Search

Technical Report NTB 02-23

Project Opalinus Clay: FEP Management for Safety Assessment – Demonstration of disposal feasibility for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste and long-lived intermediate-level waste (Entsorgungsnachweis)

Download

Details

The aims of and the approach used in the FEP management process are:

  • The FEP management process has to consider and reflect the approach used by science to describe a disposal system and the approach used when modelling the system as described by science.
    − Science describes its findings with respect to the system and its behaviour and evolution "as a whole", which results in the identification of a set of key safety-relevant phenomena, their expected evolution and associated uncertainties, and possible deviations with respect to the expected evolution.
    − Modellers abstract and fragment the description by science into building blocks that form a suitable basis to develop and apply corresponding quantitative models. This results in a description of the system and its evolution in terms of Super-FEPs (as groupings of more detailed FEPs) with a reference realisation and alternative realisations to reflect the uncertainties identified by science.
    − To ensure that the modellers have considered all the information (and uncertainties) identified by science, a check is made that, for each of the key safety-relevant phenomena, at least one corresponding Super-FEP exists; this also includes the corresponding uncertainties. At the same time, a check is made that for each Super-FEP, a corresponding key safety-relevant phenomenon exists that justifies the inclusion of the Super-FEP in the modelling approach.
    − The FEP management process also keeps track of the reserve FEPs (FEPs that are considered likely to occur and to be beneficial to safety, but which are deliberately excluded from the assessment cases), and of outstanding issues with the potential to compromise safety (if there are any).
  • The FEP management process has to ensure that a sufficiently broad set of assessment cases is analysed by suitable tools (assessment codes).
    − The Super-FEPs and their realisations are assessed with respect to their relevance to safety and – if considered relevant – are identified for inclusion into one or more assessment cases. The grouping of the different Super-FEPs and their realisations into assessment cases is carried out by looking at their effects on the broad behaviour / evolution of the system, including a check of the effects of the interaction between individual Super-FEPs. Assessment cases addressing similar effects are grouped together into specific scenarios. Cases within a scenario are distinguished by the different conceptualisations of one or more key phenomena or – if the conceptualisation of phenomena is the same – by variations of one or more model parameters.
    − The adequacy of the tools used for the quantitative analysis of the different assessment cases is carried out through a qualification of codes (in general terms and in terms of Super-FEPs) and a check that the codes applied to analyse a specific case are actually able to reflect all the safety-relevant aspects of the Super-FEPs that are contained within this case.
  • The FEP management process has to take all reasonable measures to ensure completeness.
    − At the start of the analysis, an Opalinus Clay FEP Database (OPA FEP Database) that contains all safety-relevant issues is developed. Completeness is ensured through auditing the OPA FEP Database against International FEP Databases that were developed for this purpose; i.e. for each FEP contained in the International FEP Data bases, it is checked whether it is included in the OPA FEP Database, and if not, that an explanation is available why not.
    − Throughout the process of screening of irrelevant information and abstraction of the remaining information, audits and checks of the intermediate information databases (safety-relevant phenomena, Super-FEPs, assessment cases) against the OPA FEP Database are performed; i.e. for each of the FEPs contained in the OPA FEP Database it is checked if it is included in the database audited or if an explanation / justification exists why not.

This process resulted in a set of information (documented in different tables) that is compiled and described in the present report. There is some degree of overlap with other reports; i.e. some of the tables appear in other reports as well as in the present report. The development of this information and the corresponding tables was highly iterative, thus the final results as described in this report only reflect the interrelation between the different pieces of information, without providing a chronological description of how they were derived.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 02-23

Project Opalinus Clay: FEP Management for Safety Assessment – Demonstration of disposal feasibility for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste and long-lived intermediate-level waste (Entsorgungsnachweis)

Télécharger

Détails

Les objectifs et la démarche qui président à la gestion des FEPs (Features, Events and Processes, c'est-à-dire "Caractéristiques, événements et processus") sont les suivants:

  • Le processus de gestion des FEPs doit prendre en considération et refléter la démarche utilisée par l'équipe scientifique pour décrire un système de dépôt, ainsi que la démarche suivie pour modéliser ce système à partir de sa description scientifique.
    − La description scientifique présente le système et son fonctionnement dans leur globalité et permet ainsi de définir un ensemble de phénomènes déterminants pour la sûreté du dépôt ("key safety-relevant phenomena"), puis de prévoir leur évolution et d'identifier les incertitudes qui leur sont associées, ainsi que les divergences possibles par rapport à l'évolution prévue.
    − Lors du processus de modélisation, la description scientifique est simplifiée et découpée en modules, sur la base desquels les modèles quantitatifs pourront être élaborés et appliqués. Cette démarche aboutit à la description du système et de son évolution en termes de super-FEPs (où sont regroupés des FEPs concernant des aspects plus spécifiques), avec dans chaque cas une "matérialisation de référence" ("reference realisation") et des "matérialisations alternatives" ("alternative realisation") qui reflètent les incertitudes identifiées par la description scientifique.
    − Afin d'assurer que la démarche de modélisation a bien pris en compte l'ensemble de l'information (et des incertitudes) identifiées par la description scientifique, on vérifie que pour chacun des phénomènes déterminants pour la sûreté du dépôt, il existe au moins un super-FEP; ceci concerne également les incertitudes associées à ces phénomènes. Parallèlement, on vérifie que pour chacun des super-FEPs, il existe un phénomène déterminant pour la sûreté du dépôt qui justifie la prise en considération de ce super-FEP dans la démarche de modélisation.
    − La gestion des FEPs englobe également les FEPs de réserve (des FEPs, bénéfiques en termes de sûreté, dont la probabilité d'apparition est grande, mais que l'on exclut volontairement des situations envisagées dans le cadre de l'analyse de sûreté), et les aspects non traités pouvant entraîner la défaillance du dépôt (le cas échéant).
  • Le processus de gestion des FEPs doit assurer qu'une gamme suffisamment étendue de situations ("assessment cases") est analysée à l'aide des outils appropriés (les codes d'évaluation).
    − On examine les super-FEPs et leurs matérialisations en fonction de leur importance pour la sûreté du dépôt et – s'ils sont pertinents – on les incorpore à une ou plusieurs situations qui seront évaluées dans le cadre de l'analyse de sûreté. On regroupe différents super-FEPs et leurs matérialisations au sein de situations en observant leurs conséquences sur le comportement général du système et son évolution à long terme, et en vérifiant les conséquences de l'interaction entre les différents super-FEPs. Les situations qui concernent le même type de conséquences sont regroupées en scénarios. Un même scénario renferme des situations qui se différencient par la conceptualisation différente d'un ou plusieurs phénomènes déterminants pour la sûreté ou – si la conceptualisation des phénomènes est identique – par des variations d'un ou plusieurs paramètres de modélisation.
    − Une procédure de qualification des codes est utilisée pour évaluer (d'une façon générale et en fonction des super-FEPs) les outils utilisés pour l'analyse quantitative des différentes situations. On vérifie également que les codes utilisés pour analyser une situation donnée sont à même de refléter l'ensemble des aspects déterminants pour la sûreté des super-FEPs concernés par cette situation.
  • Le processus de gestion des FEPs doit inclure toutes les mesures raisonnablement envisageables permettant d'assurer que le catalogue des FEPs soit complet.
    − Au début de l'analyse, on regroupe les FEPs pour les Argiles à Opalinus dans une base de données (base de données OPA FEP) comprenant l'ensemble des aspects relatifs à la sûreté du dépôt. Pour s'assurer que la liste est complète, on met en regard la base de données OPA FEP et les listes de FEPs élaborées dans cet objectif au niveau international. On vérifie ainsi que chacun des FEP figurant dans les bases de données internationales est également présent dans la base de données OPA FEP – et que, si tel n'est pas le cas, une explication ou une justification ont été fournies.
    − Tout au long du processus qui consiste à écarter les informations non pertinentes et à traiter l'information restante, on met en regard les bases de données intermédiaires (phénomènes déterminants pour la sûreté, super-FEPs, situations) et la base de données OPA FEP par le biais d'audits et de vérifications. Ainsi, pour chacun des FEPs figurant dans la base de données OPA FEP, on vérifie qu'il est également présent dans la base de données examinée et que, si tel n'est pas le cas, une explication ou une justification ont été fournies.

Cette démarche a abouti à une base d'informations, dont la description et la présentation sous forme de tableaux font l'objet du présent rapport. On observera une certaine redondance, dans la mesure où plusieurs tableaux apparaissent également dans d'autres rapports. La base d'information et les tableaux correspondants ont été compilés au cours d'un processus largement itératif. De ce fait, ce rapport ne fait état que des relations existant entre les différentes informations, sans fournir une chronologie des étapes ayant conduit au résultat final.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs