Search

Technical Report NTB 02-13

Redox Conditions in the Near Field of a Repository for SF/HLW and ILW in Opalinus Clay

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

The description of redox conditions in the near field of a nuclear waste repository is an important but difficult aspect in performance assessment. Redox potentials are affected by both the thermodynamics and kinetics of relevant reactions, some of which are not adequately understood. This leads to considerable uncertainty of redox conditions in the repository environment and often to oversimplified terminology in performance assessment such as ‘reducing’ or ‘oxidising’. In this study we assess redox conditions by a holistic approach that considers all relevant sources of information. We apply this approach to the near field of the two types of repositories foreseen in the Swiss high-level waste programme: the spent fuel and highlevel waste (SF/HLW) and the intermediate-level waste (ILW) repositories. Although the environments surrounding these two waste streams are quite different, namely bentonite backfill versus cement, the procedures for describing redox conditions are similar. Thus, for both cases we first describe the layout of the repository and the properties of materials present in the near field. Then the duration of the initial oxic phase is estimated with the aid of limiting cases. The major part of this study focuses on the thermodynamic relationships and kinetic processes in the engineered barrier once oxygen has been depleted. Finally, from the combined set of information, reasonable ranges of long-term redox potentials are derived.

SF/HLW

After a relatively short initial oxic phase (< 100 a) the conditions in the bentonite backfill will become and remain reducing. The redox potentials will be largely influenced by the corrosion of steel, which will produce large amounts of magnetite, on the internal side of the bentonite barrier, and by the reducing conditions of the surrounding Opalinus Clay on the external side.

The derived Eh range of -100 mV to -300 mV (SHE) for the anoxic stage mainly reflects the relatively large uncertainties in the pH of the porewater. The calculations suggest that the uncertainty with regard to the nature of the Fe(III)-Fe(II) solid phases is less significant in determining the derived redox potentials. The calculated redox potentials are consistent with recent experimental data on the reduction behaviour of U(VI), Tc(VII) and Se(VI/IV).

The possible effect of high hydrogen pressures on redox potentials was not included in the analysis because the experimental data on the reactivity of H2(g) in bentonite are limited. This also holds for Fe(II)-rich silicate phases which may play a role at the canister - bentonite boundary, although significant effects on the redox potentials are not expected. Further experimental data on these systems would be useful for future performance assessments. 

ILW

Heterogeneous reprocessed waste embedded in a cementitious matrix is grouped into two spatially separated waste types, ILW-1 and ILW-2. These two types consist of very different redox-sensitive materials and are assessed separately.

After relatively rapid depletion of residual oxygen the conditions in the ILW-1 repository will remain reducing. The redox potential will be largely influenced by steel corrosion producing thin magnetite-type films on steel surfaces. Based on Fe(III)/Fe(II) equilibria calculations, the derived redox potentials for the reducing stage are estimated to be between -750 and -230 mV (SHE). The redox conditions in ILW-2 are expected to be rather similar; however, they might be more oxidising if high nitrate concentrations persist over long time periods. In this case an upper Eh limit of +350 mV (SHE) is estimated. 

The uncertainties with regard to the redox potentials in solution are large, mainly because of the lack of unequivocal experimental information on the phases forming during long-term corrosion of steels and the limited knowledge on iron-bearing cement phases. In addition, the importance of microbially-induced organic matter degradation, though considered to be of minor importance, is not adequately understood. If significant degradation occurs, lower redox potentials would be expected. This would also be the case if H2 produced by the corrosion process were more reactive than commonly assumed.

Further experimental work focussing on the steel corrosion under alkaline conditions and the identification of iron-bearing phases in the cement repository is needed to improve the understanding of the relevant redox processes. Also, the behaviour of redox- sensitive elements, such as U, Tc and Np in cementitious environments should be experimentally investigated. 

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 02-13

Redox Conditions in the Near Field of a Repository for SF/HLW and ILW in Opalinus Clay

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    20,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

La description des conditions redox dans le champ proche d'un dépôt pour déchets radioactifs est un aspect important, mais problématique, des analyses de sûreté. Les potentiels redox sont subordonnés aux aspects thermodynamiques aussi bien que cinétiques des réactions d'oxydoréduction, dont certaines n'ont pas encore été cernées de manière satisfaisante. Ceci conduit à des incertitudes considérables concernant les conditions redox dans l'environnement du dépôt, et souvent à des simplifications exagérées dans le cadre des analyses de sûreté, aboutissant à qualifier d'une façon générale les conditions d'"oxydantes" ou de "réductrices". La présente étude aborde les conditions redox par le biais d'une approche holistique prenant en compte toutes les sources d'information pertinentes. Cette approche est appliquée au champ proche de deux types de dépôts envisagés dans le cadre du programme suisse de gestion des déchets hautement radioactifs: le dépôt pour assemblages combustibles usés et déchets de haute activité (AC/DHA) et le dépôt pour déchets de moyenne activité à vie longue (DMAL). Bien que ces deux environnements présentent certaines différences (remplissage de bentonite dans un cas, ciment dans l'autre), les procédures qui permettent de décrire les conditions redox sont similaires. Ainsi, dans les deux cas, nous commençons par décrire l'architecture de dépôt et les propriétés des matériaux du champ proche. La durée de la phase oxique initiale est ensuite évaluée à l'aide de cas limites. La majeure partie de cette étude est axée sur les relations thermodynamiques et les processus cinétiques qui se déroulent dans le système de barrières ouvragées une fois que l'oxygène a disparu. Enfin, en combinant toutes les informations obtenues, il est possible de déduire des valeurs réalistes pour les potentiels redox à long terme et les incertitudes qui leur sont liées.

AC/DHA

A l'issue d'une phase oxique initiale relativement courte (< 100 ans), les conditions régnant dans le remplissage de bentonite deviennent réductrices. Sur la face interne de la barrière de bentonite, la corrosion de l'acier, en produisant de grandes quantités de magnétite, aura un impact important sur les potentiels redox. Sur la face externe, c'est le milieu réducteur des Argiles à Opalinus qui sera déterminant.

L'écart important entre les mesures Eh obtenues – de -100 mV à -300 mV (SHE, Standard Hydrogen Electrode) pour la phase anoxique – est dû principalement aux incertitudes qui subsistent quant au pH de l'eau interstitielle. Les calculs effectués suggèrent que l'incertitude relative aux phases de Fe(III)-Fe(II) est moins importante pour la dérivation des potentiels redox. Les potentiels redox calculées sont compatibles avec les données expérimentales récentes concernant la réduction de U(VI), Tc(VII) et Se(VI/IV).

L'impact possible d'une pression d'hydrogène élevée sur les potentiels redox n'a pas été abordé dans le cadre de cette étude, en l'absence de données expérimentales concluantes sur la réactivité de H2(g) dans la bentonite. Ceci vaut également pour les phases de silicate riches en Fe(II), qui peuvent jouer un rôle à l'interface colis de déchets–bentonite, bien que leur influence sur les potentiels redox soit probablement limitée. Pour les analyses de sûreté à venir, il serait utile de disposer de données expérimentales supplémentaires à ce propos. 

DMAL

Les DMAL sont composés de déchets hétérogènes, provenant des opérations de retraitement et immobilisés dans une matrice de ciment. On distingue deux groupes, les DMAL-1 et DMAL-2, stockés à des emplacements distincts. Ces deux groupes sont analysés séparément du fait qu'ils contiennent des matériaux dont la sensibilité aux processus redox est très différente.

Après la disparition relativement rapide de l'oxygène résiduel, les conditions régnant dans le dépôt DMAL-1 resteront réductrices. Le potentiel redox sera alors principalement influencé par la corrosion de l'acier, qui produit un mince film de magnétite à la surface du métal. Sur la base des calculs d'équilibre sur Fe(III)/Fe(II), les potentiels redox dérivés pour la phase réductrice se situent entre -750 et -230 mV (SHE). Les conditions redox dans le dépôt DMAL-2 seront probablement assez similaires. Toutefois, si de hautes concentrations de nitrates subsistaient sur de longues périodes, il est possible que les valeurs Eh atteignent +350 mV (SHE).

Il subsiste d'importantes incertitudes relatives aux potentiels redox dans l'eau interstitielle, dues principalement à l'absence de données expérimentales solides sur la formation de phases au cours de la corrosion de l'acier sur de longues périodes, et à des connaissances insuffisantes sur les phases du ciment riches en fer. De plus, on manque de données précises sur la dégradation microbienne des matières organiques; toutefois, on suppose que celle-ci aurait un impact réduit. En présence d'une dégradation importante de matières organiques, on peut s'attendre d'une manière générale à des potentiels redox plus bas, ce qui serait également le cas si l'hydrogène produit par le processus de corrosion s'avérait plus réactif qu'on ne le suppose habituellement.

Afin de mieux appréhender les processus redox, il serait nécessaire de disposer de données expérimentales supplémentaires concernant la corrosion de l'acier dans des conditions alcalines et l'identification des phases riches en fer dans un dépôt contenant du ciment. De même, il serait utile d'effectuer des expériences sur le comportement de radioéléments sensibles aux processus redox, tels que U, Tc et Np, dans un environnement comportant du ciment.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs