Search

Technical Report NTB 16-07

Gas Transport and related Chemo-Hydro-Mechanical Response of Sand Bentonite Mixture

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

In Switzerland, the Nuclear Energy Law requires the disposal of all types of radioactive waste in deep geological repositories. The Swiss Radioactive Waste Management Programme foresees two types of deep geological repositories: a high-level waste repository (HLW repository) for spent fuel (SF), vitrified high-level waste (HLW) and long-lived intermediate-level waste (ILW), and a repository for low- and intermediate-level waste (L/ILW repository). The Opalinus Clay has been proposed as the preferred host rock formation for both repository types, and a depth range between 300 and 700 m below the ground surface has been specified as favourable repository level for L/ILW (Nagra 2014).

The layout of the L/ILW repository is based on a multi-barrier concept, comprising a system of engineered barriers (EBS) and the geological barriers. The materials used for the construction of the EBS components have to ensure the performance of their designated long-term safety functions (physical isolation of the wastes; long-term stability; confinement, retarded release and retention of radionuclides). Sand/bentonite (S/B) mixtures at low bentonite content (i.e. 20 to 30 % of bentonite) are con­sidered as appropriate sealing and backfilling materials for the underground structures, forming the main component of the so-called "Engineered Gas Trans­port System" (EGTS) of the L/ILW repository (Nagra 2008a). In this context, the EGTS is aimed at increasing the gas transport capacity of the backfilled underground structures without com­promising the radionuclide retention capacity of the EBS.

Understanding and quantifying the hydro-mechanical and -chemical (HMC) pheno­mena governing water and gas transport through an 80/20 S/B mixture is crucial for ensuring the safety of the L/ILW repository at both short and long term. This research has been dedicated to a comprehensive experimental characterisation of the S/B mixtures at macroscopic and micro­scopic level, following a well-established soil-mechanical workflow.

At macroscopic level, free and confined swelling tests are performed on specimens compacted to different dry densities and wetted with pore fluids of different chemical composition. Con­trolled suction confined swelling tests are carried out for determining the water retention curve, as well as the suction-swelling pressure relationship for two different densities. The water retention capacity is determined for a wide suction range. The water permeability of the mixture is measured under full saturation conditions, for a wide range of densities and using different pore fluids. The relationship between the unsaturated water permeability and the degree of satu­ra­tion is determined for two-target dry densities.

Gas injection tests on the mixture are performed in both saturated and unsaturated conditions. Two different experimental setups are adopted to investigate the influence of the method used for preparing the specimens, as well as how the boundary conditions affect the gas permeability and the breakthrough pressure. A highly advanced triaxial cell, equipped with a laser scanning system for measuring the radial deformations, allows analysing the volumetric response of the mixture during the gas injection.

The results reveal that the swelling pressure and the saturated hydraulic conductivity depend on the applied matric suction and on the pore water chemistry. In particular, at a low dry density, the mixture in contact with aqueous solutions loses most of its swelling capacity which causes strong increases of the saturated hydraulic conductivity. For a higher dry density, the swelling capacity of the mixture is better preserved and thus its hydraulic conductivity remains relatively low. Two distinct regions are identified in the water retention curve of the mixture: the first at a high suction, where the curve does not depend on the void ratio, and the second at a low suction, where the curve is significantly affected by it.

Finally, an extensive microstructural characterisation is performed using the mercury intrusion porosi­metry and a high-resolution scanning electron microscope. This allows relating the observed HMC behaviour at the laboratory scale to the evolution of the different pore networks during a wetting – drying cycle. The transition from double to single structure is clearly detec­ted upon wetting. This transition justifies the generation of the swelling pressure, as well as the signi­ficant reduction of the gas permeability upon wetting. A specific relation is proposed for determining at any HMC state the relative dry density of the bentonite as a function of bentonite content in the mixture. This enables the comparison of swelling data for other bentonite-based materials prepared at different mixing ratios. The microstructural analyses also allow the deri­va­tion of an expression for describing the geometrical permeability of the mixture upon different HMC loadings. Thanks to the proposed relation, it is possible to identify the contribu­tion of the different pore families to water and gas transport through the active porous media.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 16-07

Gas Transport and related Chemo-Hydro-Mechanical Response of Sand Bentonite Mixture

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    20,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Selon la Loi sur l’énergie nucléaire, tous les types de déchets radioactifs produits en Suisse doivent être stockés dans des dépôts géologiques profonds. Le programme suisse de gestion des déchets radioactifs prévoit d’une part un dépôt pour déchets de haute activité (dépôt DHA) destiné à accueillir les éléments combustibles usés, les déchets de haute activité vitrifiés et les déchets de moyenne activité à vie longue et, d’autre part, un dépôt pour les déchets de faible et de moyenne activité (DFMA). Dans les deux cas, l’Argile à Opalinus a été définie comme roche d’accueil préférentielle. Pour le dépôt DFMA, une profondeur comprise entre 300 et 700 mètres sous la surface du sol a été jugée favorable (Nagra 2014).

L’architecture du dépôt DFMA repose sur un concept multi-barrières, composé du système de barrières ouvragées et des barrières géologiques. Les matériaux entrant dans la composition des barrières ouvragées doivent assurer les fonctions de sûreté à long terme requises (isolement physique des déchets, stabilité à long terme, confinement, retardation et rétention des radionucléides). Les mélanges sable/bentonite comprenant une faible part de bentonite (c’est-à-dire de 20 à 30 %) sont considérés comme un matériau de remblayage et de scellement adapté pour les structures souterraines. Dans le dépôt DFMA, ils constituent la principale composante de ce que l’on désigne par le terme de « Engineered Gas Transport System » (système ouvragé de transport des gaz, EGTS) (Nagra 2008a). Dans ce contexte, l’EGTS a pour objectif d’augmenter la capacité de transport des gaz dans les structures souterraines remblayées, sans affecter la capacité du système de barrière ouvragées à retenir les radionucléides.

La compréhension et la quantification des phénomènes hydro-mécano-chimiques (HMC) qui gouvernent le transport de l’eau et du gaz dans le mélange sable/bentonite 80/20 est cruciale pour assurer la sûreté du dépôt DFMA, à court comme à long terme. Le présent travail de recherche est consacré à la caractérisation expérimentale des mélanges sable/bentonite aux niveaux microscopique et macroscopique, en suivant une approche courante dans le domaine de la mécanique des sols.

Au niveau macroscopique, des tests de gonflement libre et confiné ont été réalisés avec des échantillons compactés à différentes densités, soit secs, soit imbibés de solutions porales présentant différentes compositions chimiques. Des tests de gonflement confiné avec contrôle de la succion ont été effectués pour déterminer la courbe de rétention d’eau, ainsi que la relation succion-pression de gonflement, pour deux densités différentes. La capacité de rétention d’eau a été déterminée pour une large plage de variation de la succion. La perméabilité à l’eau du mélange a été mesurée en conditions saturées, pour une large gamme de densités de compaction et en utilisant différents fluides poraux. La relation entre la perméabilité non-saturée à l’eau et le degré de saturation a été déterminée pour deux densités sèches ciblées.

Des tests d’injection de gaz dans le mélange ont été réalisés en conditions saturées et non-saturées. Deux configurations expérimentales différentes ont été choisies pour étudier l’influence de la méthode utilisée pour la préparation des échantillons, ainsi que la manière dont les conditions-cadres affectent la perméabilité au gaz et la pression critique d’ouverture. Une cellule triaxiale performante, équipée d’un système de balayage laser pour la mesure des déformations radiales, a permis d’analyser la variation de volume du mélange pendant l’injection de gaz.

Les résultats montrent que la pression de gonflement et la conductivité hydraulique saturée dépendent de la succion matricielle appliquée et de la composition chimique de l’eau interstitielle. En particulier, pour une faible densité sèche, le mélange en contact avec les solutions aqueuses perd la plus grande part de sa capacité de gonflement, ce qui cause une forte augmentation de la conductivité hydraulique saturée. Pour une densité sèche plus élevée, la capacité de gonflement du mélange est mieux préservée et la conductivité hydraulique reste ainsi relativement basse. Dans les courbes de rétention d’eau du mélange, deux zones distinctes ont pu être identifiées: la première lorsque la succion est forte et où la courbe ne dépend pas de l’indice des vides, et la seconde lorsque la succion est faible et où la courbe est cette fois affectée de façon significative par l’indice des vides.

Finalement, une description approfondie de la microstructure a été réalisée au moyen de la porosimétrie à intrusion de mercure et d’un microscope à balayage électronique haute résolution. Ceci a permis de faire le lien entre le comportement HMC observé à l’échelle du laboratoire et l’évolution des différents réseaux de pores au cours d’un cycle de mouillage-séchage. La transition d’une structure double à une structure simple a été clairement mise en évidence lors du mouillage. Ce processus explique l’évolution de la pression de gonflement, ainsi que la réduction significative de la perméabilité au gaz lors du mouillage. Une relation spécifique est proposée pour déterminer, à n’importe quel état hydro-mécano-chimique, la densité sèche relative de la bentonite en fonction du pourcentage de bentonite contenu dans le mélange. Ceci permet de comparer les données sur le gonflement d’autres matériaux dans la composition desquels la bentonite intervient dans des proportions différentes. Les analyses microstructurelles permettent aussi de déterminer une expression décrivant la perméabilité géométrique du mélange sous différents chargements HMC. Grâce à la relation proposée, il est possible d’identifier la contribution des différentes familles de pores au transport de l’eau et du gaz au travers du milieu poreux actif.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs