Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 90-17

Langzeitquellenverhalten von Tongesteinen und tonigen Sulfatgesteinen

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

The swelling behaviour of shales such as the Opalinum Clay, and of clay-containing sulphate rocks is, in addition to the influence of the overburden pressure, mainly dependent on the mineralogical composition of the rock.

The swelling potential of shales increases with increasing content and specific surface area of the clay. Swelling pressures greater than 2 MPa and swelling strains greater than 10 percent are usually not encountered above depths of up to 300 m below the ground surface.

The relationship between the swelling behaviour of clay-sulphate rocks and their mineralogical composition is more complicated than that of pure clays. In those rocks which contain anhydrite, the texture determines the time-swelling behaviour and the development of the mineralogical swelling potential.

Rocks containing only anhydrite do not swell, whereas, rocks containing 5 percent clay may develop a swelling stress of more than 1 MPa for axial strains less than 1 percent. The maximum swelling potential was found in rocks containing 10 to 15 percent clay and 70 to 75 percent anhydrite. With this latter composition, a swelling stress greater than 4 MPa was determined for axial strain less than 2.5 percent. Samples containing more than 15 percent clay tended to show a smaller swelling potential.

The swelling strain of clay-sulphate rock depends on the quantity of anhydrite which is converted into gypsum. The clay content also plays an important role. Rock without clay shows no swelling strain, even after a testing period of six years.

Samples with a higher clay content exhibit a faster conversion of anhydrite into gypsum than do samples with a smaller amount of clay. The swelling strain of samples containing as little as 5 percent clay was more than 100 percent after a testing period of two years. During this period 90 percent of the anhydrite was converted into gypsum.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 90-17

Langzeitquellenverhalten von Tongesteinen und tonigen Sulfatgesteinen

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, deutsch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Sowohl bei Tongesteinen, wie beispielsweise Opalinuston, als auch bei Sulfatgesteinen ist nebst dem Überlagerungsdruck die mineralogische Zusammensetzung des Gesteins von massgebender Bedeutung für das Quellverhalten.

Bei den Tongesteinen wächst das Quellpotential mit zunehmendem Tongehalt und der spezifischen Oberfläche des Tons. Quelldrücke grösser als 2 MPa und Quellmasse grösser als 10 % sind aber bei Tiefen bis 300 m eher selten.

Bei den Sulfatgesteinen ist der Zusammenhang zwischen Quellverhalten und mineralogischer Zusammensetzung komplizierter, weil hier auch das Gefüge eine grosse Rolle spielt. Das Gefüge bestimmt den zeitlichen Verlauf und die Ausnützung des vorhandenen mineralogischen Quellpotentials.

Gesteine aus massigem Anhydrit sind nicht quellfähig. Anhydritgesteine mit einem Tongehalt von 5 % verursachen schon Quelldrücke grösser als 1 MPa (axiale Deformationen kleiner als 1 %). Ein Maximum an Quellvermögen haben Gesteine mit einer Zusammensetzung von 10 bis 15 % Ton und 70 bis 75 % Anhydrit. Hier wurden Quelldrücke grösser als 4 MPa gemessen (axiale Deformationen kleiner als 2.5 %). Bei Proben mit einem Tongehalt grösser als 15 %, resp. einem Anhydritgehalt kleiner als 70 %, nimmt das Quellpotential wieder ab.

Das Quellmass tonhaItiger Anhydritgesteine ist direkt von der Menge des in Gips umgewandelten Anhydrits abhängig. Auch hier spielt der Tongehalt eine grosse Rolle. Gesteine ohne Ton (massiger Anhydrit) sind trotz Versuchsdauer von bis zu sechs Jahren nicht gequollen. J

e mehr Ton eine Ton-Anhydritprobe enthält, desto rascher wandelt sich der Anhydrit in Gips um. Bei Proben mit 5 % Ton wurden nach einer Versuchsdauer von zwei Jahren schon Quellmasse grösser als 100 % gemessen bei allseitig unbehinderter Quellung. Dabei wandelten sich 90 % des Anhydrits in Gips um.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle