Search

Technical Report NTB 90-16

Experimental proposals for procedures to investigate the water chemistry, sorption and transport properties of marl

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The aim of this report is to describe a framework within which laboratory studies on groundwater chemistry, sorption and transport properties might be conducted on samples from rock formations being considered as potential "host rocks" for the disposal of radioactive waste. Here, Valanginian marl has been taken as a specific example, but the general principles should be applicable to other systems.

Some brief notes are given on sampling and handling procedures and mineralogical characterisation. This is followed by a detailed discussion of the procedures considered necessary to determine a groundwater chemistry of a specific rock matrix. The methods described are particularly appropriate to rocks such as marl, i.e. low water content rocks (essentially "dry") with appreciable clay and carbonate contents. An important conclusion drawn is that simple aqueous phase extractions at different liquid to solid ratios, followed by extrapolation procedures, are not always appropriate and can lead to incorrect water compositions.

Some of the uncertainties and difficulties inherently involved in determining sorption parameters from batch, infiltration and diffusion based methods are presented. These methods are then individually discussed in greater detail with some illustrative examples.

In the relatively few studies where sorption has been measured in crushed rock tests and compared with the results from intact rock experiments, it is often found that there are discrepancies. An outline for an experiment is described in which results from the two types of test could be quantitatively related to one another via cation exchange capacity measurements. Using this method it might be possible to explain the reasons for such discrepancies.

Finally, a brief discussion is given on the possible consequences for experimental studies of gas in Valanginian marl and the swelling of the clay rich components.

The authors would like to point out that the opinions, ideas and concepts put forward in this report represent their views at a certain point in time (October 1989) before the experimental programme on marl was fully underway. Practical experience will ultimately be the judge of the contents of this work. Even if some of the ideas are later shown to be in error, this exercise is nevertheless considered to have been useful since it has provided a background to the experimental work and a framework upon which future developments can be built.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-16

Experimental proposals for procedures to investigate the water chemistry, sorption and transport properties of marl

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Le but de ce rapport est de décrire le cadre des études de laboratoire sur la chimie de l'eau interstielle d'une formation rocheuse, sur la sorption et sur les propriétés de transport des nucléides dans cette formation. Ces études peuvent être conduites sur des échantillons des formations géologiques considérées comme candidates potentielles pour le stockage définitif des déchets radioactifs. Ici, la marne de Valanginien a été choisie comme exemple spécifique, mais les principes généraux devraient être applicables aux autres systèmes.

Quelques brèves notes sont données sur les procédures d'échantillonnage, de traitement et sur la caractérisation minéralogique. Suit une discussion détaillée des procédures nécessaires à la détermination de la chimie de l'eau imprégnant une matrice rocheuse spécifique. Les méthodes décrites sont particulièrement appropriées à des formations telles que les marnes, c.-à-d. des roches à faible contenance en eau (essentiellement sèches) avec une teneur appréciable en argile et carbonates. Les auteurs sont d'avis que l'extrapolation linéaire aux conditions in situ (proportion eau/roche correspondant à la porosité) des résultats expérimentaux obtenus à partir des équilibrations entre eau distillée et roche pour diverses proportions entre liquide et solide, ne sont pas toujours appropriées et peuvent conduire à des compositions incorrectes de l'eau interstielle.

Plusieurs des incertitudes et difficultés inhérentes à la détermination des paramètres de sorption basés sur des méthodes de batch, d'infiltration et de diffusion sont présentées. Ces méthodes sont alors discutées individuellement plus en détail à l'aide d'exemples descriptifs.

Dans les quelques études où la sorption a été mesurée dans des roches broyées et comparées avec les résultats expérimentaux obtenus à partir de roches intactes, on a souvent trouvé des écarts. Une procédure d'expérimentation est décrite dans laquelle les résultats des deux types de test peuvent être comparés entre eux au moyen de la mesure de capacité d'échange cationiques. En utilisant cette méthode il peut être possible d'expliquer les raisons de ces écarts.

Finalement, une brève discussion est faite sur les conséquences possibles pour des études expérimentales dans le cas de gaz inclus dans la marne de Valanginien et pour le gonflement des composants riches en argile.

Les auteurs aimeraient exprimer que les opinions, idées et concepts de ce rapport représentent leur vues à une certaine période (octobre 1989) avant que le programme expérimental sur les marne soit complètement en route. L'expérience pratique permettra finalement de juger le contenu de ce travail. Même si quelques-unes de ces idées se révèlent fausses, cette étude est néanmoins utile car elle aura fourni un cadre à un travail expérimental, et une base pour de futurs développements.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs