Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 83-01

Glasses used in the solidification of high level radioactive waste: Their behaviour in aqueous solutions

Order

  • hard copy, English
    CHF 30.00

Download

Details

Because of their amorphous structure, glasses are particularly suitable matrixes for the solidification of the mixture of radionuclides included in the high level wastes from reactor fuel reprocessing. They are not sensitive to variations in the fractions present of different waste oxides and are resistent to the effects of irradiation. In particular, borosilicate glasses have been investigated for around 25 years and the vitrification techniques have been tested on the technological scale.

The environmental conditions within a final waste repository are expected to be such that the chemical resistance of glasses to attack by groundwaters is of special interest. In the present report the corrosion behaviour is described, with emphasis being placed upon the most significant controlling parameters. Since experimental determination of corrosion rates must be done in relatively short-time experiments, the results of which can depend strongly upon the measurement methods employed, it is necessary to carry out a critical assessment of the techniques commonly used in laboratory work.

Experimental results are illustrated by means of selected examples. Particular emphasis is placed upon the effects of increased temperatures and of irradiation.

The models which have been proposed for the estimation of the long-term corrosion behaviour of glasses are not yet fully sufficient and improvements are required. Furthermore, the actual corrosion rates which are fed into such models must be replaced by values more appropriate for the actual environmental conditions to which the glasses are most likely to be exposed within high level waste repositories. It should be noted, however, that even with current conservative input data on corrosion rates, typical estimated lifetimes for vitrified waste blocks are of the order of 105 years.

The report concludes with recommendations concerning the most useful areas for further investigations.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 83-01

Gläser zur Verfestigung von hochradioaktivem Abfall: Ihr Verhalten gegenüber Wässern

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, englisch
    30,00 CHF

Download

Details

Gläser sind wegen ihrer amorphen Struktur besonders geeignet, das bei der Aufarbeitung von Reaktorbrennstoff anfallende Gemisch von hochradioaktivem Abfall zu verfestigen: sie sind unempfindlich gegen Schwankungen in der Zusammensetzung der Abfalloxide und gegen Strahlenschaden. Die dazu verwendeten Borosilikatgläser werden seit 25 Jahren untersucht, und die Abfallverglasung ist im technischen Massstab erprobt.

Im Hinblick auf mögliche Störfälle in einem Endlager ist die chemische Beständigkeit solcher Gläser gegenüber Wasser von besonderem Interesse. Dieser Bericht befasst sich mit dem Korrosionsverhalten von Gläsern, wobei die wesentlichen Einflussgrössen diskutiert werden. Die für Sicherheitsbetrachtungen benötigten Auflösungsgeschwindigkeiten müssen in relativ kurzzeitigen Experimenten bestimmt werden. Da die Art der Versuchsführung das Ergebnis in weiten Bereichen beeinflusst, ist eine kritische Beurteilung dieser Methoden erforderlich.

Experimentelle Ergebnisse werden anhand ausgewählter Beispiele dargestellt, wobei insbesondere auf die Einflüsse erhöhter Temperatur und radioaktiver Strahlung eingegangen wird.

Die Modelle zur Abschätzung des Langzeitverhaltens des verglasten Abfalls sind noch unvollkommen und bedürfen einer Verbesserung. Auch die in solche Modelle eingesetzten Auflösungsgeschwindigkeiten sollten revidiert werden: wünschbar sind Werte, die die Umgebungsbedingungen am Lagerort berücksichtigen. Es ist jedoch festzuhalten, dass schon konservative Modellannahmen mit konservativen Werten für die Auflösungsgeschwindigkeit eine «Lebensdauer» der einzulagernden Glasblöcke in der Grössenordnung von 105 Jahren erwarten lassen.

Dieser Bericht schliesst mit Empfehlungen für weitere Untersuchungen.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle