Search

Technical Report NTB 02-06

Project Opalinus Clay: Models, Codes and Data for Safety Assessment Demonstration of disposal feasibility for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste and long-lived intermediate-level waste (Entsorgungsnachweis)

Download

Details

The present report is designed to provide readers with the necessary information to perform, if they so wish, independent checks of the results of the evaluation of the "assessment cases" described in the Safety Report (Nagra 2002c) for Project Entsorgungsnachweis. It also describes the conceptual models and corresponding codes for the near field, geosphere and biosphere that were used in the safety assessment to evaluate the assessment cases, including the reasons why they are considered adequate for their intended purposes, and the operational elements and procedures that were used to manage the required large number of calculations. Models and codes not described in this report are the supporting models used to derive parameter values for the near field, geosphere and biosphere codes, and to support model assumptions. These include, for example, groundwater flow models, mechanistic models of sorption, temperature evolution models, waste dissolution models, etc., and are described in the Project Entsorgungsnachweis reference reports.

An assessment case is a specific set of assumptions regarding the broad evolution of the repository and its environment, the conceptualisation of individual features, events and processes (FEPs) relevant to the fate of radionuclides within the disposal system and the parameters used to describe these FEPs. In the safety assessment, a broad range of assessment cases is analysed in order to illustrate the impact of various detrimental FEPs and uncertainties on the level of safety provided by the disposal system. The assessment cases are defined, the underlying reasoning documented and the results of their analysis presented in the Safety Report. In the interests of transparency, the Safety Report presents these descriptions in a mainly qualitative fashion, without exhaustively documenting all relevant formulae and data. The present report complements the Safety Report with a comprehensive description of models, codes and data and thus provides traceability within the safety assessment. The two reports together satisfy the assessment principle (see Chapter 2 of the Safety Report) that the development of the safety case and its results should be documented in manner that provides both transparency and traceability.

In the safety assessment for Project Entsorgungsnachweis, assessment cases are divided into a number of groups, according to the issues or uncertainties that they address. The main part of the present report focuses, in turn, on groups of assessment cases that explore:

  • the consequences of particular scenario, conceptual and parameter uncertainties, where this range can be bounded with reasonable confidence on the basis of available scientific understanding,
  • more speculative "what if?" possibilities that are considered in order test the robustness of the disposal system,
  • various design or system options, and
  • different stylised possibilities for the characteristics and evolution of the surface environment ("biosphere").

Overviews are given of the conceptual models underlying the assessment cases and the various assumptions and simplifications that are made in order to arrive at sets of mathematical equations and input parameters so that each case can be evaluated using corresponding computer codes, with references to appendices that give detailed descriptions of the codes and the equations that they solve, as well as tables containing the data used and the data source. In the appendices, descriptions are given of the capabilities of each code in terms of the phenomena (or "Super-FEPs") that they address. This is important within the FEP management procedure to allow an evaluation of the suitability of a given code to address a given Super-FEP (Nagra 2002d). It is shown that the codes used are sufficiently versatile to evaluate all the required assessment cases. There are a few safety-relevant phenomena that the codes are not "qualified" to evaluate, but, in all cases, either significant effects can be ruled out by supplementary studies (e.g. for criticality), effects are intrinsically favourable to safety and can be conservatively neglected (e.g. transport resistances in the SF / HLW near field), or parameters (e.g. canister breaching time) can be chosen to ensure that calculations err on the side of pessimism.

In addition to the models and codes used to analyse the assessment cases, simplified insight models are used to examine particular aspects of system performance and sensitivity to key system properties and model assumption. The insight models are described in Chapter 9.

The deterministic evaluation of assessment cases is complemented by probabilistic calculations to build further system understanding and, in particular, to indicate the performance of the system for parameter combinations not analysed by deterministic calculations. The computational tool used to sample input parameters from probability density functions (PDFs) and the PDFs themselves are described in Appendices 2 and 3, respectively.

Except for a few cases, no justifications are given in the present report for the model assumptions made and no final or intermediate results are presented, except where this is considered to help understanding. For a full presentation of results and a justification of assumptions, the reader is referred to the Safety Report and the reference reports.

It is, however, noted that all assessment cases are evaluated using, to some extent, pessimistic or conservative conceptual assumptions, parameters and model simplifications, resulting in calculated doses that should be regarded as upper bounds for, rather than predictions of, expected doses. To assess the degree of bias introduced by such assumptions, the modelling approaches used to evaluate each assessment case are examined systematically in Chapter 10. It first summarises the various assumptions and simplifications made in order to arrive at sets of mathematical equations and input parameters so that each case can be quantitatively evaluated, and then it assesses these assumptions and simplifications in terms of their degree of realism, pessimism or conservatism. This information is then used as a tool to systematically assess the bias that has been introduced into the models ("bias audit").

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 02-06

Project Opalinus Clay: Models, Codes and Data for Safety Assessment Demonstration of disposal feasibility for spent fuel, vitrified high-level waste and long-lived intermediate-level waste (Entsorgungsnachweis)

Télécharger

Détails

Dans ce rapport, le lecteur trouvera l'information lui permettant, s'il le souhaite, de procéder à une vérification indépendante des résultats obtenus pour l'analyse des "situations" (en anglais assessment cases, littéralement "cas sur lesquels porte l'évaluation" ) présentées dans le rapport sur la sûreté radiologique à long terme (Safety Report ou Rapport de sûreté, Nagra 2002c), rédigé dans le cadre du projet Entsorgungsnachweis sur la démonstration de la faisabilité du stockage géologique. Le présent rapport décrit également les modèles conceptuels et les codes correspondants utilisés dans le cadre de l'analyse de la sûreté pour évaluer les différentes "situations" dans le champ proche, la géosphère et la biosphère. Il justifie le choix de ces codes et modèles, et présente les éléments et procédures opérationnels mis en oeuvre pour gérer l'important volume de calculs nécessaires. En revanche, ce rapport ne traite ni des modèles et codes utilisés pour déduire les paramètres pour le champ proche, la géosphère et la biosphère, ni de ceux sur lesquels reposent les hypothèses de modélisation – tels que par exemple les modèles concernant la circulation des eaux souterraines, les modèles mécanistiques de sorption, les modèles concernant l'évolution de la température, la dissolution des déchets, etc., qui sont présentés dans les rapports annexes du projet Entsorgungsnachweis.

Une "situation" est caractérisée par (a) la conceptualisation spécifique d'événements et de processus particuliers (en anglais Features, Events and Processes ou FEP) relatifs au comportement des radionucléides dans le système de dépôt, et (b) par les paramètres utilisés pour quantifier ces FEP. L'analyse de la sûreté prend en compte, outre la Situation de référence (en anglais Reference Case), une large gamme de situations qui permettent de montrer dans quelle mesure la sûreté à long terme du dépôt peut être affectée par différents FEP potentiellement néfastes, ou encore par les incertitudes qui subsistent. Le Rapport de sûreté comprend la définition des différentes situations, le détail des raisonnements et les résultats de l'analyse.

Dans l'analyse de la sûreté pour le projet Entsorgungsnachweis, les situations sont réparties en plusieurs catégories, selon le type de question ou d'incertitude abordée. La majeure partie du présent rapport est consacrée à des groupes de situations qui concernent:

  • les conséquences de certaines incertitudes spécifiques relatives à des scénarios, des conceptualisations ou des paramètres, dans les cas où les connaissances scientifiques actuelles permettent d'estimer la marge d'incertitude de manière suffisamment sûre,
  • des possibilités de l'ordre de la spéculation ("qu'arriverait-il si...") prises en compte pour tester la robustesse du système de dépôt,
  • des variantes relatives à l'architecture ou au système de dépôt,
  • des variantes schématisées relatives aux caractéristiques et à l'évolution de l'environnement de surface (la "biosphère").

Par souci de transparence, les descriptions fournies dans le Rapport de sûreté sont essentiellement qualitatives, et ne contiennent ni les équations mathématiques, ni une documentation exhaustive de l'ensemble des données. Le présent rapport vient compléter le Rapport de sûreté en livrant une description détaillée des modèles, codes et données, et contribue ainsi à la traçabilité des résultats obtenus par l'analyse de la sûreté. Complémentaires, les deux rapports permettent de remplir les exigences de transparence et traçabilité, évoquées au chapitre 2 du Rapport de sûreté, qui conditionnent l'élaboration d'une démonstration de la sûreté et ses résultats.

Ce rapport fournit une vue d'ensemble des modèles conceptuels utilisés, ainsi que des diverses hypothèses et simplifications effectuées en vue d'obtenir des ensembles d'équations mathématiques et des paramètres d'entrée, de façon à ce que chaque situation puisse être évaluée en utilisant les codes informatiques correspondants. Les annexes décrivent en détail les codes, ainsi que les équations auxquels ils sont destinés, et contiennent des tableaux présentant les données et leur provenance. Elles comprennent également une description de chacun des codes en fonction des phénomènes (ou "Super-FEP") auxquels il peut être appliqué. Ceci est un aspect important de la gestion des FEP, qui doit permettre d'estimer si un code donné est adapté au traitement de tel ou tel phénomène (Nagra 2002d). Il est démontré ici que les codes utilisés sont suffisamment souples pour traiter toutes les situations nécessaires. Il existe quelques phénomènes importants pour le traitement desquels les codes ne sont pas "qualifiés", mais dans chacun de ces cas, soit des études supplémentaires permettent d'exclure tout impact de quelque importance (p. ex. la criticité), soit les conséquences sont favorables en elles-mêmes et peuvent par conséquent être ignorées dans un souci d'adopter un point de vue "conservateur" (p. ex. la résistance résiduelle à la migration des radionucléides fournie par les conteneurs AC / DHA après leur perte d'étanchéité), soit enfin les paramètres (p. ex. la durée écoulée jusqu'à la perte d'étanchéité des conteneurs) peuvent être fixés de manière à ce que les calculs reflètent toujours une vision pessimiste des processus.

Outre les modèles et codes utilisés pour analyser les situations, des modèles simplifiés (en anglais insight models) ont servi à examiner certains aspects spécifiques du fonctionnement du système, et à faire apparaître des sensibilités particulières en rapport avec les propriétés principales du système ou avec des hypothèses de modélisation. Ces modèles simplifiés sont décrits au chapitre 9.

L'évaluation déterministe des situations est complétée par des calculs probabilistes afin d'améliorer encore la compréhension du système, et de mettre notamment en lumière ses performances en présence de combinaisons de paramètres non analysées par les calculs déterministes. L'outil informatique utilisé pour extraire les paramètres d'entrée des fonctions de densité de probabilité (pdf) et les pdf elles-mêmes sont décrites respectivement dans les annexes 2 et 3.

A quelques exceptions près, ce rapport fournit pas de justifications relatives aux hypothèses de modélisation et ne présente pas de résultats finals ou intermédiaires, sauf dans les cas où ces informations rendent les démonstrations plus compréhensibles. Pour une présentation détaillée des résultats et une justification des hypothèses, le lecteur se reportera au rapport principal (Rapport de sûreté) et aux rapports annexes.

Il faut enfin préciser que, pour l'évaluation de l'ensemble des situations, on a eu recours à des hypothèses conceptuelles, des paramètres et des simplifications de modèles qui étaient, pour une part plus ou moins grande, pessimistes ou conservateurs. Afin d'estimer l'écart ainsi obtenu par rapport à la réalité, les démarches de modélisation utilisées pour évaluer chaque situation sont passées systématiquement en revue au chapitre 10. Dans un premier temps, on énumère les différentes hypothèses et simplifications effectuées pour obtenir les ensembles d'équations mathématiques et les paramètres d'entrée, puis on estime leur degré de réalisme, de pessimisme ou de conservatisme. Ces informations sont ensuite utilisées pour effectuer ce qu'on appelle en anglais un bias audit, c'est-à-dire estimer de façon systématique dans quelle mesure les modèles divergent de la réalité.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs