Search

Technical Report NTB 90-07

Grimsel Test Site Geophysical methods for the detection of discontinuities ahead of a tunnel face (out of print)

Download

Details

In 1988 NAGRA started a research and development program at Grimsel Test Site (GTS) to investigate the potential of geophysical remote sensing methods (radar and seismics) to predict discontinuities ahead of the tunnel face.

This task was initiated as an attempt to provide a more complete knowledge of the rockmass for a safe construction of a tunnel. If we can tell in advance where the main fracture zones are to be encountered during excavations, the safety risks as well costs of tunneling will be greatly reduced.

A number of practical goals were set to guide the studies and experiments during the project:

  • The measurements should be performed during breaks of the normal construction operation. No additional stand-by times should result for construction work.
  • The investigation depth should be in the order of at least 100 m to allow enough time for data processing and interpretation before the tunnel arrives at the located discontinuities.
  • The preparation for the measurements should not interrupt or interfere with the construction work.
  • The method should be applicable for conventional drill and blast techniques as well as for full face drilling operations

The first investigations were done using a subset from an existing data base, obtained from both radar and seismic experiments, originally recorded for a tomography project at GTS. Although the data recording, station spacing etc. were optimized for the tomographic application and far from ideal for a reflection survey, it was possible to reach some meaningful results. Reflection events were identified which could be attributed to known fracture zones and lamprophyre dykes.

Radar measurements give good results in rocks with high electrical resistance (e.g. granite, rock salt) but have a very limited investigation depth in materials with lower resistance (e.g. marls, clays). NAGRA's near future interests being focused on measurements in sediments and considering the results of the first tests, we decided to concentrate our efforts on seismics rather than radar.

After discussions with several experts, it was agreed that in this case the most adequate approach for the seismic measurements is a modified "Vertical Seismic Profiling (VSP)" technique which is well known in borehole geophysics. A more suggestive name could have been, for example, "Horizontal Tunnel Profiling" but as we liberally refer to routines developed initially for boreholes, we prefer to conserve the generic name of VSP. For a more objective evaluation of the results, conventional seismic measurements along the tunnel were also recommended.

Theoretical calculations (FD-modeling) were done to determine the optimal test layout. This study showed that, ideally, the source and the receivers should be placed at a certain distance (several meters) away from the tunnel wall. In practice this is hardly possible as it would require many boreholes to be drilled radially from the tunnel. The best compromise between theoretical and operational aspects is to place the source into a side wall drillhole at a minimum distance of about 4 m from the tunnel wall and to attach the receivers directly to the tunnel wall. In this case we expect to reduce the tunnel wave and still achieve a realistic operational time. However, as the measurements at GTS were primarily a scientific experiment, we decided not to measure only the most promising layout according to the theory, but to proceed with different test configurations to prove the validity of the theoretical results optimize the operational routine.

The following VSP configurations were tested:

  1. Receiver chain with 7 receivers in a radial borehole and a sledge hammer as the source. The shot points were placed along the tunnel with a spacing of 0.7 m.
  2. Receiver chain with 7 receivers in a radial borehole and small explosives as the source. The shot points were placed along the tunnel with a spacing of 0.7 m. The shots were fired in small holes (l= 400 mm, Φ=14 mm).
  3. Explosives in the radial borehole and receivers along the tunnel. The receiver spacing was 0.7 m.

Additionally to the VSP-type measurements we measured a conventional reflection seismic profile along the tunnel by shooting through the array. Shotpoint and receiver spacings were 0.7 m with an offset between shot and receiver of 0.35 m, leading to a CDP (Common Depth Point) spacing of 0.35 m.

The raw sections of all records showed only very weak reflections. This was caused by the very low reflectivity of the fracture zones at GTS, if compared with surveys conducted in layered sediments. Accordingly, the processing consisted of a relatively large number of steps which are not discussed in this paper in detail. In general, the direct P- and S-waves as well as the reflected S-waves were suppressed by using a median filter while the remaining P- reflections were enhanced by Image Point filtering, a method based on the generalized Radon transform developed by C. Cosma and his collaborators at Vibrometric.

A large effort has been put for the completion of this project in the development of routines for translating the geophysical results into a reliable and unambiguous geological picture. Due to the many experiments carried out previously at Grimsel Test Site (GTS), we had the possibility to compare in different phases the geophysical predictions expressed in terms of geological structure with the exhaustive information available. The agreement between predicted and real location was excellent. We were able to detect discontinuities up to distances of about 150 m.

The conventional reflection section was processed using standard seismic processing routines. Due to the weak source (sledge hammer) the investigation depth was in the order of about 40 m. Within this area a number of reflectors (mainly lamprophyre dykes) were detected. Additionally we got good reflections from a nearby tunnel. Although this test was successful we consider the VSP configuration as the better layout for the prediction measurements.

As a trial of the method in a realistic environment, VSP measurements were conducted in August 1990 in the Leissigen tunnel (a road tunnel in the canton of Bern), which was under construction at the time of the test. The processing sequences tested in earlier experiments were used. Although the circumstances were more complicated and the field conditions more difficult than in GTS, the predictions coincided well with the geological structures known or supposed to exist at the tunnel site.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 90-07

Grimsel Test Site Geophysical methods for the detection of discontinuities ahead of a tunnel face (out of print)

Télécharger

Détails

En 1988, la Cédra a entamé au Site d'Éssai du Grimsel (GTS) un programme de recherche et de développement sur les possibilités de prédiction de discontinuités, au-delà du front d'un tunnel, par des méthodes géophysiques (techniques radar et sismiques).

Ce programme a pour objectif d'accroître les connaissances préalables de la masse rocheuse, pour garantir une sécurité suffisante lors de la construction d'un tunnel. En effet, les risques encourrus aussi bien que les coûts consentis seront grandement réduits s'il est possible de détecter à l'avance les principales zones de failles que le tunnel va recouper.

Les études et les essais ont été définis en fonction d'un certain nombre de buts pratiques:

  • les mesures doivent pouvoir s'insérer pendant les interruptions du cours normal des opérations. Elles ne devraient pas occasionner une augmentation des temps morts lors des travaux de construction.
  • la profondeur de pénétration des investigations devrait être d'au moins 100 m environ, afin que le traitement des données et leur interprétation puisse se faire avant que le tunnel ne recoupe les discontinuités identifiées.
  • la préparation des mesures ne devrait pas interrompre ou gêner les travaux de construction.
  • la méthode doit être applicable aussi bien aux techniques d'avancement conventionnelles qu'à celles mettant en oeuvre un tunnelier de pleine section.

Les premières investigations se basent sur la banque de données existante du GTS, elles utilisent à la fois des données d'essais radar et des données sismiques récoltées lors d'un projet de tomographie. Bien que le dispositif et le mode d'acquisition des données aient alors été dimensionnés pour une application tomographique et que les données soient loin d'être idéales pour une étude de sismique réflection, il a été possible d'obtenir quelques résultats significatifs. On a pu attribuer certains des réflecteurs identifiés à des zones de failles et des filons de lamprophyres connus.

Les mesures radar ont donné de bons résultats dans les roches à haute résistivité électrique comme le granite ou le sel gemme, mais possèdent une profondeur de pénétration trop faible dans les roches électriquement conductrices comme les marnes et argiles. Les travaux de la Cédra portant principalement sur les roches sédimentaires au cours des prochaines années, nous avons décidé, au vu des premiers résultats, de concentrer nos efforts sur les méthodes sismiques plutôt que sur les méthodes radar.

A la suite de discussions avec plusieurs experts, il est ressorti que l'approche la plus appropriée, dans notre cas, serait un "Profil Sismique Vertical" (VSP) modifié, une technique bien connue dans la géophysique de forage. Dans notre cas, il aurait été plus suggestif d'appeler cette méthode "Profil Horizontal de Tunnel", mais puisque nous nous référons à des méthodes développées pour des forages, nous conserverons le nom de VSP. Pour une évaluation plus objective des résultats, on recommande d'effectuer également des mesures sismiques conventionnelles le long du tunnel.

L'optimisation du dispositif de test a été faite par des calculs théoriques (modèle à différences finies). Elle montre que dans un cas idéal la source et les récepteurs devraient être placés à une certaine distance des parois du tunnel. En pratique, ce n'est guère possible, car cela nécessiterait plusieurs forages disposés radialement par rapport à l'axe du tunnel. Le meilleur compromis entre l'optimisation théorique et les contraintes pratiques consiste à placer la source dans un forage radial à une distance d'au moins 4 m de la paroi du tunnel, et de placer les récepteurs directement sur cette dernière. Avec un tel dispositif, on pense réduire l'onde de surface du tunnel tout en maintenant une durée de mesures raisonnable. Toutefois, comme les mesures au GTS consistaient à expérimenter une méthodologie, on ne s'est pas contenté de tester le dispositif le plus prometteur en théorie. On a également testé d'autres configurations, pour confirmer la validité des résultats théoriques et optimiser le procédé opérationnel.

On a testé les configurations VSP suivantes:

  1. Chaîne de 7 récepteurs dans un forage radial et marteau manuel comme source. Les points de tir ont été placés le long du tunnel et espacés de 0.7 m.
  2. Chaîne de 7 récepteurs dans un forage radial et petits explosifs comme source. Les points de tir ont été placés le long du tunnel et espacés de 0.7 m. Les charges explosives étaient placées dans de petits trous (l= 400 mm, Φ=14 mm).
  3. Explosifs comme source dans le forage radial et récepteurs le long du tunnel, espacés de 0.7 m.

En plus des mesures de type VSP, on a effectué un profil sismique conventionnel le long du tunnel, avec tirs sur la ligne de mesures (array). Les points de tir et les récepteurs étaient disposés avec un espacement respectif de 0.7 m, avec un décalage (offset) de 0.35 m entre le point de tir et le récepteur, correspondant à une distance entre des positions miroir ("Common Depth Point") de 0.35 m. Les sections brutes de tous les enregistrements n'ont révélé que de faibles réflections. Ceci est dû à la réflectibilité très faible des zones de failles au GTS, comparée à celle de sédiments stratifiés. En conséquence, le traitement a nécessité un grand nombre de paliers qui ne sont pas discutés en détail dans cet article. En général, les ondes directes P et S ainsi que les ondes S réfléchies ont été supprimées en utilisant un filtre bidimensionnel (median filter), tandis que les réflections P restantes ont été réhaussées par un filtrage spécial (Image Point Filtering), une méthode basée sur les transformations généralisées de Radon et développée par C. Cosma et ses collaborateurs à la société Vibrometric.

Pour clore ce projet, on a investi un grand effort dans le développement de techniques de transformation des résultats géophysiques en une image géologique non ambiguë et fiable. Les nombreuses études effectuées préalablement au GTS nous ont permis de comparer, au cours des différentes étapes du travail, nos prédictions géophysiques formulées en termes de structures avec l'information exhaustive disponible. On a constaté un excellent accord entre la localisation des structures prédites et celle des structures réelles. Nous avons pu identifier les discontinuités jusqu'à des distances d'environ 150 m.

La section de réflection conventionnelle a été établie en utilisant les procédures de traitement sismique standard. La profondeur d'investigation se situait aux alentours de 40 m seulement, à cause de la faible intensité du signal source (marteau manuel). Dans cet espace toutefois nous avons pu détecter un certain nombre de réflecteurs, principalement des filons de lamprophyre. De plus, nous avons obtenu de bonnes réflections d'une galerie proche. Bien que cet essai ait été couronné de succès, nous pensons que la configuration VSP représente un meilleur dispositif de mesure pour la prédiction.

Afin de tester la méthode dans un cas réel, nous avons effectué des mesures VSP dans le tunnel de Leissigen en août 1990, un tunnel routier alors en construction dans le canton de Berne. Nous avons utilisé les mêmes séquences de traitement que pour les essais antérieurs. Bien que la situation géologique et les conditions de travail aient été plus compliquées qu'au GTS, les prédictions obtenues ont bien reproduit les structures géologiques connues ou supposées sur le site du tunnel.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs