Search

Technical Report NTB 90-30

Poços de Caldas Report No. 12 Testing models of redox front migration and geochemistry at the Osamu Utsumi mine and Morro do Ferro analogue study sites, Poços de Caldas, Brazil

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Redox fronts occur at a number of locations in repository systems and models have been established to describe their chemical evolution and spatial development. Such models can be tested against detailed observations of the well-developed redox fronts at the Osamu Utsumi mine.

Simple scoping calculations can explain the formation of redox fronts in very general terms but greatly simplify the processes known to be occurring at such fronts. Coupled transport / chemistry models can provide a better simulation of the fronts, but these are primarily interpretative models which have not yet displayed any convincing predictive abilities. They tend to be rather poor, in particular, in simulating trace element chemistry in either solution or solid phases.

Interpretative modelling of microbial activity, natural series profiles and trace element distributions gives strong indications of the reasons for the limitations of the chemical modelling. The role of microbial catalysis seems to be very significant in such systems, particularly affecting the redox chemistry of sulphur. Natural series measurements indicate very slow redox front movement at particular sites which could be due to precipitation processes limiting accessible porosity, a point not considered in any of the models. Finally, the trace element distributions strongly suggest immobilisation of many elements as co-precipitates or solid solutions in secondary iron minerals, again a process not considered by current models.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-30

Poços de Caldas Report No. 12 Testing models of redox front migration and geochemistry at the Osamu Utsumi mine and Morro do Ferro analogue study sites, Poços de Caldas, Brazil

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Des fronts redox peuvent se présenter en de nombreux endroits dans les systèmes de dépôt en milieu rocheux, et des modèles ont été développés pour décrire leur évolution chimique et spatiale. On peut contrôler de tels modèles au moyen des observations détaillées faites sur les fronts redox bien développés à la mine d'uranium d'Osamu Utsumi.

Des calculs simples peuvent expliquer en termes très généraux la formation de fronts redox, mais ils simplifient à outrance les processus se déroulant sur de tels fronts. Des modèles couplés transport/chimisme peuvent fournir une simulation meilleure des fronts, mais il s'agit en premier lieu de modèles interprétatifs qui n'ont pas encore atteint une capacité prédictionelle convaincante. En particulier, ils se montrent plutôt inaptes à simuler le chimisme des éléments trace, que ce soit en phase solide ou dissoute.

La modélisation interprétative de l'activité microbienne, des profils de séries naturelles et de distribution des éléments trace fournissent de fortes indications des limitations de la modélisation chimique. Il semble que la catalyse microbienne joue un rôle très significatif dans les systèmes redox, agissant particulièrement sur la chimie redox des sulfures. Les mesures de séries naturelles indiquent que le mouvement des fronts redox est très lent à certains endroits. Ceci pourrait être dû à des processus de précipitation limitant l'accès à la porosité ouverte. Cet aspect n'a été pris en compte dans aucun des modèles. Les distributions des éléments trace, enfin, suggèrent fortement que de nombreux éléments sont immobilisés sous forme de co-précipitats ou de solutions solides dans les minéraux secondaires du fer. Ce processus n'a pas non plus été pris en compte dans les modèles utilisés.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs