Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 84-42

Endlager für hochaktive Abfälle Sicherheitstechnische Aspekte der Betriebsphase

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Compliance with applicable regulations and rules cannot completely prevent the occurence of incidents during the operational phase of a nuclear waste repository. Incidents, breakdown of different equipment etc. could be caused despite such preventive measures by natural phenomena, by wear and tear of components or by human error.

This report addresses mainly the question, whether any unacceptable radiological release would occur from a disposal facility for high level waste during its operational phase, either from routine operation or in the wake of operational incidents.

The corresponding safety assessment is based on the conceptual type-C repository that was developed by Nagra and its contractors in the framework of Projekt Gewähr 1985 and which is described in detail in Nagra report NGB 85-03. Three different kinds of waste are to be disposed of in this mine-type repository. They originate from reprocessing plants in which the spent fuel elements of nuclear reactors are treated.

The present report suggests numerous accident scenarios which are initiated by both repository internal and external causes. These scenarios are representative for waste disposal facilities and they envelop all credible incident situations in such plants.

Amongst the discussed scenarios an in depth analysis is performed only for those, for which worst accident consequences can be expected. In the detail calculations the assumptions used are always conservative and yield therefore pessimistic results. This practice is standard for safety analyses in the nuclear field.

The investigations described briefly in this report have led to the following conclusions:

The barriers created around the waste material are very efficient and prevent radioactive releases during operations in the waste repository. This is mainly achieved by fixing the radioactive nuclides within a matrix material, e.i. glass, bitumen or cement. Additionally, several other barriers are completely enclosing the waste material whenever it is transported, handled or stored. The backfill material, which is put in place shortly after the deposition of waste packages, is also minimizing potential accident consequences.

During normal, undisturbed repository operation no radioactivity is released from the repository to the environment.

Even severe hypothetical incidents will only lead to minor radioactive discharges into the environment. The consequences of such releases will hence remain well within acceptable limits.

In summary, with respect to radioactive exposures, it can be stated that no danger arises from the operation of the proposed type-C waste repository for the population and the environment.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 84-42

Endlager für hochaktive Abfälle Sicherheitstechnische Aspekte der Betriebsphase

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, deutsch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Trotz der Beachtung aller einschlägigen Vorschriften und Regeln könnte es während der Betriebsphase eines Endlagers zu Störungen kommen. Solche Pannen, Ausfälle von einzelnen Geräten etc. können durch naturbedingte Ereignisse, durch Verschleiss und Alterung von technischen Geräten oder durch menschliches Versagen entstehen.

Der vorliegende Bericht geht der Frage nach, ob in einem Endlager für hochaktive Abfälle innerbetriebliche Vorgänge bzw. während des Betriebs auftretende Störfälle zu unzulässigen radiologischen Freisetzungen führen könnten.

Den durchgeführten Störfalluntersuchungen ist jenes Endlager Typ C zugrundegelegt, welches im Rahmen des Projekts Gewähr 1985 erarbeitet wurde und welches im Nagra-Bericht NGB 85-03 (Bautechnik und Betriebsphase} dargestellt ist. In solch einem Endlager werden drei verschiedene Abfallsorten eingelagert. Sie alle fallen bei der Wiederaufarbeitung bestrahlter Brennstoffe aus Kernkraftwerken an.

Im vorliegenden Bericht werden Störfallszenarien vorgestellt, die sowohl auf Einwirkungen von Innen als auch von Aussen zurückgeführt werden können. Diese Störfälle sind für ein Endlager repräsentativ und decken alle denkbaren Unfallsituationen ab. Dabei wurden jedoch nur diejenigen Störfälle analytisch behandelt, welche die grösstmöglichen Auswirkungen erwarten lassen. Die Berechnungen wurden mit bewusst konservativen Annahmen durchgeführt, wie dies für Kernanlagen üblich ist.

Die Untersuchungen haben zu folgenden Schlussfolgerungen geführt:

Die vorgesehenen Schutzbarrieren gegen die Freisetzung von Aktivität sind auch während der Betriebsphase wirksam. Dies betrifft zunächst die Art und Weise, wie die radioaktiven Stoffe in den Abfallgebinden fixiert sind. Mit der festen Einbindung der Radionuklide in eine Glas-, Zement-bzw. Bitumenmatrix wird eine sehr wirksame erste Barriere gegen Freisetzungen gewonnen. Hinzu kommen die vorgesehenen Schutzhüllen, welche die Gebinde beim Transport und Lagerung in der Anlage umschliessen. Die gleich nach der Einlagerung um die Abfallgebinde eingebrachte Verfüllung trägt zusätzlich wesentlich zur Verminderung von Störfallfolgen bei.

Während des normalen ungestörten Endlagerbetriebes werden keine radioaktiven Stoffe an die Umgebung abgegeben.

Selbst unwahrscheinliche Störfälle würden nur zu sehr kleinen Abgaben radioaktiver Stoffe führen und damit ohne unzulässige radiologische Auswirkungen auf die Aussenwelt bleiben.

Zusammenfassend kann festgestellt werden, dass während der Betriebsphase des Endlagers Typ C aus radiologischer Sicht keine Ge­fährdung der Umwelt besteht.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle