Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 91-28

Diffusion von Eisen- und Jodid-Ionen in hochverdichtetem Bentonit

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 20.00

Download

Details

The diffusion coefficients of iron(II) and iodide ions in the Na-bentonite MX-80 and Ca-bentonite Montigel were determined as non-stationary apparent diffusion coefficients under dynamic conditions using special diffusion apparatus.

For dry densities around 16 kN/m3 or saturation water contents of 25 %, the apparent diffusion coefficients of iron(II) ions at ambient temperature are in the order of 8 × 10-13 m2/s to 7 × 10-12 m2/s. An exchange of free cations in the bentonites, i.e. Ca ions rather than Na ions in the MX-80 and Na ions rather than Ca ions in the Montigel, had no effect on the diffusion coefficients of the iron(II) ions. For dry densities of around 17 kN/m3 or water contents of around 20 %, the apparent diffusion coefficients of iodide ions are 2 × 10-11 m2/s to 4 × 10-11 m2/s at ambient temperature and 3 × 10-11 m2/s to 5 × 10-11 m2/s at 150°C. These values are around an order of magnitude smaller than those determined by KAHR et al. (1985) using free-standing, compacted, non­saturated bentonite samples. At ambient temperature, diffusion coefficients of 1 × 10-10 m2/s to 4 × 10-10 m2/s were determined for iodide ions in such experiments.

The apparent diffusion coefficients for iron(II) and iron(III) ions were also measured for free-standing, compacted, non-saturated bentonite samples (MX-80 and Montigel). With water contents of around 17 %, the diffusion coefficients for iron(II) ions at ambient temperature are 3 × 10-11 m2/s to 4 × 10-11 m2/s; with water contents of around 27 %, the figure is 6 × 10-11 m2/s. These values are thus around an order of magnitude above those determined using the diffusion apparatus. With water contents of around 28 %, the diffusion coefficients for iron(lII) ions are 8 × 10-11 m2/s.

The differences between the results for diffusion coefficients for the two measuring methods (diffusion apparatus versus free-standing samples) were a maximum of one order of magnitude for both iron(II) and iodide ions. The larger values for diffusion coefficients were determined for the free-standing samples.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 91-28

Diffusion von Eisen- und Jodid-Ionen in hochverdichtetem Bentonit

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, deutsch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Die Diffusionskoeffizienten von Eisen(II)- und Jodid-Ionen im Na-Bentonit MX-80 und Ca-Bentonit Montigel wurden in einer speziellen Diffusionsapparatur unter dynamischen Bedingungen als instationäre apparente Diffusionskoeffizienten ermittelt. Für Trockendichten um 16 kN/m3 resp. Sättigungswassergehalte um 25 % liegen die apparenten Diffusionskoeffizienten von Eisen(II)-Ionen bei Raumtemperatur in der Grössenordnung von 8 × 10-13 m2/s bis 7 × 10-12 m2/s. Ein Umtausch der austauschbaren Kationen in den Bentoniten, d. h. Ca-Ionen statt Na-Ionen im MX-80 und Na-Ionen statt Ca-Ionen im Montigel, hatte keinen Einfluss auf die Diffusionskoeffizienten von Eisen(II)-Ionen. Die apparenten Diffusionskoeffizienten von Jodid-Ionen betragen für Trockendichten von etwa 17 kN/m3, resp. Wassergehalte von etwa 20 %, bei Raumtemperatur 2 × 10-11 m2/s bis 4 × 10-11 m2/s und bei 150°C 3 × 10-11 m2/s bis 50 × 10-11 m2/s. Diese Werte sind etwa eine Zehnerpotenz kleiner als diejenigen von KAHR et al. (1985) an freistehenden, verdichteten, nicht gesättigten Bentonit-Proben ermittelten Werte. Bei jenen Experimenten wurden bei Raumtemperatur Diffusionskoeffizienten von Jodid-Ionen zu 1 × 10-10 m2/s bis 4 × 10-10 m2/s bestimmt.

Die apparenten Diffusionskoeffizienten von Eisen(II)- und Eisen(lII)-lonen wurden ebenfalls in freistehenden, verdichteten, nicht gesättigten Bentonit-Proben (MX-80 und Montigel) gemessen. Bei Wassergehalten von etwa 17 % betragen die Diffusionskoeffizienten von Eisen(II)-Ionen bei Raumtemperatur 3 × 10-11 m2/s bis 4 × 10-11 m2/s, bei Wassergehalten von etwa 27 % 6 × 10-11 m2/s. Sie liegen somit etwa eine Zehnerpotenz über den in Diffusionsapparaten ermittelten Werten. Die Diffusionskoeffizienten von Eisen(lII)-Ionen betragen bei Wassergehalten von etwa 28 % 8 × 10-11 m2/s.

Zwischen den Resultaten der beiden Messmethoden (Diffusionsapparat versus freistehende Proben) wurden sowohl für Eisen(II)- als auch für Jodid-Ionen Unterschiede in den Diffusionskoeffizienten von maximal einer Zehnerpotenz beobachtet. Die grösseren Diffusionskoeffizienten wurden in den freistehenden Proben bestimmt.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle