Search

Technical Report NTB 84-32

An assessment of the corrosion resistance of the high-level waste containers proposed by Nagra

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

The Nagra concept for the final disposal of high-level radioactive waste includes a container ensuring isolation of the waste from the groundwater for a period of time of at least 1'000 years. Two types of containers are proposed by Nagra in current feasibility projects: the first type, for reprocessed vitrified waste is designed as a self-supporting shell; the material is cast steel GS-40. The second type, for spent fuel, is an adaptation of Swedish designs in which the spent fuel elements are cast in lead inside a thick-walled copper container.

The assessment of the corrosion resistance of these containers is based on the conditions expected in a repository in the crystalline bedrock of northern Switzerland. The groundwater is reducing, with salinity up to seawater level and a high sulphate content.

Under these conditions the only significant contributions to the corrosion of copper come from residual oxygen trapped in the bentonite used as backfill material and from sulphate, if it is assumed that the latter can be reduced to sulphide by microbial activity. This is certainly a very conservative assumption, since it implies that sufficient populations of appropriate bacteria can be supported under repository conditions, but it cannot be ruled out on present-day evidence. The use of this together with other conservative assumptions leads to the conclusion that the maximum penetration by corrosion will not exceed 40 mm in 1'000 years.

For iron the same mechanisms must be considered; the stoichiometry, however, is more favourable and the attack is expected to be less uneven than in copper. This results in a maximum depth of attack of 9 mm in 1'000 years. To this must be added a contribution from the direct reduction of water; the relatively few relevant literature data combined with the results of the Nagra corrosion programme indicate that the maximum penetration from this mechanism will not exceed 20 mm in 1'000 years. If the conservatively assessed contributions of the residual oxygen and the sulphate are added to this, a maximum penetration of less than 30 mm in 1'000 years is obtained.

The conclusions are reached using conservative assumptions. The evidence is well documented in the case of copper; it is slightly less complete in the case of iron, but confirming evidence should result from a sustained qualification programme.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 84-32

An assessment of the corrosion resistance of the high-level waste containers proposed by Nagra

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    20,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

L'une des barrières prévues par la Nagra pour le dépôt final des déchets hautement radioactifs est un conteneur assurant l'isolement des déchets vis-à-vis des eaux souterraines pour une période d'au moins mille ans. La Nagra propose deux types de conteneurs dans le cadre des projets de faisabilité actuellement en cours: l'un d'eux est une coquille creuse en acier coulé GS-40 et est destinée aux déchets vitrifiés; l'autre, pour le dépôt direct de combustible irradié, a été adapté à partir des concepts suédois: les éléments de combustible sont coulés dans du plomb liquide à l'intérieur d'un conteneur en cuivre à parois épaisses.

L'évaluation de la résistance à la corrosion de ces conteneurs présentée dans le rapport est basée sur les conditions présumées dans un dépôt situé dans le sous-sol cristallin de la Suisse septentrionale. L'eau de formation est réductrice avec une salinité pouvant aller jusqu'au niveau de l'eau de mer et une concentration en sulfate élevée.

Dans ces conditions les seules contributions importantes pour la corrosion du cuivre sont dues d'une part à l'oxygène résiduel présent dans la bentonite utilisée comme matériau tampon, d'autre part au sulfate, à supposer que ce dernier puisse être réduit en sulfure par activité microbiologique. Il s'agit là d'une hypothèse sans aucun doute très prudente, puisqu'elle implique que des populations suffisantes de bactéries idoines peuvent se développer dans les conditions régnant dans le dépôt; l'on ne peut cependant pas éliminer un tel développement sur la base des connaissances présentes. En partant de cette hypothèse ainsi que d'autres hypothèses prudentes on conclut que la pénétration maximale n'excédera pas 40 mm en 1'000 ans.

Pour le fer les mêmes mécanismes doivent être considérés; la stœchiométrie est plus favorable et l'irrégularité de l'attaque est moindre que pour le cuivre; il en résulte une pénétration maximale de 9 mm en 1'000 ans, à laquelle il sied d'ajouter la contribution provenant de la réduction directe de l'eau; les indications offertes par l'étude de la littérature pour les conditions considérées sont peu nombreuses, mais permettent de conclure que la pénétration maximale due à ce mécanisme n'excédera pas 20 mm en 1'000 ans.

En ajoutant à ce résultat les contributions de l'oxygène et du sulfate, calculées sous des hypothèses prudentes, l'on obtient une pénétration de moins de 30 mm en 1'000 ans.

On est parvenu à ces conclusions en se basant sur des hypothèses prudentes. Pour le cuivre, les moyens de preuve sont bien établis et documentés. Pour le fer, ceux-ci sont moins complets, mais l'on peut s'attendre à ce qu'un programme de qualification soutenu confirme les conclusions du rapport.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs