Search

Technical Report NTB 01-04

Calculations of the Temperature Evolution of a Repository for Spent Fuel, Vitrified High-Level Waste and Intermediate Level Waste in Opalinus Clay

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Thermal evolution is an important aspect of the performance of a repository for nuclear waste, because elevated temperatures affect many processes influencing the behaviour of engineered barrier systems and the host rock. The thermal evolution of a repository for spent fuel, high-level waste (HLW) and intermediate level waste (ILW) has been evaluated. The repository is assumed to be located at a depth of 650 m in the Opalinus Clay formation in northern Switzerland. The disposal system consists of spent fuel and HLW, encapsulated within steel canisters that are emplaced within horizontal tunnels, with the space between the canisters and the surrounding rock backfilled with bentonite. Waste emplacement tunnels are spaced 40 m apart. Concrete containers of ILW are placed in separate emplacement tunnels, with the void space around the containers filled with cementitious mortar.

The initial heat output of the waste and the rate of its decrease with time due to radioactive decay depends on the nature of the waste. For the case of spent fuel, some canisters contain only UO2 assemblies, while others contain both UO2 and MOX (mixed oxide) fuel assemblies. The initial heat output of both canister types is restricted to 1500 W/canister, but the time-dependent heat output of the UO2/MOX canisters declines more slowly, as a result of significantly higher Pu content. For HLW canisters, the initial heat output is ~700 W and it decreases more rapidly than is the case for spent fuel, because of the low actinide content of HLW.

The temperature evolution of the engineered barrier system and surrounding rock is simulated using a finite-element model, using reference data for the thermal properties of spent fuel, HLW, bentonite backfill and Opalinus Clay. The results show that the surface temperatures of both the HLW and spent fuel canisters reach a maximum value of ~150°C within a few years after emplacement, although the HLW canister temperature decreases much more rapidly than for the case of spent fuel canisters. The temperatures within the bentonite depend strongly on the assumptions regarding its water content. For the expected low water inflow rates in a repository in low permeability Opalinus Clay, the bentonite has a low thermal conductivity and the temperature at the point midway between spent fuel canisters and the bentonite/host rock interface will reach a maximum of ~110°C. For HLW canisters, the mid-point of the bentonite will not exceed 100°C. Host rock temperatures remain below ~90°C at all times. In the unlikely event of a more rapid rate of inflow of water from the Opalinus Clay, the bentonite thermal conductivity is significantly greater and temperatures at the canister/bentonite interface and throughout the bentonite are markedly reduced.

For the case of ILW tunnels, a boundary element model is used to calculate temperature evolution, taking into consideration the hydration heat of the concrete mortar and radioactive decay. It is found that the maximum temperature reached within the engineered barrier system is ~50°C, about 12°C more than the ambient temperature in the Opalinus Clay at a depth of 650 m.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 01-04

Calculations of the Temperature Evolution of a Repository for Spent Fuel, Vitrified High-Level Waste and Intermediate Level Waste in Opalinus Clay

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    30,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

L'évolution du dégagement thermique joue un rôle important dans l'évaluation d'un site destiné au stockage de déchets radioactifs. En effet, des températures élevées affectent de nombreux processus qui gouvernent le comportement du système de barrières ouvragées et celui de la roche d'accueil. Cette étude concerne l'évolution thermique d'un site de stockage pour combustible irradié et déchets de haute (DHA) et de moyenne activité (DMA). On suppose que le site est situé à une profondeur de 650 m dans la formation d'argiles à Opalinus du nord de la Suisse. Le système d'entreposage est composé de combustible irradié et de DHA, conditionnés dans des conteneurs en acier, eux-mêmes placés dans des galeries horizontales. De la bentonite est utilisée pour combler l'espace existant entre les colis et la roche environnante. Les galeries contenant les déchets sont espacées de 40 m. Les conteneurs en béton pour DMA sont placés dans des galeries séparées, l'espace entre les conteneurs étant rempli à l'aide d'un mortier de ciment.

Le dégagement thermique initial et sa diminution progressive due à la décroissance radioactive sont dépendants de la nature des déchets. Dans le cas du combustible irradié, certains colis ne renferment que du combustible UO2, tandis que d'autres contiennent à la fois du combustible UO2 et MOX (Mixed Oxide). Le dégagement thermique initial des deux types de colis est limité à 1500 W/conteneur, mais décroît plus lentement pour les colis UO2/MOX, en raison de la présence de Pu en quantités plus importantes. Pour les conteneurs de DHA, le dégagement thermique initial est d'environ 700 W et décroît plus rapidement que dans le cas du combustible irradié, à cause de la faible quantité d'actinides présents dans les DHA.

L'évolution thermique du système de barrières ouvragées et de la roche environnante a été simulée par le biais d'un modèle à éléments finis, en faisant appel à des données de référence pour les propriétés thermiques du combustible irradié, des DHA, de la bentonite utilisée pour le remplissage et des argiles à Opalinus. Les résultats montrent que, tant pour les DHA que pour le combustible irradié, la température à la surface des conteneurs atteint une valeur maximum d'environ 150°C quelques années après leur mise en place, en précisant que la température des colis de DHA décroît beaucoup plus rapidement que celle des conteneurs de combustible irradié. La température de la bentonite est en rapport étroit avec la teneur en eau qui lui est attribuée. Si l'on suppose que l'afflux d'eau en provenance de la couche d'argile à Opalinus, peu perméable, sera faible, le taux de conductivité thermique de la bentonite sera bas et la température mesurée à égale distance du colis de combustible irradié et du point de contact entre la bentonite et la roche d'accueil atteindra un maximum d'environ 110°C. Pour les colis de DHA, le point situé au centre du remplissage de bentonite ne dépassera pas 100°C. Les températures de la roche d'accueil restent inférieures à environ 90°C dans tous les cas. Dans l'éventualité, peu probable, d'un afflux d'eau plus rapide en provenance de l'argile à Opalinus, la conductivité thermique de la bentonite augmentera de façon notoire et les températures au point de contact conteneur/bentonite et dans la bentonite elle-même baisseront sensiblement.

Dans le cas des galeries contenant les DMA, un modèle à éléments frontières a été utilisé pour calculer l'évolution thermique, prenant en considération la chaleur générée par l'hydratation du béton et la décroissance radioactive. La température maximum atteinte à l'intérieur du système de barrières ouvragées est d'environ 50°C, c'est-à-dire qu'elle est supérieure d'environ 12°C à la température régnant normalement dans les argiles à Opalinus à une profondeur de 650 m.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs