Search

Technical Report NTB 00-04

The Interaction of Radiolysis Products and Canister Corrosion Products and the Implications for Spent Fuel Dissolution and Radionuclide Transport in a Repository for Spent Fuel

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 50.00

Download

Details

In this report, the release of radionuclides from the engineered barrier system of a deep geological repository for spent fuel is discussed and quantitative models are presented that will be used to support the concepts, models and parameter values to be used in future Nagra performance assessments. In the Nagra repository concept, the spent fuel will be contained in massive steel canisters, or copper canisters with steel inserts, that should ensure complete containment of radionuclides for at least 1000 years. When a canister is eventually breached, and water contacts the fuel, rapid release of an “instant release fraction” occurs, together with the much slower release of radionuclides incorporated in the fuel matrix, as the matrix dissolves. Processes that affect matrix dissolution include the failure of the Zircaloy cladding, the radiolysis of water contacting the fuel, with the generation of radiolytic oxidants that may react with the fuel, and the production of Fe2+ and H2 from the corroding canister, that may scavenge radiolytic oxidants, and may also reduce the U(VI) released during fuel dissolution.

The failure of Zircaloy cladding is discussed. It is concluded that oxidants produced within the thin films of water surrounding the fuel pellets would have difficulty escaping by diffusion through the failed cladding. This provides the basis for a model of spent-fuel dissolution, in which it is assumed that all radiolytic oxidants that do not recombine with radiolytic reductants, react with the fuel surfaces. In order to apply this model, it is necessary to obtain a value for the effective yield of oxidants due to radiolysis, expressed as an effective G-value, that is suitably conservative for performance-assessment purposes. This report reviews evidence from laboratory experiments and natural analogues and concludes that a conservative value for performance-assessment calculations is 0.01 molecules of H2O2 per 100 eV.

If they are not scavenged by reductants inside the canister, such as H2 and Fe2+, radiolytic oxidants, and U(VI) from the dissolved fuel, may migrate from the breached canister into the surrounding bentonite buffer. The reducing minerals present in the bentonite, such as pyrite and siderite, will be depleted by these oxidants, forming an oxidising region, bounded by a redox front. Within this region, the solubilities of some safety-relevant radionuclides may be increased, and sorption diminished. For performance assessment, it is therefore important to assess the likely maximum penetration of the redox front.

In order to assess the scavenging by Fe2+, the corrosion of carbon steel is reviewed and a model presented for the release of Fe2+ from a corroding steel canister. Release of Fe2+ occurs when iron corrodes to magnetite, but iron may be passivated by the formation of a low-porosity layer of maghemite on the magnetite. This model is incorporated in an assessment of the redox-front migration from a canister that is breached, either at a point or, more realistically for the assumed canister design, at a circumferential crack. The production of radiolytic oxidants decreases as a function of time, whereas the production of Fe2+ initially decreases but increases at longer times as a result of the formation of high surface area corrosion deposits. Eventually, all oxidants that are produced are likely to be scavenged. The time at which production of Fe2+ first exceeds that of radiolytic oxidants is also that time at which the oxidising region reaches its maximum extent.

The report presents calculations of redox-front penetrations for different fuel types (UO2 and MOX fuels with a range of burn-ups) and for different assumptions regarding the nature of reductants in the bentonite and different canister lifetimes. It is concluded that the scavenging of radiolytic oxidants by Fe2+ from canister corrosion is an important mechanism in limiting the extent of the oxidising region, but that it is also important to establish whether credit may be taken for the full potential of pyrite in the bentonite to provide a further scavenger of radiolytic oxidants.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technical Report NTB 00-04

The Interaction of Radiolysis Products and Canister Corrosion Products and the Implications for Spent Fuel Dissolution and Radionuclide Transport in a Repository for Spent Fuel

Ordre

  • version papier, anglais
    50,00 CHF

Télécharger

Détails

Ce rapport traite de la libération de radioéléments à partir du système de barrières techniques d’un dépôt pour combustible usagé en milieu géologique profond. Les modèles quantitatifs présentés servent à étayer les concepts, modèles et valeurs de paramètres à utiliser dans les futures évaluations de performance de la Cédra. Dans le concept d’entreposage de la Cédra, le combustible usagé sera placé dans des fûts massifs en acier, ou en cuivre avec un revêtement interne d’acier. Ces fûts sont conçus pour confiner complètement les radioéléments pendant au moins 1000 ans. Si un fût venait à s’endommager et que de l’eau entrait en contact avec le combustible, il s’ensuivrait une libération rapide de la «fraction de libération instantanée», ainsi qu’une libération beaucoup plus lente des radioéléments incorporés dans la matrice du combustible, au cours de la dissolution de cette dernière. Les processus qui affectent la dissolution de la matrice comprennent l’endommagement du revêtement de «Zircaloy», la radiolyse de l’eau au contact du combustible, avec la production d’oxydants radiolytiques pouvant réagir avec le combustible, ainsi que la production de Fe2+ et H2 par corrosion du fût, pouvant mobiliser des oxydants radiolytiques mais aussi diminuer la libération de U(IV) lors de la dissolution du combustible.

Les conséquences de l’endommagement du revêtement de «Zircaloy» sont discutées dans le rapport. On en conclut que les oxydants produits dans les minces pellicules d’eau entourant les boulettes de combustible auraient de la peine à s’échapper par diffusion à travers le revêtement endommagé. Ce fait sert de base à un modèle de dissolution du combustible usagé, dans lequel on admet que tous les oxydants radiolytiques qui ne se combinent pas avec des réducteurs radiolytiques réagissent avec la surface du combustible. Pour appliquer ce modèle, il est nécessaire de disposer d’une valeur ou d’une fourchette de valeurs pour la production effective des oxydants issus de la radiolyse, exprimées comme valeurs-G effectives, suffisamment prudentes pour les besoins d’évaluation de la performance. Le rapport passe en revue les résultats d’expériences en laboratoire et les constats d’analogues naturels. Il en conclut qu’une valeur raisonnablement pessimiste pour les calculs d’évaluation de la performance peut être fixée à 0.01 molécules H2O2 pour 100 eV.

S’ils ne sont pas mobilisés par les réducteurs à l’intérieur du fût, les éléments tels que le Fe2+, les oxydants radiolytiques et l’U(IV) issus de la dissolution du combustible peuvent migrer du fût endommagé vers le tampon de bentonite environnant. Les minéraux réducteurs présents dans la bentonite, tels que la pyrite et la sidérite, seront attaqués par ces oxydants, formant une région oxydante entourée d’un front redox. A l’intérieur de cette région, la solubilité de quelques radioéléments représentatifs pour les analyses de sécurité peut s’accroître, et l’adsorption peut diminuer. Il est donc important, pour l’évaluation de la performance, d’estimer la pénétration maximale probable du front redox.

Pour l’évaluation de la mobilisation par le Fe2+, la corrosion de l’acier dur (riche en carbone) est passée en revue, et un modèle est présenté pour la libération du Fe2+ à partir d’un fût d’acier se corrodant. Du Fe2+ est libéré lorsque le fer se transforme en magnétite par corrosion, mais le fer peut être rendu passif par la formation d’une couche de maghémite sur la magnétite. Ce modèle est incorporé à une évaluation de la migration du front redox à partir d’un fût endommagé soit en un point, soit sur le pourtour par une fissure. Ce dernier cas de figure est plus réaliste, compte tenu du type de fût envisagé. La production d’oxydants radiolytiques décroît avec le temps, tandis que la production du Fe2+ commence par décroître pour croître ensuite à cause de la formation de dépôts de corrosion à grande surface. En fin de compte, tous les oxydants produits seront probablement mobilisés. Le moment où la production de Fe2+ dépasse pour la première fois celle des oxydants radiolitiques correspond au moment du maximum d’extension de la région oxydante.

Le rapport présente les calculs de pénétration du front redox pour différents types de combustible (combustibles UO2 et MOX avec un éventail de sous-produits de combustion) et différentes hypothèses sur la nature des réducteurs contenus dans la bentonite, ainsi que différentes durées de vie des fûts. On en conclut que la mobilisation des oxydants radiolytiques par le Fe2+ issu de la corrosion des fûts est un mécanisme important pour la limitation de l’extension de la région oxydante, mais qu’il est également important de savoir si l’on peut en compte toute la capacité de la pyrite contenue dans la bentonite à servir de mobilisateur supplémentaire des oxydants radiolytiques.

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs