Search

Technical Report NTB 86-19

Chemistry of waters in the Böttstein, Weiach, Riniken, Schafisheim, Kaisten and Leuggern boreholes: A hydrochemically consistent date set

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

Chemical analyses were made on water samples taken from many intervals of the first six Nagra deep boreholes. Wittwer (1986, NTB 85-49) gives complete results of these analyses, evaluates their purity, and where possible, corrects them for contamination. This report evaluates the geochemical consistency of these analyses with formations from which the samples were extracted.

Most samples appear to have lost CO2 during collection, leading to calculated oversaturation with respect to calcite. Such samples were adjusted to calcite saturation, and the pH values, concentrations of carbonate species, and other saturation indices are given at that state.

Saturation indices were also calculated for the minerals dolomite, anhydrite, celestite, barite, fluorite, and the silica minerals quartz and chalcedony, all of which are present in one or more of the rock type samples. With a few exceptions there is consistency between the calculated saturation indices and the presence of the respective minerals. This indicates that both the analytical data on the components of the minerals and the mineral properties included in the thermochemical data base are reliable.

Oxidation potentials were calculated from the platinum electrode potential and from analyzed concentrations of members of several redox couples. pE values based on the arsenic couple and the assumption of uraninite saturation tend to be similar. The platinum electrode potential measured in some samples is also similar.

A thermochemical data base for aqueous species and minerals was developed to support the geochemical modeling performed for this report. This data base and the sources of the data chosen are included in an appendix.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 86-19

Chemistry of waters in the Böttstein, Weiach, Riniken, Schafisheim, Kaisten and Leuggern boreholes: A hydrochemically consistent date set

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    40,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

On a procédé à l'analyse chimique d'échantillons d'eau prélevés à différentes profondeurs des six premiers forages profonds de la Nagra. Wittwer (1986, NTB 85-49) fournit tous les résultats de ces analyses et évalue leur pureté; partout où cela fut possible, les analyses furent corrigées pour tenir compte de la contamination. Ce rapport a pour objet d'évaluer la parenté géochimique de ces échantillons avec les formations dont ils sont issus.

La plupart des échantillons semblent avoir perdu du CO2 lors de leur prélèvement, entraînant une surestimation de la saturation en calcite. Les analyses sont recalculées en fonction de la saturation en calcite, en conséquence les valeurs de pH, de concentration en carbonates, ainsi que les autres indices de saturation sont présentées dans l'état corrigé.

Les indices de saturation des minéraux dolomite, anhydrite, célestite, barite, fluorite, ainsi que les silicates quartz et calcédoine sont également calculés; ces minéraux se trouvent tous dans un ou plusieurs échantillons des différents types de roches. A quelques exceptions près, les indices de saturation calculés concordent avec la présence des minéraux correspondants. Cela démontre la fiabilité de la banque de données thermo-chimique constituée des données analytiques des éléments constitutifs des minéraux et de leurs propriétés minérales.

Les potentiels d'oxydation furent calculés à partir du potentiel de l'électrode de platine et des concentrations analysées de plusieurs couples rédox. Les valeurs de pE, basées sur le couple arsenic et sur l'hypothèse de la saturation en uraninite, montrent une certaine similitude; il en va de même pour le potentiel de l'électrode de platine mesuré sur quelques échantillons.

Une banque de données comprenant des substances aqueuses et minéraux fut développée dans le but de soutenir la modélisation géochimique exposée dans ce rapport. Le contenu de cette banque de données ainsi que les références des données choisies sont fournis en annexe.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs