Search

Technical Report NTB 04-01

Grimsel Test Site Investigation Phase V Modelling the Transport of Solutes and Colloids in a Water-Conducting Shear Zone in the Grimsel Test Site

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

This report describes modelling of the transport of solutes and colloids in an experimental system comprising an artificial dipole flow field in a water-conducting shear zone at Nagra's Grimsel Test Site (GTS) in the central Swiss Alps. The modelling work forms part of the Colloid and Radionuclide Retardation Project (CRR), which includes a series of field transport experiments and a supporting laboratory programme, as well as modelling studies. Four independent groups representing different organisations or research institutes have conducted the modelling, with each group employing its own modelling approach or approaches. Only the work conducted at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) is described in the present report.

Bentonite, which is widely considered as a potential backfill material for a range of radioactive and chemotoxic wastes, could conceivably provide a source of colloids that could then influence the transport of radionuclides released from a geological repository for radioactive waste. The main objective of CRR is to enhance understanding of the in situ retardation of radionuclides in the presence of bentonite colloids, in a system analogous to the near-field/geosphere interface of a geological repository.

The field transport experiments were carried out by injecting various cocktails of tracers, some of which included bentonite colloids, into the injection borehole of the dipole and measuring the resulting breakthrough curves. Modelling work was carried out in order to assist in the planning of the main experimental runs and to contribute to the interpretation of the results. Three model variants are used in the present study, namely a 1-D advection-dispersion model, similar to that developed in support of the earlier GTS Migration Experiment (MI), a 2-D advection-dispersion model, and a non-Fickian dispersion model: the CTRW (continuous time random walk) model. The 1-D and 2-D models treat dispersion as a diffusion-like process that obeys Fick's laws. They also include the retardation mechanisms of matrix diffusion of solutes and solute sorption on matrix pore surfaces. Colloids are excluded from matrix pores in all the model variants. The CTRW model allows a more general treatment of dispersion, but does not currently include matrix diffusion, and so was only applied to the transport of colloids.

The modelling of preliminary tests carried out in advance of the main CRR experimental runs showed that the 1-D and 2-D advection-dispersion models with matrix diffusion provide similarly good fits for tracers conveyed as aqueous species, using reasonable and consistent sets of parameter values. They were less successful at modelling colloid breakthrough, and various explanations for this have been considered. Of these, the occurrence of non-Fickian dispersion is considered the most likely. The CTRW model, which allows for non-Fickian dispersion, indeed provides an adequate fit in the case of colloids with a consistent set of parameters.

On the basis of the modelling of the preliminary tests, predictions of the breakthrough of Am, Pu, Np, U and Cs, both with and without the addition of bentonite colloids to the injection cocktail, were made for the main experimental runs in advance of the experiments being carried out. The experimental measurements confirm the model assumption that at least part of the injected inventories of Am, Cs, Pu and Th migrates in association with bentonite colloids. Furthermore, discrepancies between predictions and measurements that Am, Pu and Th are transported in colloidal form, even when no bentonite colloids are added to the injection cocktail. The addition of bentonite colloids, however, increases the recovery of these tracers. The characterisation of colloids in the injection cocktails, which was not available at the time that the model predictions were made, enables improved agreement to be obtained between model calculations and measured breakthrough curves.

The CRR experiment and the present modelling study have a number of limitations. For example, there is the possibility that non-Fickian dispersion affects the transport of solutes as well as colloids. It is not, however, possible to discriminate between the impact of this non- Fickian dispersion and matrix diffusion effects by modelling the breakthrough curves. If non- Fickian dispersion of solutes takes place, then this has implications for the derivation of parameter values for safety assessment (and especially sorption coefficients) from field tracer transport experiments. In particular, values derived using advection-dispersion models with matrix diffusion and with dispersion modelled using Fick's laws need to be viewed with caution.

The modelling approaches used in the present study may not be directly applicable to safety assessment problems and the direct implications of the results of this study for safety assessment are limited. It can, however, be said that the study has demonstrated the high degree of mobility of bentonite and other colloids in a system that is at least in some ways comparable to those of interest in safety assessment, and has shown that bentonite colloids can at least potentially affect the transport of some safety relevant radionuclides over longer temporal and spatial scales than those addressed here. 

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 04-01

Grimsel Test Site Investigation Phase V Modelling the Transport of Solutes and Colloids in a Water-Conducting Shear Zone in the Grimsel Test Site

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    40,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Ce rapport décrit la modélisation du transport des solutés et des colloïdes dans un système expérimental qui comporte un champ d’écoulement généré par un dipôle artificiel dans une zone de cisaillement conductrice d’eau et qui fut mis en place au Laboratoire Souterrain de Grimsel (GTS Nagra) au milieu des Alpes suisses. Le travail de modélisation fait partie du projet Retardement des Colloïdes et des Radionucléides (CRR); celui-ci comprend une série d’expériences de terrain, des études complémentaires en laboratoire, ainsi que des exercices de modélisation. Quatre groupes indépendants représentant différentes organisations ou instituts de recherche ont contribué à la modélisation, chaque groupe employant sa/ses propre(s) approche(s). Seul le travail mené à l’Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) est décrit dans le présent rapport.

La bentonite est fréquemment considérée comme matériau de remblaiement pour les déchets radioactifs et chimiques. Hors ce même matériau pourrait être la source de colloïdes et affecter le transport des radionucléides issus d’un dépôt géologique pour déchets radioactifs. Le projet CRR a pour but principal de mieux comprendre le retardement des radionucléides in situ, en présence de colloïdes de bentonite, dans un système analogue à celui qu’on trouve dans un dépôt géologique, à l’interface du champ proche et de la géosphère.

Les expériences de transport ont été réalisées en injectant différents cocktails de traceurs, dans la tige d’injection du dipôle et en mesurant les courbes de percée résultantes ; certains de ces cocktails comprenaient des colloïdes de bentonite. Les exercices de modélisations ont d’une part accompagné la planification des expériences principales, d’autre part ils ont contribué à l’interprétation des résultats. Trois types de modèles ont été utilisés dans la présente étude, à savoir un modèle 1-D d’advection-dispersion similaire à celui développé antérieurement pour l’expérience de Migration GTS (MI), un modèle 2-D d’advection-dispersion, et un modèle de dispersion non fickienne CTRW (continuous time random walk). Les modèles 1-D et 2-D traitent la dispersion comme un processus de diffusion obéissant à la loi de Fick ; ils considèrent également la diffusion des solutés dans la matrice ainsi que la sorption des solutés à la surface de la matrice poreuse comme mécanismes de retardement. Dans tous les trois modèles les colloïdes n’ont pas accès à la matrice poreuse. Quant au modèle CTRW, il permet de traiter la dispersion de manière plus générale, mais il ne considère pas, présentement, la diffusion dans la matrice ; il n’a donc été appliqué qu’au transport des colloïdes.

Lors de la modélisation des tests préliminaires qui ont servi à la préparation des principales expériences du projet CRR, les modèles 1-D et 2-D d’advection-dispersion comprenant la diffusion dans la matrice ont bien su reproduire l’évolution des traceurs transportés comme espèces aqueuses en utilisant un set de paramètres raisonnable et consistant. La percée des colloïdes, par contre, n’a pas pu être simulée de façon satisfaisante avec ces mêmes modèles. Différentes explications ont été proposées, parmi elles, la dispersion non fickienne semble la plus probable. En effet le modèle CTRW capable de simuler la dispersion non fickienne reproduit adéquatement le transport des colloïdes avec un set de paramètres consistant.

Grâce aux exercices de modélisation préliminaires, les courbes de percée de l’Am, du Pu, du Np, de l’U et du Cs obtenues lors des expériences principales ont pu être prédites pour les deux cas de l’addition ou non de colloïdes de bentonite au cocktail d’injection. Les mesures expérimentales confirment l’hypothèse du modèle, à savoir qu’au moins une partie des inventaires de l’Am, du Cs, du Pu et du Th injectés migre en association avec les colloïdes de bentonite. Les écarts entre prédictions et mesures révèlent, de plus, que l’Am, le Pu et le Th sont transportés sous forme de colloïdes, même lorsqu’ aucun colloïde de bentonite n’a été ajouté au cocktail d’injection. L’addition de colloïdes de bentonite augmente pourtant la récupération de ces traceurs. La caractérisation des colloïdes dans les cocktails d’injection qui n’était pas disponible au moment des prédictions a même permis d’affiner le modèle et d’ajuster les calculs aux courbes de percée mesurées.

Toutefois, l’expérience CRR et la présente étude de simulation comptent un certain nombre de limitations. Il est par exemple possible que la dispersion non fickienne affecte le transport des solutés comme celui des colloïdes. La modélisation des courbes de percée ne permit pas de discriminer entre l’effet de la dispersion non fickienne et celui de la diffusion dans la matrice. Si effectivement il y a dispersion non fickienne, la valeur des paramètres qui ont été déduits pour l’analyse de sûreté à partir des expériences de traçage s’en trouvent affectés (spécialement les coefficients de sorption). C’est pourquoi il faut considérer avec une précaution particulière les valeurs qui ont été déduites de modèles d’advection-dispersion s’ils considèrent la diffusion dans la matrice et la dispersion fickienne.

Les approches de modélisation utilisées dans la présente étude ne sont pas directement applicables à des questions d’analyse de sûreté et les implications directes des résultats de cette étude pour l’analyse de sûreté sont limitées. On peut cependant dire que l’étude a démontré que la bentonite et d’autres colloïdes pouvaient être très mobile dans un système pour le moins comparable à ceux qui sont considérés pour l’analyse de sûreté. De cette étude il ressort également que les colloïdes de bentonite pourraient possiblement affecter le transport des radionucléides relevants pour la sûreté sur des échelles temporelle et spatiale plus étendues que celles étudiées ici.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs