About Nagra

Nagra stands for «National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste».


The Nuclear Energy Act states that the waste producers are responsible for the safe management of their radioactive waste.

In 1972, the operators of the nuclear power plants and the Swiss Confederation (responsible for radioactive waste from medicine, industry and research) set up Nagra to perform this task.

Nagra has a clear mandate: radioactive waste arising in Switzerland has to be disposed of in a way that ensures the long-term protection of man and the environment.

Nagra's work is supported by an effective quality management system that is certified in accordance with ISO 9001:2015.


The members of the Nagra Cooperative

Swiss Confederation (represented by the Department of Home Affairs) 

BKW Energie AG, Bern (Mühleberg NPP) 

Kernkraftwerk Gösgen-Däniken AG, Däniken (Gösgen NPP) 

Kernkraftwerk Leibstadt AG, Leibstadt (Leibstadt NPP) 

Axpo Power AG, Baden (Beznau I and II NPPs)

Alpiq AG, Olten

Zwilag Zwischenlager Würenlingen AG, Würenlingen

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By browsing this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on our “Legal Conditions and Privacy Policy”, click here. Find out more about legal and data protection here
I accept