Search

Technical Report NTB 90-21

Pogos de Caldas Report No.3 Mineralogy, petrology and geochemistry of the Poços de Caldas analogue study sites, Minas Gerais, Brazil.

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The thorium-rare-earth element (Th-REE) deposit at Morro do Ferro is of supergene origin and was formed under lateritic weathering conditions. The ore body forms shallow NW-SE elongated argillaceous lenses that extend from the top of the hill downwards along its south-eastern slope. The deposit is capped by a stock work of magnetite veins which have protected the underlying, highly weathered argillaceous host rock from excessive erosion. The surrounding country rocks comprise a sequence of subvolcanic phonolite intrusions that have been strongly altered by hydrothermal and supergene processes.

From petrological, mineralogical and geochemical studies and mass balance calculations, it is inferred that the highly weathered host rock was originally carbonatitic in composition and was initially enhanced in thorium and rare-earth elements compared to the surrounding silicate rocks. Intrusion of the carbonatite produced a fenitic alteration of the surrounding phonolites, consisting of an early potassic alteration followed by a vein-type Th-REE mineralization with associated fluorite, carbonate, pyrite and zircon. Subsequent lateritic weathering has completely destroyed the carbonatite, forming a residual supergene enrichment of Th and REEs.

Initial weathering of the carbonatite leading to solutions enriched in carbonate and phosphate may have appreciably restricted the dissolution of the primary Th-REE phases. Strongly oxidic weathering has resulted in a fractionation between cerium and the other light rare-earth elements (LREEs). Ce3+ is oxidized to Ce4+ and retained together with thorium by secondary mineral formation and adsorption on poorly crystalline iron­ and aluminium-hydroxides. In contrast, the trivalent LREEs are retained to a lesser degree and are thus more available for secondary mineral formation and adsorption at greater depths down the weathering column. Seasonally controlled fluctuations of recharge waters into the weathering column may help to explain the observed repetition of Th-Ce enriched zones underlain by trivalent LREE enriched zones.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-21

Pogos de Caldas Report No.3 Mineralogy, petrology and geochemistry of the Poços de Caldas analogue study sites, Minas Gerais, Brazil.

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Le dépôt de thorium et terres rares (Th-TRs) de Morro do Ferro est d'origine secondaire; il a été formé sous des conditions d'altération latéritique. Le minerai forme un corps composé de lentilles argileuses peu profondes, allongées NW-SE, descendant du sommet de la colline le long de son versant SE. Le dépôt est coiffé d'un réseau de veines de magnétite qui a protégé d'une érosion excessive la roche d'accueil argileuse et fortement altérée. La roche avoisinante est constituée d'une séquence d'intrusions de phonolite subvolcanique, fortement altérée par des processus de nature hydrothermale et secondaire.

Les analyses pétrographiques, minéralogiques et géochimiques, ainsi que les bilans de masse, indiquent que la roche d'accueil fortement altérée était à l'origine une carbonatite, riche en Th-TRs par rapport aux roches silicatées voisines. L'intrusion de la carbonatite a produit à son contact une fénitisation des phonolites, à savoir une altération potassique suivie d'une minéralisation de Th-TRs en veines, accompagnés de fluorite, carbonates, pyrite et zircons. L'altération latéritique a ensuite complètement détruit la carbonatite, formant un enrichissement résiduel secondaire de Th-TRs.

La première altération de la carbonatite produisant des solutions enrichies en carbonates et phosphates a pu réduire notablement la dissolution des phases primaires de Th-TRs. Une altération très oxydante a conduit au fractionnement entre le cérium et les autres terres rares légères (TRLs); le Ce3+ est oxydé en Ce4+ et retenu avec Th dans la formation de minéraux secondaires et dans l'adsorption sur les hydroxydes de fer et d'aluminium mal cristallisés. En revanche, les TRLs trivalentes sont retenues à un moindre degré et donc plus disponibles pour la formation de minéraux secondaires et pour l'adsorption à des profondeurs plus grandes dans le profil d'altération. Des fluctuations saisonnières des eaux de recharge pourraient expliquer dans ce profil la répétition de zones enrichies en Th-Ce surmontant de zones enrichies en TRLs trivalentes.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs