Search

Technical Report NTB 90-33

Poços de Caldas Report No. 15 Summary and implications for radioactive waste management

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

This report provides an overview of the Poços de Caldas natural analogue study, aspects of which have been described in detail in the previous 14 reports of this series.

The first part of this report provides the historical background to the project, describes the research programme developed at the Osamu Utsumi and Morro do Ferro sites and summarises the main findings of the geological, hydrologic and geochemical characterisation work.

This is followed by reviews of the four analogue sub-projects – testing geochemical models of trace element solubility and speciation, evaluation of models of redox front development and movement, examining the role of natural colloids as a vector for transport of trace elements and appraisal of a modelling approach to quantifying hydrothermal alteration and solute transport processes.

Finally, the direct implications of the project to radioactive waste management are discussed along with some valuable spin-off which was identified. Such a large multidisciplinary study proved a very valuable focus for forging contacts between specialists – from different disciplines in a manner closely analogous to that required for an integrated site assessment. The iterative development of the modellers' wish lists and the field/lab analytical programme was a key to the success of this Project and provides guidelines for site-specific performance assessment.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-33

Poços de Caldas Report No. 15 Summary and implications for radioactive waste management

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Ce rapport présente une vue générale des études effectuées au site d'analogies naturelles de Poços de Caldas. Ces études sont décrites dans les 14 premiers rapports de la présente série.

Dans sa première partie, ce rapport présente un historique du projet, décrit le programme des recherches entreprises sur les sites de Osamu Utsumi et de Morro do Ferro, et résume les principaux résultats des travaux géologiques, hydrologiques et géochimiques.

Ensuite, il passe en revue les quatre sous-projets d'analogies naturelles, à savoir le contrôle de modèles géochimiques sur la solubilité et la spéciation d'éléments trace, l'évaluation de modèles sur le développement et le déplacement de fronts redox, l'examen du rôle joué par des colloïdes naturels comme vecteur de transport d'éléments trace, et le bien-fondé d'une approche par modèles pour la quantification de l'altération hydrothermale et des processus de transport de soluté.

Enfin, le rapport examine les implications directes du projet pour la gestion des déchets radioactifs, et commente quelques voies nouvelles identifiées. Une étude multidisciplinaire d'aussi grande envergure s'est avérée extrêmement utile pour développer des contacts entre spécialistes de différentes disciplines, de manière semblable à ce qui devrait se faire pour la qualification intégrée d'un site. La réalisation itérative des souhaits des modéliseurs et du programme analytique sur le terrain et en laboratoire fut une clé du succès de ce projet et peut servir de guide pour la définition du processus d'évaluation d'un site particulier.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs