Search

Technical Report NTB 85-26

Modelling of Solute Transport in the Near Field of a High Level Waste Repository

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The effects on solute transport of the bentonite backfill in the storage tunnel of an underground repository for high-level radioactive waste have been studied by means of mathematical models.

 

The study concerns a hypothetical site, whose characteristics, however, with respect to geology, hydrology and geochemistry, have been derived from field observations. The models used to simulate migration processes are described, together with justifications for assumptions and with verification of methods.

 

The results, presented as time histories of release fluxes up to at least one million years, demonstrate the delaying effect of the bentonite on both solubility-limited and highly soluble nuclides. The time required for the mass transport leads to the effective elimination of many nuclides with shorter half-lives before any significant release to the geosphere.

 

Calculations have also been made to establish a conservative estimate of the rate of supply of corrosive sulphide ions to the metallic waste containers. Results and consequences of these computations are also discussed.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 85-26

Modelling of Solute Transport in the Near Field of a High Level Waste Repository

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

L'effet de la bentonite, en tant que matériau utilisé pour le remplissage des galeries de stockage pour déchets nucléaires hautement radioactifs, sur le transport de solutés, a été étudié à l'aide de modèles mathématiques.

 

L'étude porte sur un site hypothétique dont les caractéristiques géologiques, hydrogéologiques et géochimiques découlent toutefois d'observations faites sur le terrain. Elle comprend une description des modèles utilisés pour simuler des processus de migration, l'exposé des raisons justifiant les hypothèses adoptées ainsi que la vérification des méthodes employées.

 

Les résultats, présentés sous forme de taux de libération et fonction du temps jusqu'à un million d'années au moins, révèlent l'effet retardateur de la bentonite sur la propagation des nucléides de solubilité limitée comme de ceux qui sont fortement solubles. De nombreux nucléides aux demi-vies assez courtes sont éliminés avant même de parvenir dans la géosphère.

 

On a pu en même temps estimer de façon conservative le flux des ions de sulfure corrosifs atteignant les conteneurs métalliques. Les résultats et conséquences de ces derniers calculs sont également discutés.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs