Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 99-12

Sondierbohrung Benken Bohrtechnik, Bau- und Umweltaspekte

Download

Details

The aim of the Benken borehole was to investigate the properties of the Opalinus Clay and surrounding rock formations and to correlate the seismic data with these results.

Following a licensing procedure which lasted several years, accessing and construction of the drillsite began in April 1998. As a result of the poor ground conditions, additional piling of the foundation for the drilling equipment was necessary, as was installation of a string of auxiliary casing down to a depth of 30 m.

Drilling began on 3rd September 1998 and, including the scientific investigations carried out in the borehole, continued till 12th May 1999. With a final depth of 1007.00 m, the borehole passed through 983.3 m of Neozoic and Mesozoic sediments and 23.7 m of gneisses of the crystalline basement.

With the exception of a salt horizon and crystalline basement in the deepest part of the borehole, geological predictions were largely confirmed by the drilling results.

The borehole was drilled with three-cone-bits for the uppermost 394.8 m; the remaining section was continuously cored using the wire line technique. The drilling rig used was a hydraulic rotary drillig rig, type Wirth B5-R.

For the cored sections, triple core barrels with synthetic liners were used almost exclusively and core recovery was around 99%. The main cored diameter and the final diameter of the borehole were 6 1/4" (158.8 mm).

A total of four permanent casings were installed in the borehole and, with the exception of the anchor casing, were cemented up to ground level. It was not necessary to install a further reserve casing.

The upper section of the borehole down to the base of the Malm limestones and the Upper and Middle Muschelkalk were drilled using a clay-freshwater drilling fluid. The section up to the installation of the anchor casing was marked by unfavourable geohydraulic formation properties.

For the first time in such an exploratory borehole, the Opalinus Clay and its neighbouring formations were drilled using a sodium silicate fluid. Despite the excellent functioning of this fluid in inhibiting the swelling of clay formations that are sensitive to freshwater, stability problems did occur. The reason for this was the hydraulic borehole tests, which were intensive in terms of time and procedure and partly involved several exchanges of drilling fluid. The difficult situation also led, on several occasions, to time-consuming fishing jobs.

Besides the two types of drilling fluid (clay-freshwater and sodium silicate), it was also necessary to use a saturated saline fluid for drilling through the salt horizon as stabilisation of the salt zone by cementation proved unsuccessful.

Once the final depth of 1007.0 m had been reached and the active borehole investigations were completed, the borehole was backfilled with cement up to 827.7 m.

With the perforation of the end casing and preparation of the borehole for installation of the long-tem monitoring system, work was completed 250 working days (continuous 24-hour operation) after spud-in. Of this total, the time used for scientific investigations in the borehole amounted to around 44% and the drilling activities to 56%.

Once the drilling equipment had been removed, a system for long-term monitoring of deep groundwaters was installed in the borehole and the drill-site was partly recultivated.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 99-12

Sondierbohrung Benken Bohrtechnik, Bau- und Umweltaspekte

Download

Details

Das Ziel der Sondierbohrung Benken war, die Eigenschaften des Opalinustons und seiner benachbarten Schichten (Rahmengesteine) abzuklären und die seismischen Daten mit diesen Ergebnissen zu korrelieren.

Nach einem mehrjährigen Bewilligungsverfahren konnte im April 1998 mit der Erschliessung und dem Bau des Bohrplatzes begonnen werden. Die schlechten Baugrundverhältnisse erzwangen dabei eine zusätzliche Pfählung des Bohrgerätefundaments sowie das Setzen einer Hilfsstandrohrtour bis 30 m Tiefe.

Die Bohrarbeiten wurden am 3. September 1998 aufgenommen und dauerten, zusammen mit den in der Bohrung ausgeführten wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen, bis zum 12. Mai 1999. Mit einer Endtiefe von 1'007.0 m durchteufte die Bohrung 983.3 m neo- und mesozoische Sedimentgesteine und 23.7 m Gneise des kristallinen Grundgebirges.

Mit Ausnahme des Antreffens eines Salzlagerhorizontes und des kristallinen Grundgebirges im untersten Teil der Bohrung konnte die geologische Prognose durch die Bohrungsresultate weitgehend bestätigt werden.

Die Bohrung wurde als kombinierte Meissel- und Kernbohrung ausgeführt, wobei die obersten 394.8 m gemeisselt und die übrige Strecke unter Verwendung der Seilkernbohrtechnik lückenlos gekernt wurde. Als Bohrgerät kam eine hydraulische Kraftdrehkopfanlage des Typs Wirth B5-R zum Einsatz.

Über die Kernstrecken wurden nahezu ausschliesslich Dreifachkernrohre mit Kunststoffinnenrohrlinern verwendet, der Gesamtkerngewinn lag bei knapp 99 %. Der Haupt-Kernbohrdurchmesser sowie der Enddurchmesser der Bohrung betrugen 6 1/4" (158.8 mm).

Insgesamt wurden vier permanente Verrohrungen in der Bohrung gesetzt und mit Ausnahme der Ankerverrohrung jeweils bis zutage zementiert. Auf das Absetzen einer weiteren Reserverohrtour konnte verzichtet werden.

Der obere Bohrlochabschnitt bis zur Basis der Malmkalke sowie der Obere und Mittlere Muschelkalk wurden mit einer Ton-Süsswasserspülung erbohrt. Dabei wurde die Bohrstrecke bis zum Setzen der Ankerverrohrung durch ungünstige geohydraulische Formationseigenschaften geprägt.

Den Opalinuston und seine angrenzenden Formationen erbohrte man unter Verwendung einer Natrium-Silikatspülung, welche erstmalig im Rahmen einer derartigen Sondierbohrung eingesetzt wurde. Trotz ihrer ausgezeichneten Inhibierungswirkung hinsichtlich des Quellens von frischwasserempfindlichen Tonformationen traten Stabilitäts- und Kaliberprobleme auf. Grund dafür waren die zeit- und verfahrensintensiven hydraulischen Bohrlochtests mit teilweise mehrmaligem Spülungsaustausch. Die nicht einfache Bohrlochsituation führte verschiedentlich auch zu längerdauernden Fangarbeiten.

Neben den beiden Bohrspülungstypen Ton-Süsswasser und Natrium-Silikat wurde ab dem Erbohren des Salzlagers zusätzlich eine gesättigte Salzwasserspülung erforderlich, nachdem eine Stabilisierung der Salzzone durch Zementationen keinen Erfolg gebracht hatte.

Nach Erreichen der Endteufe von 1'007.0 m und dem Abschluss der aktiven Bohrlochuntersuchungen wurde die Bohrung bis 827.7 m mit Zement rückverfüllt.

Mit der Perforation der Endverrohrung und dem Vorbereiten der Bohrung zur Aufnahme eines Langzeitbeobachtungssystems waren die Arbeiten nach 250 Arbeitstagen ab Spud-in mit durchgehendem 24-Stundenbetrieb abgeschlossen. Gesamthaft betrug davon der Zeitaufwand für wissenschaftliche Bohrlochuntersuchungsarbeiten rund 44 %, jener für bohrtechnische Arbeiten 56 %.

Nach dem Abzug der Bohrgerätschaften wurde ein System zur Langzeitbeobachtung der Tiefengrundwässer in der Bohrung installiert und das Bohrplatzgelände zum Teil rekultiviert.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle