Search

Technical Report NTB 89-08

The coordination chemistry of humic substances

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00
  • hard copy, German
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Dissolved humic materials form ligands which can influence the speciation of certain radionuclides in natural waters and it is necessary to take account of this phenomenon in repository safety assessment model calculations.

In operational terms the dissolved humic materials can be subdivided into humic and fuIvic acids, both groups being poIyfunctional macromolecules with a large structural variety. The description of their solution chemistry is restricted to very simplifying models clue to the inhomogeneity of their properties.

The protolytic behaviour of humic materials is determined mainly by carboxyl- and phenolic OH-groups whose acidities are modified by substituents. A model which assumes a normal distribution of the pKa values for both acid groups would appear to have a good chemical foundation.

There are, however, no models available which give a basic description of the wide range of complexation properties of humic materials with dissolved metals and which are based on a chemically meaningful background. All of these models make very drastic simplifications and, although capable of reproducing experimental data, they do not allow any extrapolation to ranges of concentration outside those covered by the experiments.

By way of a minimal description, the humate complexes can be treated as a mixture of two to three single complexes with 1:1-stoichiometry. The stability constants and the concentrations of the individual ligands are then adjustable parameters which are dependent on the concentration conditions and are valid only for specific pH-values and ionic strengths. As there is no simple model describing the pH-dependence of complexation, most of the literature data (usually determined for low pH-values) are not in fact applicable in the case of natural waters.

Humic materials affect not only the solution chemistry of the metals but also their sorption onto minerals. The mineral surfaces are modified through adsorption of organic material which in turn aIters their sorption properties. These processes are understood in qualitative terms.

It is unlikely that a comprehensive predictive model of compIexation by humic materials will be available in the foreseeable future. It is therefore suggested that experiments which provide an empirical description of the metal/humic material interactions using realistic pH-values and metal/ligand ratios be carried out. Besides parameter studies and experiments in synthetic or formation waters, analogue studies could also serve as a useful tool.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 89-08

The coordination chemistry of humic substances

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF
  • version papier, allemand
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Les humines dissoutes représentent des ligands qui influencent la spéciation des cations dans les eaux naturelles. Les calculs sur modèle doivent tenir compte de cette influence.

Opérationnellement, les humines dissoutes sont subdivisées en acides humiques et fulviques. Ces deux groupes sont des macromolécules polyfonctionnelles d'une grande diversité structurelle. Vu qu'elles ne représentent pas de substances homogènes on ne peut décrire leur comportement chimique en solution qu'à l'aide de modèles simplifiés à l'extrême.

Le comportement de protolyse des humines est essentiellement déterminé par des groupes de carboxyles et d'hydroxyles phénoliques, dont l'acidité est modifiée par l'influence de substituants. Un modèle partant chaque fois, pour les deux groupes acides, d'une répartition normale des valeurs PKa apparaît comme étant chimiquement bien fondé.

Mais il n'existe pas de modèles donnant une description – élémentaire et en harmonie avec la réalité chimique – du comportement de ligands variés des humines. Tous les modèles procèdent à de si fortes simplifications qu'ils sont tout en fait en mesure de reproduire des données expérimentales, mais ne permettent pas d'extrapolation à des domaines de concentration que l'expérience ne couvre pas.

Dans le sens d'une description minimale, on peut traiter les complexes humiques comme le mélange de deux à trois complexes individuels, avec stœchiométrie 1:1. Les constantes de stabilité et les concentrations des ligands individuels sont des paramètres ajustables, dépendant des concentrations choisies. Elles ne s'appliquent en outre que pour certaines valeurs pH et forces ioniques. Vu que l'on ne dispose pas d'un modèle simple décrivant la dépendance du pH de la complexation, on ne peut pas appliquer – même approximativement – les données de la littérature, obtenues pour la plupart pour des pH bas, aux eaux naturelles.

Les humines influencent non seulement le comportement chimique des métaux en solution, mais aussi leur comportement de sorption sur les minéraux. Les surfaces minérales sont modifiées par l'adsorption de matériel organique et présentent alors un comportement de sorption différent. Ces processus sont compris qualitativement.

L'avenir proche ne livrera pas de modèle prévisionnel de la complexation par les humines, et l'on propose donc des expériences qui décrivent empiriquement l'interaction métal/humine pour les valeurs pH et des rapports métal/ligand réalistes. Outre les études de paramètres et les expériences dans les eaux de modèle et de site, des études d'analogie devraient aussi s'avérer utiles.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs