Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 83-21

Geophysikalisches Untersuchungsprogramm Nordschweiz Regionale Refraktionsseismische Messungen

Download

Details

In the framework of the geophysical survey of Switzerland the depth to the basement under the northeastern parts of the Swiss Jura mountains was determined by means of the seismic refraction method. This included an assessment of the seismic velocities within this crystalline basement at depth as well as for its outcrop in the nearby southern part of the Black Forest. The Swiss Geophysical Commission (SGPK) and the National Cooperative for the Storage of Radioactive Waste (NAGRA) were joint sponsors of this survey.

The Institute of Geophysics of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH-Z) organized the fieldwork and performed the interpretation of the data.

In the near-surface gneisses of the southern Black Forest the compressional wave velocities range from 2.2 km/s to 4.5 km/s. The velocity increases to about 5.0 km/s down to a depth of 300 m. It reaches values of about 5.5 km/s and 5.8 km/s at depths of 1 km and 2 km, respectively. At 3 km, which was the maximum depth reached, the velocity is still less than 6 km/s. No lateral changes or significant differences of velocity could be detected along or between the various profiles in the crystalline part of the Black Forest. This holds also for the surveyed gneissic and granitic areas.

The velocity - depth structure under the northeastern parts of the Swiss Jura and the adjacent parts of the Molasse basin is based on data from profiles which run from shotpoints near Villigen, the Hallwilersee and Kaisten in various directions. An average velocity of 3.7 to 3.8 km/ s was derived for the entire Mesozoic overburden. Underneath there is evidence for a heavily fractured transition zone in the crystalline basement with a gradual increase of velocity to about 5.2 km/s at a depth of 300 m below the base of the Mesozoic sediments. On the average a velocity of 6 km/s can be expected 2300 to 2500 m below this interface.

On a contour map covering the area of the northeastern Jura and the adjacent fringe of the Molasse basin the basement dips down to the south-southeast under the Mosozoic and Cenozoic sediments. This dip is more pronounced under the tabular Jura mountains and east of the Aare river than further south where the relief flattens out considerably. Pronounced east-west striking variations overlie the general southward oriented slope. Two small scale troughs seem to exist near Mönthal and Frick west of the Aare valley.

To the east of the Aare valley the crystalline basement forms a regional trough with a maximum depth of 2100 m below mean sea level. This unexpectedly large trough is likely to be filled with Permo-Carboniferous sediments. The eastern ranges of the folded Jura mountains again are underlain by a depression in the basement which is much less marked, however. To the south of this area, between Wildegg and Mellingen, a relative high of 200 m is superimposed on the generally SSE dipping basement.

The unexpected low velocities of the upper basement indicate severe weathering. Possibly the uppermost rocks are altered to such a degree that the location of the top of the basement is relatively inaccurate.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2022 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 83-21

Geophysikalisches Untersuchungsprogramm Nordschweiz Regionale Refraktionsseismische Messungen

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, deutsch
    20,00 CHF

Download

Details

Im Rahmen der detaillierten geophysikalischen Landesaufnahme in der Nordschweiz (nordöstliche Ausläufer des schweizerischen Jura) wurde mit der Methode der Refraktionsseismik versucht, die Tiefenlage der Grundgebirgsoberfläche und die Ausbreitungsgeschwindigkeiten seismischer Wellen der an dieser Grenzfläche – im Südschwarzwald auch oberflächennah – anstehenden kristallinen Gesteine zu erfassen. Gemeinsame Träger dieser Untersuchungen sind die Schweizerische Geophysikalische Kommission und die Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle (NAGRA), Baden. Die Organisation, Durchführung und Auswertung der Messungen lagen beim Institut für Geophysik der ETH Zürich.

Im Südschwarzwälder Gneisgebiet liegt die Geschwindigkeit der Kompressionswellen an der Oberfläche zwischen 2.2 km/s und 4.5 km/s. Bis zu einer Tiefe von 300 m steigt die Geschwindigkeit auf etwa 5.0 km/s an; in 1 km Tiefe beträgt die Geschwindigkeit etwa 5.5 km/s und in 2 km Tiefe 5.8 km/s. In dem maximal erfassten Tiefenbereich von 3 km liegt die Geschwindigkeit immer noch unter 6.0 km/s. Laterale Geschwindigkeitsänderungen oder signifikante Geschwindigkeitsunterschiede zwischen den einzelnen Profilen im Schwarzwaldkristallin konnten nicht festgestellt werden. Dies gilt auch für Unterschiede zwischen den erfassten Gneis- und Granitgebieten.

Die Geschwindigkeits-Tiefen-Struktur unter den nordöstlichen Ausläufern des Schweizer Jura und der angrenzenden Molassegebiete basiert auf den Profilen von Villigen, demjenigen zwischen Hallwilersee und Kaisten sowie auf dem Profil Kaisten - Ost. Für die mesozoischen Schichten wurde eine Ausbreitungsgeschwindigkeit von 3.7 km/s bis 3.8 km/s ermittelt. Darunter folgt eine vermutlich stark zerrüttete Übergangszone im kristallinen Grundgebirge, in welcher die Geschwindigkeit über einen Tiefenbereich von etwa 300 m auf 5.2 km/s erreicht. Die Geschwindigkeit von 6 km/s ist im Mittel bei etwa 2300 m bis 2500 m unter der Sedimentbasis zu erwarten.

Die in einem Tiefenlinienplan dargestellte Kristallinoberfläche im Gebiet des nordöstlichen Schweizer Jura und der angrenzenden Molassegebiete sinkt nach SSE unter die mesozoischen und känozoischen Sedimente ab. Das Abtauchen ist unter dem Tafeljura und östlich der Aare wesentlich stärker als weiter südlich, wo sich das Relief merklich verflacht. Dem allgemeinen Einfallen nach Süden sind ausgeprägte Ost­-West streichende Schwankungen überlagert. Westlich des Aaretals deuten sich bei Mönthal und Frick zwei kleinere Mulden an.

Östlich der Aare fällt das Kristallin von Norden nach Süden unter dem Rhein auf eine Tiefe von 2100 m unter Meeresniveau ab. Vermutlich tragen permo-karbonische Sedimente zu dieser unerwartet ausgeprägten Eintiefung bei. Die östlichen Ausläufer des Faltenjura liegen ebenfalls über einer allerdings weit weniger ausgeprägten Kristallinmulde. Südlich anschliessend zwischen Wildegg und Mellingen wird das allgemeine Abtauchen der Kristallinoberfläche durch eine relative Hochlage von etwa 200 m überlagert.

Die unerwartet geringe Geschwindigkeit des Kristallins weist auf einen starken Verwitterungsgrad hin, welcher unter Umständen so gross sein kann, dass die Kristallinoberfläche selbst nur relativ ungenau erfasst wird.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle