Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 93-33

Wachstum mikrobieller Mischkulturen unter anaeroben, alkalischen Bedingungen

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 40.00

Download

Details

Cement and concrete are the most important engineered barrier materials in a repository for low- and intermediate-level waste and thus represent the most significant component of the total disposal inventory. Based on the chemical composition of the concrete used in the repository and the groundwater fluxes in the modelled host rock, it is to be expected that the pH in the near vicinity of the repository could exceed a value of 10.5 for more than a million years. The groundwater in the repository environment also has a limited carbon concentration. Since microorganisms will be present in a repository and can even find suitable living conditions within the waste itself, investigations were carried out in order to establish the extent to which microbial activity is possible under the extreme conditions of the repository near-field.

For the investigations, alkalophilic mixed cultures were enriched from samples form alkaline habitats and from Valanginian Marl. Anaerobic bacteria with fermentative, sulphate-reducing and methanogenic metabolisms were selected. The growth and activity of the mixed cultures were studied under alkaline conditions and the dependence on pH and carbon concentration determined.

All the mixed cultures investigated are alkalophilic. The optimum growth range for the cultures is between pH 9.0 and pH 10.0. The activity limit for the fermentative mixed culture is at pH 12, for the sulphate-reducers at pH 11 and for the methanogens at pH 10.5. Given the limited supply of carbon, the mixed cultures can only grow under slightly alkaline conditions. Only the fermentative cultures are capable of surviving with limited carbon supply at pH 13.

Organisms of the two strictly anaerobic metabolic types (sulphate-reducers and methanogens) will initially have very low activity levels in the disposal zone at pH values over 10.5. Fermentative bacteria, on the other hand, are capable from the start of surviving the extreme conditions in the vicinity of the repository. Even though their growth rate my be slow, they are capable of creating niches with less extreme conditions in which other less alkali-resistant organisms can then grow. Microbial activity, and its consequences for repository safety, cannot therefore be ruled out even under extreme conditions.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 93-33

Wachstum mikrobieller Mischkulturen unter anaeroben, alkalischen Bedingungen

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, deutsch
    40,00 CHF

Download

Details

Zement und Beton bilden in einem Endlager für mittel- und schwachradioaktive Abfälle die wichtigsten Barrieren und damit auch den bedeutendsten Anteil des gesamten Lagervolumens. Aufgrund der chemischen Zusammensetzung des verwendeten Betons und der Grundwasserflüsse im Lager­Modellgestein ist zu erwarten, dass der pH im Nahbereich des Lagers während mehr als einer Million Jahre über pH 10.5 liegen dürfte. Zusätzlich ist im Grundwasser der Lagerumgebung der Kohlenstoff limitiert. Da im Endlager Mikroorganismen vorhanden sein werden und diese auch im Abfall selbst gute Lebensbedingungen finden dürften, wurde untersucht, wie weit unter den extremen Bedingungen des Nahfeldes mikrobielle Aktivität möglich ist.

Von Proben aus alkalischen Habitaten und aus Valanginienmergel wurden für die Untersuchungen alkalophile Mischkulturen angereichert. Es wurden anaerobe Bakterien mit fermentierenden, sulfatreduzierenden und methanogenen Stoffwechseltypen selektioniert. Wachstum und Aktivitäten der Mischkulturen wurden unter alkalischen Bedingungen untersucht und die Abhängigkeit vom pH und der Kohlenstoffkonzentration bestimmt.

Alle untersuchten Mischkulturen sind alkalophil. Der optimale Wachstumsbereich der Kulturen liegt zwischen pH 9.0 und pH 10.0. Die Aktivitätsgrenze der. fermentierenden Mischkultur liegt bei pH 12, diejenige der Sulfatreduzenten bei pH 11 und die der Methanogene bei pH 10.5. Mit limitierten Kohlenstoffquellen können die Mischkulturen nur noch bei leicht alkalischem pH wachsen. Einzig die fermentierenden Kulturen vermögen Kohlenstofflimitierung bei pH 13 zu überdauern.

Organismen der beiden strikt anaeroben Stoffwechseltypen (Sulfatreduzenten und Methanogene) werden anfänglich im Lagerbereich bei pH-Werten über 10.5 höchstens sehr geringe Aktivität zeigen. Fermentierende Bakterien dagegen dürften von Anfang an in der Lage sein, die extremen Bedingungen im Bereich eines Endlagers zu überdauern und, wenn auch bei langsamem Wachstum, Nischen mit weniger extremen Bedingungen zu schaffen, in denen schliesslich auch weniger alkaliresistente Organismen wachsen können. Somit kann mikrobielle Aktivität und deren Folgen für die Sicherheit auch unter extremen Endlagerbedingungen nicht ausgeschlossen werden.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle