conditions in the adjoining rock by drilling numerous exploratory boreholes. The parameters required for the hydraulic evaluation of the rock section under investigation are determined by means of structural geological mapping of the drift surface taking into consideration the exploratory boreholes in the remaining drift system.

In order to define the large-scale permeability of the crystalline rock, a test drift 70 m long at the Grimsel Test Site was separated into two measuring chambers and water inflow was measured under alternating ventilation and climatic conditions.

The hydraulic gradient, which is also required for permeability calculations, was obtained through pressure measurements in two observation boreholes located parallel to the drift.

With the aid of borehole tests and petrophysical laboratory investigations, further procedures were employed in order to determine the permeability, the aim being to verify the results from the ventilation test.

In addition, the hydraulic flow field was analysed by numerical modelling based on the measure data obtained.

This report describes the tests performed from 1985 to 1990 (phases 1 and 2) and the corresponding test procedures. On the basis of the measured values obtained in situ, a site-specific flow model is being developed for the jointed crystalline rock in the ventilation test area of the Grimsel Test Site.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 91-02

Grimsel Test Site Ventilation test In-situ-Experiment for Determination of Permeability in Crystalline Rock

Télécharger

Détails

Le test de ventilation est un essai in situ visant à déterminer la perméabilité moyenne – macroperméabilité – d'une section de roche souterraine, représentative au niveau de l'hydrogéologie et présentant un afflux relativement faible.

On mesure le débit d'eau naturelle et la répartition de la pression dans le champ proche d'une section isolée de galerie, en veillant à ce que les forages de reconnaissance ne perturbent pas les conditions d'écoulement prévalant dans la roche avoisinante. Les paramètres nécessaires à l'évaluation hydraulique de la section rocheuse à étudier sont obtenus par la cartographie géologique (géologie structurale) de la surface de la galerie.

Pour définir la perméabilité à grande échelle du cristallin, on a construit dans le laboratoire souterrain du Grimsel une galerie de 70 mètres de long, comprenant deux chambres de mesure, et mesuré l'afflux d'eau dans différentes conditions climatiques et de ventilation.

Le gradient hydraulique, nécessaire aussi pour calculer la perméabilité de la roche, a été obtenu en mesurant la pression dans deux forages d'observation parallèles à la galerie.

Des tests de forage et des analyses pétrophysiques en laboratoire ont permis de recourir à d'autres méthodes pour déterminer les coefficients de perméabilité, l'objectif consistant à confirmer les résultats du test de ventilation.

En outre, on a analysé le champ d'écoulement hydraulique par modélisation numérique, sur la base des données de mesure obtenues.

Ce rapport décrit les tests réalisés de 1985 à 1990 (phases 1 et 2) et les méthodes correspondantes. Sur la base des valeurs mesurées obtenues sur le terrain, on a mis au point un modèle d'écoulement spécifique au site pour le massif cristallin faillé.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs