Search

Technical Report NTB 91-01

GRIMSEL TEST SITE FRACTURE SYSTEM FLOW TEST

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 60.00
  • hard copy, German
    CHF 60.00

Download

Details

Studies are being conducted in the Grimsel rock laboratory on the hydrogeological, rockmechanical, geophysical, and geochemical properties of crystalline rocks within the scope of a German-Swiss joint cooperation project between the Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle (Nagra; Swiss National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Wastes), the Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe (BGR; Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources), and the Gesellschaft fur Strahlen- und Umweltforschung (GSF; Society for Radiation and Environmental Research). In-situ tests and numerical model calculations are carried out by the BGR within the "Fracture System Flow Test ll project (BK) to investigate the significance of flow and transport processes in fissured rock.

After core drilling, project phase BK I (until 1987) focused on the geological investigation and hydrogeological assessment of the fracture systems encountered in the granite. When the flow testing equipment had been set up, tests with a duration of a few hours or days were conducted. Based on improvements in the test equipment, the tests in phase BK II (until 1990) were extended to several weeks and months. This report deals primarily with the results of project phase II, during which 100 in-situ tests were carried out.

The principle of the Fracture System Flow Test is primarily to determine the hydraulic conditions at several observation points distributed spatially in the section of rock mass selected for the test. Specially developed probes are installed in the boreholes to monitor pressure, temperature, and electrical resistivity. This data is digitized by the computer within the probe before being sent to the main computer outside the borehole. The original binary data is converted into ASCII and is stored in an archive.

A detailed knowledge of the main hydraulic connecting paths is used for three-dimensional model calculations in which the rock is represented as a discontinuum of joint systems and not as a homogeneous continuum. Simplified analytical and numerical calculations are made to determine mass transport and hydraulic parameters. It was found, however, that homogeneous modelling of the rock mass yields only an approximation, because the flow processes are obviously influenced by channels and because in long-term tests, two zones of lamprophyre become evident as hydraulic barriers.

For the preliminary three-dimensional model calculations, the DURST finite-element program system, developed within the scope of the project, has proved itself for simulating flow and mass transport processes. Versions for PCs and mainframe computers are available; the program is being extended to simulate multiphase flow. It is used internationally under the name ROCKFLOW.

This report was prepared within the scope of the research project "Bohrlochkranzversuch (Fracture System Flow Test)" which is financed by the Federal Ministry of Research and Technology (Project no. KWA 53045).

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 91-01

GRIMSEL TEST SITE FRACTURE SYSTEM FLOW TEST

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    60,00 CHF
  • version papier, allemand
    60,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Une collaboration allemande-suisse entre la Société coopérative nationale pour l'entreposage des déchets radioactifs (Nagra), la «Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe» (BGR, institut fédéral des sciences de la terre et des ressources naturelles) et la «Gesellschaft für Strahlen- und Umweltforschung» (GSF, société de recherches sur les rayonnements et l'environnement) a été mise sur pied pour effectuer au laboratoire souterrain du Grimsel des travaux de recherche sur le comportement hydrogéologique, mécanique et géophysique des roches cristallines. En particulier, dans le cadre du projet «Bohrlochkranzversuch» (BK), la BGR étudie les phénomènes d'écoulement et de transport en roche fissurée.

Dans la première phase du projet BK (BK I, jusqu'en 1987), on s'est attaché à la réalisation des forages carottés disposés en éventail à partir de galeries, à leur lever géologique et à l'interprétation hydrogéologique des systèmes fissurés d'un ensemble granitique choisi. Après l'installation d'un dispositif de mesure ad hoc, on a effectué une série d'essais hydrauliques de quelques heures à un jour de durée chacun. Au cours de la deuxième phase du projet (BK II, jusqu'en 1990), on a effectué, après avoir développé le dispositif de mesure, des essais hydrauliques d'une durée de quelques semaines à plusieurs mois. Le présent rapport décrit pour la plupart des résultats de cette dernière phase, au cours de laquelle on a effectué plus de 100 essais in situ.

Le principe des essais en éventail ("Bohrlochkranzversuch") consiste à recueillir la réaction d'une portion de roche donnée à une impulsion, en un nombre aussi grand que possible de points. Pour cela, on a installé dans les forages des sondes développées à cet effet, capables d'enregistrer en continu la pression, la température et la conductibilité électrique de l'eau dans les intervalles d'observation. Les données sont digitalisées et enregistrées sur place par un ordinateur central, qui traduit le code binaire initial en code ASCII pour l'archivage et le traitement des informations.

La connaissance précise des principales voies d'écoulement hydraulique sert de base à l'élaboration d'un modèle de calcul tridimensionnel, traitant le massif non pas comme un continuum, mais comme un milieu discontinu qui est constitué d'un réseau de diaclases. L'analyse des essais consiste à définir les paramètres qui décrivent le transport hydraulique et le transport de matière. Elle s'est d'abord effectuée par des calculs analytiques et numériques simplifiés. Toutefois, il s'est avéré que le traitement du massif comme un milieu homogène ne peut se faire qu'au prix de restrictions importantes, car le comportement hydraulique est visiblement influencé par des chenaux d'écoulement, et des limites hydrauliques, correspondant à deux zones de schistosité, se font sentir lors des essais de longue durée.

Pour le traitement tridimensionnel du massif, on a développé dans le cadre de ce projet le code à éléments finis DURST, qui s'est avéré tout à fait capable de simuler les processus de transport d'eau et de matière. Il en existe une version pour gros ordinateur et une version pour PC. Ce code a fait l'objet d'une extension pour la simulation des écoulements polyphasiques, et a été diffusé sur le plan international sous le label ROCKFLOW.

Le présent rapport fait partie du projet de recherche «Bohrlochkranzversuch» (référence KWA 53045), financé par le Ministère allemand pour la recherche et la technologie («Bundesministerium für Forschung und Technologie»).

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs