Search

Technical Report NTB 17-13

The development of a thermodynamic sorption data base for montmorillonite and the application to bentonite

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

Over the past two decades measurements on the uptake of radionuclides on montmorillonite in the form of sorption edges and isotherms have been performed. The metals investigated include Co(II), Ni(II), Cd(II), Zn(II), Fe(II), Eu(III), Am(III), Sn(IV), Th(IV), Np(V), Pa(V) and U(VI), and all of these data are presented here. The two site protolysis non electrostatic surface complexation cation exchange (2SPNE SC/CE) sorption model has been applied to successfully model this extensive experimental sorption data set. Previously published results were not always modelled with the same set of thermodynamic data, particularly the hydrolysis constants. In this work the all of the sorption measurements have been consistently (re)modelled with the same selected hydrolysis constant data set and the modelled curves presented.

The conclusions from sorption competition studies are presented and discussed: briefly, chemically similar metals (valence state, hydrolysis behaviour) sorb on the same set of strong sites and exhibit sorption competition, chemically dissimilar metals sorb on different strong site sets and do not compete with one another. This information was used to construct linear free energy relationships (LFERs) between surface complexation constants and the appropriate corresponding aqueous hydrolysis constants separately for divalent transition metals, trivalent lanthanides/actinides and tetravalent actinides. LFERs provide a means for estimating surface site binding constants for metals where the data are either very poor or non-existent and thus allow sorption values to be calculated. How well such a procedure may (or may not) work was illustrated in an exercise where surface complexation constants for specific metals were taken from the appropriate LFERs and used to calculate sorption edges/isotherms which were then compared with the measured sorption values. A general methodology for using LFERs to calculate the sorption of metals for which no sorption data exist is suggested and applied to predict sorption edges/isotherms for Mn(II), Cu(II), Pu(III), U(IV), Np(IV) and Pu(IV).

In a final exercise to test the capabilities of the 2SPNE SC/CE sorption model, and the associated model parameters, to quantitatively describe the uptake of radionuclides in complex MX-80 bentonite/porewater systems, blind model predictions were made of sorption isotherms which were then compared with the measured values. The main assumption was that the sorption on MX-80 bentonite is controlled by the montmorillonite content.

The main conclusion drawn from this work is that the tables of surface complexation constants and cation exchange selectivity coefficients given and used in conjunction with the LFERs and the 2SPNE SC/CE sorption model, provide a powerful means of calculating the sorption of many radionuclides in complex porewater/bentonite systems. Together they constitute a Thermodynamic Sorption Data Base (TSDB) for montmorillonite/bentonite systems.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 17-13

The development of a thermodynamic sorption data base for montmorillonite and the application to bentonite

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    20,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, la rétention du Co(II), Ni(II), Cd(II), Zn(II), Fe(II), Eu(III), Am(III), Sn(IV), Th(IV), Np(V), Pa(V) et U(VI) sur la montmorillonite a été mesurée en fonction du pH et de la concentration (isotherme) en nucléides. Cet important ensemble de données expérimentales a été modélisé avec succès en utilisant le modèle de sorption «two site protolysis non electrostatic surface complexation cation exchange» (2SPNE SC/CE). Les modélisations effectuées par le passé ne reposaient pas toutes sur les mêmes données thermodynamiques, en particulier les constantes d’hydrolyse. Pour ce rapport, l’ensemble des mesures de sorption a été (re)modélisé en utilisant les mêmes constantes d’hydrolyse; les courbes de sorption ainsi obtenues sont présentées ici.

Par ailleurs, les conclusions des études de sorption compétitive sont présentées et discutées brièvement. En résumé, les métaux chimiquement proches (valence, hydrolyse) adsorbent sur les mêmes sites de forte affinité, et sont de ce fait compétitifs. Les éléments dissimilaires adsorbent sur des sites de forte affinité différents, et ne sont donc pas en concurrence. Cette information a été utilisée pour construire des relations linéaires d'énergies libres («linear free energy relationships», LFER) entre les constantes de complexation de surface et les constantes d’hydrolyse correspondantes pour différents groupes d’éléments, en l’occurrence les métaux de transition divalents, les lanthanides/actinides trivalents, ainsi que pour les actinides tétravalents. Ces relations permettent d’estimer des constantes de complexation de surface dans le cas de métaux pour lesquels les données expérimentales sont absentes ou de qualité insuffisante, et de calculer ainsi des valeurs de sorption. Cette approche d’estimation a été testée en calculant des valeurs de sorption (en fonction du pH et de la concentration) pour certains éléments en utilisant les constantes de complexation de surface obtenues avec la LFER et en les comparant aux données expérimentales. Une méthodologie générale permettant de calculer la sorption de métaux pour lesquels aucune donnée n’existe est proposée. Cette méthodologie est en outre utilisée pour prédire la sorption (en fonction du pH et concentration) pour le Mn(II), Cu(II), Pu(III), U(IV), Np(IV) et Pu(IV) sur la montmorillonite.

Finalement, on a testé la capacité du modèle de sorption «2SPNE SC/CE», avec les paramètres qui lui sont associés, à prédire la sorption de radionucléides dans les systèmes complexes bentonite/eaux interstitielles. Pour cela, des isothermes de sorption ont été calculées en aveugle et comparées avec les données expérimentales obtenues sur la bentonite. Ces calculs présupposaient que la sorption sur la bentonite MX-80 était contrôlée par la teneur en montmorillonite.

La principale conclusion de cette étude est que les constantes de complexation de surface et les sélectivités d’échange cationique pour la montmorillonite, utilisées en combinaison avec la LFER et le model de sorption «2SPNE SC/CE», constituent un outil performant pour prédire la sorption de nombreux radionucléides dans des systèmes complexes bentonite/eaux interstitielles. L’ensemble constitue une base de données de sorption thermodynamique pour les systèmes montmorillonite/bentonite.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs