Search

Technical Report NTB 00-09

Grimsel Test Site Investigation Phase IV (1994 – 1996): The Nagra-JNC in situ study of safety relevant radionuclide retardation in fractured crystalline rock I: Radionuclide Migration Experiment – Overview 1990-1996

Download

Details

The Nagra-JNC Radionuclide Migration Experiment (MI) is one of several investigations into the behaviour of radionuclides in the geosphere carried out at the Grimsel Test Site. The aims of MI were the development of methodologies for site characterisation, the study of the hydrology and geochemistry of fractured rock, the focussing of laboratory, field and modelling studies on the detailed characterisation of a single water-conducting feature, and the testing of models of radionuclide transport. The present report summarises the results of MI, updating an earlier overview report, provides a guide to detailed technical reports describing specific aspects of MI, and discusses the contribution of MI to building confidence in radionuclide transport models, including the applicability of these models to the performance assessment of radioactive waste repositories.

The central component of MI is a series of radionuclide transport tests performed in a single, approximately planar shear zone, in which well-defined dipole flow fields could be generated by injecting water at one location and extracting it at another. Tests were performed in flow fields of various sizes, strengths and locations and with a range of sorbing and non-sorbing radionuclides. In the course of carrying out the tests, a number of improvements were made to the test equipment, enhancing its reliability and minimising experimental artefacts that might affect tracer breakthrough curves. Accuracy of the measured breakthrough curves is particularly important since the effects of various retardation processes are apparent in the form of the curves only if they are measured for time periods that are several orders of magnitude longer, and for concentrations that are orders of magnitude lower, than the breakthrough peak. 

In order to support the development and parameterisation of transport models, a detailed geological, geochemical and hydrogeological characterisation of the MI shear zone was carried out. The geological characterisation included an evaluation of the small- to micro-scale structure of the shear zone and the distribution of both flow and rock matrix porosity, which provide direct input to the development of transport models, as does the hydrogeological characterisation. Furthermore, natural decay-series isotope profiles perpendicular to the MI shear zone provide unambiguous evidence of connected, diffusion-accessible porosity extending for some centimetres into the rock matrix. 

A series of laboratory and field experiments was performed to support the selection of sorbing tracers for the radionuclide transport tests, to determine the sorption properties of these tracers in laboratory conditions and to predict the in situ sorption properties of these tracers in the MI shear zone. The laboratory experiments centred on rock-water interaction tests and batchsorption measurements on material from the shear zone (crushed mylonite). They included the evaluation of sorption kinetics, reversibility and concentration-dependence ("non-linearity"). A field hydrogeochemical equilibration experiment was also carried out and yielded further information on sorption properties. Three sorbing radionuclides were identified for transport tests: weakly-sorbing sodium and moderately-sorbing strontium, both of which sorb linearly, and more strongly-sorbing caesium, which displays non-linear sorption. A mechanistic sorption model was used to predict the in situ sorption behaviour of caesium, in order to take account of competition with potassium, which is present at lower concentrations in natural Grimsel groundwater than in the laboratory experiments. 

Three different models were developed, and applied to MI breakthrough curves, by the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) and by the Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Switzerland, and by JNC in Japan. All of the models assume the dominant mechanisms for radionuclide transport to be advection and dispersion in the MI shear zone, with retardation due to matrix diffusion into stagnant pore water (largely within the fault gouge) and, for sorbing tracers, sorption on mineral surfaces. The conceptual differences between the models were relatively minor. The JNC model, unlike the PSI and ETH models, took into account transmissivity heterogeneity in the shear zone, as derived from pumping tests. The ETH model, unlike the other two, incorporated transverse, as well as longitudinal dispersion. The models also differed in the manner in which the dipole flow field was discretised in order to solve the governing equations for transport. 

All of the models were tested in terms of their ability to fit break-through curves and the consistency of the fitted parameters with what is known about the system. Furthermore, in order to maximise the contribution of MI to confidence building, emphasis was, where possible, placed on predictive model testing. Model parameters were derived from independent observations (e.g. sorption parameters inferred from laboratory experiments) and by inverse modelling (fitting) of the breakthrough curve for a non-sorbing tracer. Predictions were then made of the break-through curves for sorbing tracers (in advance of each test). 

The PSI model was applied to a particularly wide range of tracer tests, in both inverse and predictive modelling exercises, including those with a shorter dipole flow field, where the different transport mechanisms are weighted differently. The success of these exercises for the majority of tests not only supports concepts underlying the model, indicating that no relevant processes have been overlooked, but also indicates that, for tracers that sorb rapidly and exhibit reversible cation exchange, the results of laboratory experiments can be extrapolated reasonably well to in situ conditions. Adequate care must, however, be taken in selecting and preparing rock samples, so as to ensure that they properly reflect the geological character of the site. There are indications that sorption kinetics may influence the breakthrough curve of caesium, which has slower sorption kinetics, in the case of the shorter dipole flow field. Such effects are not, however, relevant to the much longer spatial and temporal scales of performance assessment. 

There are limitations to the degree to which the success of modelling breakthrough curves may be said to "validate" the models, in the sense of building confidence in their applicability in performance assessment. No information is provided, for example, on processes that, though irrelevant on the spatial and temporal scales of the transport tests, may be important over the scales relevant to performance assessment. Thus, the success of the predictions of the PSI, JNC and ETH models does not necessarily mean that the differences between the models are insignificant if applied in performance assessment and these differences may require further consideration. 

Overall, MI has demonstrated that the methodology adopted for the characterisation of waterconducting features, the simplification of this characterisation for modelling purposes, the adaptation of laboratory data (particularly sorption data) to field conditions, the selection of transport-relevant processes and the numerical solution of the governing equations, is applicable to the modelling of solute transport through a fractured crystalline rock. Apart from the technical achievements (and limitations) noted above, the participation in MI has resulted in the development of a culture of rigorous model testing and, arguably more importantly, of predictive model testing in the organisations involved. Furthermore, experience of working in a multi-disciplinary team on a long-term, challenging project has been considered to be of value to all participants, establishing successful communications between geoscientists, laboratory and field experimenters and modellers. 

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 00-09

Grimsel Test Site Investigation Phase IV (1994 – 1996): The Nagra-JNC in situ study of safety relevant radionuclide retardation in fractured crystalline rock I: Radionuclide Migration Experiment – Overview 1990-1996

Télécharger

Détails

L'expérience de migration de radioéléments (MI) de la Nagra et du JNC est l'une des multiples investigations sur le comportement des radioéléments dans la géosphère menées au laboratoire souterrain du Grimsel. Le projet MI avait pour objectifs le développement de méthodologies pour la caractérisation d'un site, l'étude de l'hydraulique et de la géochimie des roches fissurées, la synergie d'études en laboratoire, sur le terrain et par modèles sur la caractérisation détaillée d'une structure aquifère isolée, ainsi que le test de modèles de transport de radioéléments. Le présent rapport résume les résultats de ce projet tout en actualisant un rapport précédent, fournit un guide des rapports techniques sur les aspects spécifiques de la MI, et évalue son apport à la fiabilité des modèles de transport de radioéléments, ainsi qu'à leur applicabilité à l'analyse de sûreté de dépôts de déchets radioactifs.

La partie principale de la MI consiste en une série d'essais de traçage effechés dans une zone cisaillement bien distincte et à peu près plane, dans laquelle on a pu générer des champs d'écoulement dipolaire bien définis en injectant de l'eau à un endroit et en la soutirant à un autre. Les essais ont été effectués à différents endroits, échelles et intensités. Un certain nombre d'améliorations ont été apportées à l'équipement au cours des essais, avec pour résultat de renforcer sa fiabilité et de minimiser les artefacts expérimentaux pouvant affecter les courbes de restitution des traceurs. La précision des courbes de restitution est particulièrement importante, puisque le processus de retardement dû à la diffusion dans la matrice n'apparaît sous forme de courbe que si les mesures sont faites sur des périodes plus longues de plusieurs ordres de grandeur que celles du pic d'apparition, et à des concentrations de plusieurs ordres de grandeur plus faibles. 

Pour faciliter le développement et la paramétrisation des modèles de transport, on a entrepris une caractérisation détaillée de la zone de cisaillement de la MI sur les plans géologique, géochimique et hydrogéologique. La caractérisation géologique a permis d'évaluer la structure de la zone de cisaillement à petite et micro-échelle, ainsi que la distribution spatiale des porosités totale et efficace. Elle a ainsi fourni des données directement utilisables pour le développement des modèles de transport, comme l'a aussi fait la caractérisation hydrogéologique. De plus, des profils de désintégration d'isotopes naturels, perpendiculaires à la zone de cisaillement, ont montré la présence univoque d'une porosité interconnectée accessible à la diffusion sur quelques centimètres à partir des régions d'écoulement d'eau souterraine. 

Une série d'essais en laboratoire et sur le terrain a été effectuée pour faciliter la sélection de traceurs adsorbants à utiliser pour les essais. Ces tests étaient destinés à évaluer les propriétés d'adsorption des traceurs dans des conditions de laboratoire, et d'en tirer une prévision sur leurs propriétés d'adsorption in situ dans la zone de cisaillement. Les essais en laboratoire ont été focalisés sur des tests d'interaction eau-roche et sur des mesures d'adsorption globale sur des échantillons de la zone de cisaillement (mylonite broyée). Ils ont permis d'évaluer les cinétiques d'adsorption, la réversibilité et le rôle de la concentration ("non-linéarité"). Le retour à l'équilibre géochimique a également été testé in situ, ce qui a fourni des informations supplémentaires sur les propriétés d'adsorption. Trois traceurs adsorbant ont été sélectionnés pour les essais de traçage : du sodium faiblement adsorbant et du strontium modérément adsorbant, tous deux adsorbant de manière linéaire, et du césium plus fortement adsorbant, adsorbant de manière non linéaire. Un modèle d'adsorption mécaniste a été utilisé pour prédire le comportement adsorbant in situ du césium, afin de tenir compte de la compétition avec le potassium, présent en plus faible concentration dans l'eau souterraine naturelle du Grimsel que dans les essais en laboratoire. 

Trois modèles différents ont été développés et appliqués aux courbes de restitution de la MI, en Suisse par l'Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) et par l'Ecole polytechnique fédérale (EPF), et au Japon par le JNC. Tous ces modèles supposent que les mécanismes dominants de transport des traceurs sont la convection et la dispersion dans la zone de cisaillement, avec un effet retardateur dû à la diffusion à travers la matrice rocheuse, dans l'eau stagnante des pores (en grande partie à l'intérieur des matériaux de colmatage) et, pour les traceurs adsorbants, à l'adsorption sur la surface des minéraux. Les différences de conception des modèles sont relativement mineures. Le modèle du JNC, à la différence de ceux du PSI et de l'EPF, prend en compte l'hétérogénéité de la transmissivité dans la zone de cisaillement, obtenue par l'analyse des essais de pompage. Le modèle de l'EPF, à l'encontre des deux autres, inclut les dispersions longitudinale et transversale. Les modèles se distinguent aussi dans la discrétisation du champ d'écoulement dipolaire effectuée pour résoudre les équations de transport. 

Tous les modèles ont été testés sur leur capacité à reproduire les courbes de restitution et sur la cohérence des paramètres ajustés avec les connaissances déjà acquises du système. En outre l'accent a été mis, là où c'était possible, sur l'examen des capacités prédictives des modèles, afin de maximiser l'apport de l'expérience MI à la fiabilité des analyses de sûreté. Les paramètres des modèles ont été déduits d'observations indépendantes (par exemple les paramètres d'adsorption proviennent d'expériences en laboratoire) et de la modélisation inverse (ajustement) des courbes de restitution d'un traceur non adsorbant. Les prévisions des courbes de restitution ont ensuite été simulées pour des traceurs adsorbants (avant chaque essai). 

Le modèle du PSI a été appliqué à une palette particulièrement large de tests, pour des simulations inverses et des simulations prédictives, en particulier celles portant sur un champ d'écoulement dipolaire court, où les différents mécanismes de transport sont pondérés de manière variée. Le succès de ces exercices, dans la majorité des cas, non seulement confirme les concepts sous-jacents au modèle, indiquant qu'aucun processus significatif n'a été omis, mais il indique aussi que pour les traceurs qui sont rapidement adsorbés et qui ont une capacité d'échange cationique réversible, les résultats acquis en laboratoire peuvent être extrapolés raisonnablement bien aux conditions in situ. Un soin particulier doit toutefois être apporté dans la sélection et la préparation des échantillons, afin d'assurer qu'ils représentent correctement les propriétés géologiques du site. Dans le cas du champ dipolaire court, il y a des éléments indiquant que les cinétiques d'adsorption peuvent influencer les courbes de restitution du césium, dont les cinétiques d'adsorption sont plus lentes. Des effets de ce genre ne sont toutefois pas significatifs pour les champs d'écoulement bien plus étendus, sur les plans spatial temporel, pris en compte dans les analyses de sûreté. 

Modéliser avec succès des courbes de restitution ne doit pas toujours être considéré comme une validation des modèles, au sens de la confiance qu'on peut leur accorder pour les analyses de sûreté. Par exemple, on ne dispose pas d'information sur des processus insignifiants à l'échelle spatiale et temporelle des essais de traçage effectués mais qui pourraient devenir importants aux échelles considérées pour les analyses de sûreté. Ainsi, les prévisions correctes des modèles du PSI, de l'EPF et du JNC ne signifient pas nécessairement que les différences entre eux resteront insignifiantes lorsqu'on utilisera ces modèles pour les analyses de sûreté; ces différences devront peut-être faire l'objet d'une évaluation ultérieure. 

Avant tout, le projet MI a démontré la faisabilité de la modélisation du transport de soluté en roche cristalline fracturée, avec la méthodologie adoptée pour la caractérisation des structures aquifères, leur simplification pour les besoins de la modélisation, l'adaptation des résultats de laboratoire (en particulier les valeurs d'adsorption) aux conditions de terrain, la sélection des processus significatifs pour le transport et la solution numérique des équations le gouvernant. 

En dehors des réalisations techniques (et des limitations) mentionnés plus haut, la participation au projet MI a permis aux organisations concernées de développer un savoir-faire pour le test rigoureux de modèles et, mieux encore, pour le test de modèles prévisionnels. De plus, le fait de travailler dans une équipe pluridisciplinaire sur un projet de longue haleine représentant un défi a été considéré par tous les participants comme une expérience précieuse de communication réussie entre géologues, techniciens de laboratoire et de terrain et modélistes. 

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs