Search

Technical Report NTB 02-09

Assessment of Porewater Chemistry in the Betonite Backfill for the Swiss SF/HLW Repository

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

The porewater chemistry in the bentonite backfill will strongly affect the mobility of radionuclides via sorption and solubility equilibria. The aim of this study was to derive a reference bentonite porewater composition for the Swiss high-level waste repository and to estimate compositional uncertainties. Special emphasis was put on the evaluation of acid-base buffering mechanisms and the related variables pH and pCO2.

Recent experimental data at high solid/water ratios are analysed by means of a classical aqueous solution - mineral equilibrium model using two distinct sets of constants for sorption reactions. An optimised thermodynamic model is then applied to repository conditions. A sensitivity analysis is then performed to identify critical geochemical parameters and to quantify their effect on porewater chemistry. The evolution of porewater chemistry in time is studied with the help of two alternative models, one based on water-exchange cycles, the other relying on diffusion. For the derivation of the reference porewater, a redox model based on the equilibrium between magnetite and dissolved Fe2+ is integrated in the clay/water reaction model. Uncertainties related to pH, Eh, and major anion concentrations (Cl-, SO4 2-, CO3 2-) are evaluated. Finally, available trace element data are presented.

Two limiting bentonite porewater compositions with pCO2 fixed at 10-3.5 and 10-1.5 bar have been modelled, which define the pH and Eh boundaries specified below. A third, intermediate composition, calculated with pCO2 fixed at 10-2.2 bar, is considered to reflect the most probable repository conditions, and is thus defined as reference bentonite porewater. The resulting three waters are Na-(Ca-Mg-)-Cl-(SO4) dominated and have a ionic strength of about 0.3 M.

The main results of this modelling study can be summarised as follows:

  • The large uncertainty related to the pCO2 in equilibrium with the groundwater permeating the host-rock has a significant effect on the pH of the bentonite porewater, resulting in a relatively wide range (from 6.9 to 7.8).
  • Redox conditions are predicted to be reducing at all assumed pCO2, resulting in oxidation potentials between -280 and -130 mV.
  • The bentonite porewater chemistry is expected to remain stable over very long times, largely because of its similarity to the surrounding Opalinus Clay water.

Conventional thermodynamic models, as applied in this study and in other safety assessments, do not consider some complex physico-chemical processes occurring specifically in highly compacted, swelling clays (e.g. osmosis, reduction of external porosity). Further experimental investigations and new methodologies need to be developed to understand such processes and to integrate them in geochemical models. Nevertheless, we performed additional calculations with a refined model to account for the effects of anion exclusion and porosity reduction. The results indicate that porewater composition is quite insensitive to such processes. This makes us confident that the derived reference porewater composition is a reasonable estimate and is suitable for performance assessment.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 02-09

Assessment of Porewater Chemistry in the Betonite Backfill for the Swiss SF/HLW Repository

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    20,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

La composition des eaux interstitielles dans le remplissage de bentonite influe de manière importante sur la mobilité des radionucléides par le biais des phénomènes de solubilité et de sorption. L'objectif de cette étude était d'obtenir une composition de référence pour les eaux interstitielles de la bentonite utilisée dans le dépôt suisse pour déchets de haute activité et d'estimer les incertitudes relatives à cette composition. Les mécanismes de tamponnage acidebase et les variables correspondantes – pH et pCO2 – ont fait l'objet d'une attention particulière.

Des données provenant d'expériences récentes effectuées à des rapports élevés solide/eau ont été analysées par le biais d'un modèle d'équilibre chimique classique en utilisant deux ensembles de constantes différents pour les réactions de sorption. Un modèle thermodynamique optimisé a ensuite été appliqué aux conditions du dépôt. On a de plus effectué une analyse de sensibilité pour identifier les paramètres géochimiques critiques et quantifier leur effet sur la composition de l'eau interstitielle. L'évolution dans la durée de la composition de l'eau est étudiée à l'aide de deux modèles différents, l'un basé sur les cycles d'échange d'eau, l'autre sur le processus de diffusion. Pour déduire la composition de référence, un modèle redox basé sur l'équilibre entre la magnétite et le Fe2+ dissous a été intégré au modèle de réaction argile/eau. Les incertitudes relatives aux pH, Eh, et aux principales concentrations d'anions (Cl-, SO4 2-, CO3 2-) ont été estimées. L'étude présente enfin les données disponibles sur les éléments traces.

Deux compositions extrêmes ont été modélisées, avec un pCO2 fixé respectivement à 10-3.5 et 10-1.5 bar, ce qui a fourni les limites nécessaires pour les pH et Eh. Une troisième composition, calculée pour un pCO2 intermédiaire fixé à 10-2.2 bar, est censée représenter les conditions les plus probables régnant dans le dépôt. Elle est par conséquent définie comme la composition de référence de l'eau interstitielle. Les trois compositions sont de type Na-(Ca-Mg-)-Cl-(SO4) et ont une force ionique d'environ 0.3 M.

Les principaux résultats de cette étude de modélisation peuvent être résumés de la façon suivante:

  • L'incertitude importante relative aux valeurs de pCO2 dans la roche d'accueil influe de manière considérable sur le pH de l'eau interstitielle de la bentonite avec, en conséquence, un large spectre de valeurs (entre 6.9 et 7.8).
  • Selon les calculs effectués, les conditions redox sont réductrices à tous les pCO2 envisagés et entraînent des potentiels d'oxydation situés entre -280 et -130 mV.
  • La composition des eaux interstitielles restera probablement stable sur de longues périodes, en particulier du fait de sa similarité avec les eaux contenues dans les argiles à Opalinus environnantes.

Les modèles thermodynamiques conventionnels, tels qu'ils sont appliqués dans cette étude et dans d'autres études d'analyse de la sûreté, ne prennent pas en compte certains processus physico-chimiques complexes propres aux argiles gonflantes fortement compactées (par exemple l'osmose ou la réduction de la porosité externe). D'autres expériences et le développement de nouvelles méthodologies sont nécessaires pour comprendre ces processus et les intégrer aux modèles géochimiques. Nous avons toutefois effectué des calculs complémentaires avec un modèle affiné, de façon à prendre en compte les effets de l'exclusion des anions et de la réduction de la porosité. Les résultats montrent que ces processus ne modifient pas la composition des eaux interstitielles de manière significative. Ceci nous permet d'avancer que la composition de référence des eaux interstitielles obtenue constitue une base de travail réaliste, pouvant être utilisée dans le cadre d'une analyse de la sûreté.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs