Search

Technical Report NTB 90-43

Stripa Project Site characterization and validation borehole radar investigations, Stage III

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The borehole radar investigation program Stage III of the SCV-site has comprised single hole reflection measurements with centre frequencies of 22 and 60 MHz. Single hole reflection measurement with both omnidirectional and directional antennas have been performed in the boreholes C1, C2, C3 and the D-holes (D1 – D6). Crosshole tomographic measurements as well as crosshole reflection measurements have been made between the boreholes C1 – C2, W1 – C1 and W1 – C2. The range obtained in the single hole reflection measurements was approximately 100 m for the lower frequency (22 MHz) and about 60 – 70 m for the centre frequency 60 MHz. In the crosshole measurements transmitter-receiver separations from 20 to 120 m have been used.

The Stage III radar investigations have essentially confirmed the three dimensional description of the structures at the SCV-site. The conceptual model of the site which was produced based on the Stage I data included three major zones (GA, GB, and GH), two minor zones (GC and GI) and a circular feature (RQ). The major features are considered to be the most significant at the site and are all observed in the Stage III boreholes close to their predicted locations. The circular feature RQ has also been found in two of the additional tomograms at the predicted location. RQ is seen as a ring shaped feature in the attenuation tomograms and as a single spot anomaly in the slowness tomogram.

The results indicate that the zones are not homogeneous but rather that they are highly irregular containing parts of considerably increased fracturing and parts where their contrast to the background rock is quite small. The zones appear to be approximately planar at least at the scale of the site. At a smaller scale the zones can appear quite irregular.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-43

Stripa Project Site characterization and validation borehole radar investigations, Stage III

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Le programme de recherche par radar en trou de forage de la phase III sur le site SCV comprenait des mesures de réflexion à partir de forages uniques, avec des fréquences centrales de 22 et 60 MHz. De telles mesures ont été réalisées avec des antennes tous azimuts ainsi qu'avec des antennes directionnelles dans les forages C1, C2, C3 et D (D1 – D6). Des tomographies entre forages ainsi que des mesures par réflexion entre forages ont été réalisées entre les forages C1 – C2, W1 – C1 et W1 – C2. La portée obtenue lors des mesures par réflexion en forage unique a été de 100 m approximativement pour la fréquence la plus basse (22 MHz) et de 60 – 70 m pour la fréquence centrale de 60 MHz. Pour les mesures entre forages des distances de 20 à 120 m entre émetteur et récepteur ont été utilisées.

Les investigations par radar de la phase III ont pour l'essentiel confirmé la description spatiale des structures du site SCV. Le modèle conceptuel du site, élaboré sur la base des données obtenues lors de la phase l, comprenait trois zones majeures (GA, GB et GH), deux zones mineures (GC et GI) et un élément circulaire (RQ). Les éléments majeurs sont considérés comme les plus significatifs du site et ont tous été observés à proximité des locations prédites par les forages de la phase III. L'élément circulaire a lui aussi été trouvé par deux des tomogrammes additionnels à l'endroit prédit. RQ est identifié comme un élément annulaire par le tomogramme d'atténuation et comme une anomalie ponctuelle unique par le tomogramme de ralentissement.

Les résultats montrent que les zones ne sont pas homogènes mais qu'elles sont au contraire très irrégulières, présentant des parties fortement fracturées et d'autres dont le contraste avec les roches environnantes est très faible. Les zones, à l'échelle du site du moins, apparaissent comme approximativement planes. A plus faible échelle ces zones peuvent apparaître comme très irrégulières.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs