Search

Technical Report NTB 03-08

Cellulose Degradation at Alkaline Conditions: Long-Term Experiments at Elevated Temperatures

Download

Details

The degradation of pure cellulose (Aldrich cellulose) and cotton cellulose at the conditions of an artificial cement pore water (pH 13.3) has been measured at 60 °C and 90 °C for reaction times between 1 and 2 years. The purpose of the experiments is to establish a reliable relationship between the reaction rate constant for the alkaline hydrolysis of cellulose (mid-chain scission), which is a slow reaction, and temperature. The reaction products formed in solution are analysed for the presence of the two diastereomers of isosaccharinic acid using high performance anion exchange chromatography combined with pulsed amperometric detection (HPAEC-PAD), other low-molecular weight aliphatic carboxylic acids using high performance ion exclusion chromatography (HPIEC) and for total organic carbon. The remaining cellulose solids are analysed for dry weight and degree of polymerisation. The degree of cellulose degradation as a function of reaction time is calculated based on total organic carbon and on the dry weight of the cellulose remaining.

The degradation of cellulose observed as a function of time can be divided in three reaction phases observed in the experiments: (i) an initial fast reaction phase taking a couple of days, (ii) a slow further reaction taking ~100 days and (iii) a complete stopping of cellulose degradation levelling-off at ~60 % of cellulose degraded. The experimental findings are unexpected in several respects: (i) The degree of cellulose degradation as a function of reaction time is almost identical for the experiments carried out at 60 ° C and 90 °C, and (ii) the degree of cellulose degradation as a function of reaction time is almost identical for both pure cellulose and cotton cellulose. It can be concluded that the reaction behaviour of the materials tested cannot be explained within the classical frame of a combination of the fast endwise clipping of monomeric glucose units (peeling-off process) and the slow alkaline hydrolysis at the temperatures tested here. It may be hypothesised that the alkaline hydrolysis has even not been observed in the experiments. However, if this is true, cellulose degradation proceeded via another unknown type of reaction. Mass balances for carbon show that the large majority of reaction products found in solution can be explained by formation of isosaccharinic acids and other low-molecular weight carboxylic acids.

With respect to long-term predictions for cellulose degradation at room temperature it can be concluded that the kinetic parameters for alkaline hydrolysis as proposed in the work of PAVASARS (Linköping Studies in Arts and Science, 196, Linköping University, Sweden, 1999) are too large and that complete cellulose degradation at these temperatures occurs only within time scales larger than hundreds of years. However, it is not possible from the experimental evidences, to corroborate the validity of a linear extrapolation (“Arrhenius equation”) of the reaction rates measured at temperatures between ~140 and 190 °C to room temperature, from which it was previously concluded that complete cellulose degradation would take time spans of the order of millions of years.

An interesting observation in the present experiments is the chemical instability of ­isosaccharinic acid at 90 ° C, which has been hypothetically interpreted as a fragmentation induced by the sorption of α-isosaccharinic acid on Ca(OH)2. Carbon mass balances show that -isosaccharinic acid is thereby transformed to other low­molecular weight carboxylic acids. Such a reaction would be an interesting long-term perspective for performance assessment of the disposal of cellulose-containing radioactive waste, in that it may reduce the concentration of organic compounds strongly complexing radionuclides.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 03-08

Cellulose Degradation at Alkaline Conditions: Long-Term Experiments at Elevated Temperatures

Télécharger

Détails

La dégradation de la cellulose pure (Aldrich) et la cellulose de coton dans une eau interstitielle de ciment artificiel (pH 13.3) a été mesurée à 60 °C et 90 °C sur une durée comprise entre 1 et 2 ans. Le but de l’expérience est d’établir une relation fiable entre les constantes de vitesse de réaction pour l’hydrolyse alcaline de la cellulose (clivage mi-chaîne) qui est une réaction lente, et la température. On a analysé les produits de réaction formés dans la solution pour déterminer (i) la concentration des deux diastéréoisomères d’acide isosaccharinique en utilisant la chromatographie par échange d'anions à haute performance combinée avec la détection ampérométrique pulsée (CEAHP-DAP), (ii) la concentration des acides carboxyliques aliphatiques de faible poids moléculaire, en utilisant la chromatographie par exclusion d'ions à haute performance (CEIHP) et (iii) la concentration totale de carbone organique. On a ensuite analysé les résidus solides de cellulose pour déterminer leur poids sec et leur degré de polymérisation. Le degré de dégradation de la cellulose en fonction du temps de réaction a été calculé sur la base du carbone organique total et du poids sec des résidus de cellulose.

Les expériences sur la dégradation de la cellulose ont permis d'observer trois phases de réaction: (i) une première phase rapide s'étendant sur quelques jours, (ii) une réaction lente se déroulant sur ~100 jours et (iii) un arrêt complet de la réaction après la dégradation de ~60 % du volume initial. Les degrés de dégradation de la cellulose observés en fonction du temps ont été, de manière surprenante, presque identiques pour (i) les expériences réalisées à 60 °C et 90 °C et (ii) pour la cellulose pure et la cellulose de coton. On peut en conclure que le comportement des matériaux testés à ces températures ne peut pas être expliqué selon le schéma de réaction classique alliant un processus d’épluchage rapide (peeling-off) à l’hydrolyse alcaline lente. On peut supposer que l’hydrolyse alcaline n’a même pas pu être observée lors des expériences. Cependant, si cette hypothèse est exacte, cela signifie que la dégradation de la cellulose se déroule par l'intermédiaire d'un autre type de réaction inconnu. Les bilans de masse pour le carbone montrent que la grande majorité des produits de réaction identifiés dans la solution peuvent être mis en rapport avec la formation d’acides isosacchariniques et d'autres acides carboxyliques à faible poids moléculaire.

En ce qui concerne les prédictions à long terme pour la dégradation de cellulose à la température ambiante, on peut conclure que les constantes de vitesse de réaction pour l'hydrolyse alcaline proposées dans PAVASARS (Linköping Studies in Arts and Science, 196, Linköping University, Sweden, 1999) sont trop élevées. Selon cette étude, la dégradation complète de la cellulose à ces températures interviendrait en l'espace de quelques centaines d'années. Toutefois, les expériences effectuées ne permettent pas de confirmer que les vitesses de réaction à température ambiante pourraient être déduites, par le biais d'une extrapolation linéaire (“équation d’Arrhenius”), des vitesses de réaction mesurées à des températures comprises entre ~140 et 190 °C – ce qui fait passer à plusieurs millions d'années la durée nécessaire à la dégradation complète de la cellulose.

Lors des expériences effectuées, on a en outre observé une instabilité d’acide ­isosaccharinique à 90 ° C. A cet égard, on peut formuler l'hypothèse d'une fragmentation provoquée par la sorption d’acide α-isosaccharinique sur Ca(OH)2. Les bilans de masse de carbone ont montré que l’acide -isosaccharinique est, de ce fait, transformé aux acides carboxyliques à faible poids moléculaire. Au regard de l’évaluation de la performance à long terme du stockage définitif des déchets radioactifs contenant de la cellulose, il s'agit là d'une propriété intéressante dans la mesure où elle permettrait de réduire la concentration des agents organiques complexants.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs