Search
Internationale Forschung

Joining forces to dispose of radioactive waste

Together with scientists from all over the world, we conduct research at the Swiss underground rock laboratories and in other laboratories in Switzerland and abroad.

The sustainable and safe disposal of radioactive waste is a global challenge. For this reason, Nagra exchanges information with national and international scientific institutes and conducts joint projects in the underground rock laboratories.

Collaboration beyond national borders

To exchange expertise, we organise conferences and participate in international organisations – in particular with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) and the EU. Our specialists are also represented in several advisory groups of other waste management organisations – for example in Belgium, Canada, Finland, France and Germany.

When questions arise, we turn to our network which, aside from our partner organisations, includes the scientific community that reviews our publications. Working with leading specialists from all around the world ensures the high, internationally recognised quality of our work.

Laboratory studies provide import scientific groundwork

We also join forces in laboratory studies and modelling exercises. In Switzerland, for example, we carry out diffusion experiments in the Opalinus Clay together with the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) and the University of Bern. We also work with them on investigating the sorption of radionuclides in clay minerals. The results are helpful when developing models of the migration of radionuclides or geochemical models.

Proben aus den Tiefbohrungen
Samples from Nagra's deep boreholes are geomechanically investigated at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL). This helps us to improve our estimates of the long-term behaviour of the Opalinus Clay. Photo: © Comet Photoshopping GmbH, Dieter Enz

Samples from our deep boreholes are analysed at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL) and the University of Bern. This allows us to learn more about the water contained in the pores of the Opalinus Clay. The Institute of Geological Sciences at the University of Bern has also analysed drill cores obtained from our Quaternary boreholes and dated the sediments they contain. This information allows us to determine when glacial advances occurred.

We have also conducted modelling exercises with the University of Zurich. When glacial advances will occur in the future depends on climate evolution. We work closely with the Oeschger Centre for Climate Research of the University of Bern on this topic.

Eisfliessmodellierung
3D image of ice flow models

The Swiss repository concept also foresees using steel disposal canisters to enclose the high-level waste. Together with other waste management organisations, Nagra is conducting experiments in a Canadian research centre to measure the extremely slow corrosion rate of steel.

Our work has to meet high technical and scientific standards. To reach this goal, our specialists work not only with external scientists but, for many years, have also been collaborating with independent, external advisors, whose scientific expertise helps us both to scrutinise our work and to keep learning.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search
Internationale Forschung

Unir nos forces pour le stockage des déchets nucléaires

Nous collaborons avec des scientifiques du monde entier, dans les laboratoires souterrains suisses et dans d’autres laboratoires, en Suisse et à l’étranger.

Le stockage sûr et durable des déchets radioactifs est un défi global. C’est pourquoi la Nagra se trouve dans un échange permanent avec des institutions spécialisées, suisses et étrangères, et réalise des projets conjoints dans les laboratoires souterrains.

Une collaboration par-delà les frontières

Nous organisons des conférences pour l’échange de savoir et collaborons au sein d’organisations internationales, notamment l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), l’Agence pour l’énergie nucléaire (AEN) et l’Union européenne. Nos experts siègent en outre dans différents organes de consultation d’organisations partenaires, en Belgique, en Allemagne, en Finlande, en France ou au Canada par exemple.

Lorsque des questions se posent, nous consultons notre réseau qui englobe, outre les organisations partenaires, également les milieux scientifiques, auxquels nous faisons appel pour l’examen critique de nos travaux La collaboration avec d’éminents spécialistes du monde entier assure la qualité élevée de notre travail et sa reconnaissance internationale.

L’apport crucial des études en laboratoire

Nous unissons également nos forces dans le cadre des études en laboratoire et des modélisations. En Suisse, nous réalisons par exemple des expériences de diffusion dans l’Argile à Opalinus en collaboration avec l’Institut Paul Scherrer (IPS) et l’Université de Berne. Nous étudions aussi conjointement la sorption des radionucléides sur les minéraux argileux. Les résultats servent notamment à la modélisation du transport des radionucléides ou à l’élaboration de modèles géochimiques.

Proben aus den Tiefbohrungen
Les échantillons provenant des forages en profondeur de la Nagra sont soumis à des examens géomécaniques à l’École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). Les connaissances ainsi acquises nous aident à prévoir plus précisément le comportement à long terme de l’Argile à Opalinus. Photo : © Comet Photoshopping GmbH, Dieter Enz

Nous faisons analyser les échantillons provenant des forages en profondeur notamment à l’École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) et à l’Université de Berne. Nous en apprenons ainsi davantage sur l’eau contenue dans les pores de l’Argile à Opalinus. L’Institut de géologie de l’Université de Berne a également examiné les carottes provenant de nos forages quaternaires et déterminé l’âge des sédiments qu’elles contiennent. Ces informations nous permettent de savoir à quels moments ont eu lieu des glaciations.

Les modélisations correspondantes sont élaborées en collaboration avec l'Université de Zurich. La prochaine avancée des glaciers dépend de l’évolution du climat. Sur ce thème, nous travaillons avec le Centre Oeschger pour la recherche climatique de l’Université de Berne.

Eisfliessmodellierung
Vue 3D de la modélisation de l'écoulement de la glace

Dans le concept suisse de stockage en couches géologiques profondes, le conteneur de dépôt final en acier contribue au confinement des déchets. La Nagra mène des expériences dans un centre de recherche canadien, en collaboration avec des homologues étrangers, pour déterminer le taux – très lent – de corrosion de l’acier.

Notre travail doit répondre à des exigences techniques et scientifiques de haut niveau. C’est pourquoi nos experts ne se contentent pas de mener des recherches avec des scientifiques extérieurs ; nous misons également depuis de longues années sur la coopération avec des conseillers externes indépendants. Ils nous aident à remettre sans cesse en question notre travail et ainsi à en apprendre toujours plus.

Souhaitez-vous approfondir vos connaissances ? Quelques liens utiles

Donnez votre avis et visitez-nous.

Suivez nous

Téléphone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs