Search

Technical Report NTB 84-49

FEM 301 A Three Dimensional Model for Groundwater Flow Simulation

Download

Details

The purpose of this report is to describe program FEM 301. Program FEM 301 is a three-dimensional, finite element numerical model which solves the steady-state groundwater flow equation. Following a brief description of the mathematical model upon which the numerical model is based, the finite element approximation to the flow equation is presented. The solution method employed by FEM 301 is the frontal elimination technique of IRONS (1970).

The general structure of program FEM 301 is described as are the required input files and the generated output file. The listing of FEM 301 is included as Annex A3. As numerous pre­ and post-processing routines have been developed specifically for use with FEM 301 they are also presented.

Several sample problems and verification tests depict the application of FEM 301 to typical hydrogeologic problems. The principal application of FEM 301 has been, however, to evaluate the deep crystalline groundwater flow regime in central northern Switzerland. This application is described in a companion report NTB 84-50 (Kimmeier et al., 1985).

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 84-49

FEM 301 A Three Dimensional Model for Groundwater Flow Simulation

Télécharger

Détails

Le présent rapport contient la description du programme de calcul FEM 301. Il s'agit d'un modèle numérique à éléments finis, qui permet de simuler les écoulements permanents tridimensionnels dans la zone saturée. Après une brève présentation des équations différentielles fondamentales, on présente la solution approchée obtenue par la méthode des éléments finis. FEM 301 utilise la technique de l'élimination frontale développée par B.M. IRONS (1970).

La description de la structure générale de FEM 301 et celle des fichiers d'entrée et de sortie sont accompagnées du listing complet du programme (voir ANNEXE A3). Certains programmes auxiliaires, spécialement développés pour FEM 301, sont également présentés.

Quelques exemples, utilisés pour la vérification du programme, illustrent l'application de FEM 301 à des problèmes hydrogéologiques caractéristiques. Toutefois, la principale application de FEM 301 a consisté dans la simulation des écoulements souterrains profonds dans le socle cristallin de la Suisse septentrionale. Les résultats détaillés de ces travaux sont présentés dans le rapport NTB 84-50 (Kimmeier et al., 1985).

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs