Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 14-02/VII

SGT Etappe 2: Vorschlag weiter zu untersuchender geologischer Standortgebiete mit zugehörigen Standortarealen für die Oberflächenanlage Geologische Grundlagen Dossier VII: Nutzungskonflikte

Order

  • hard copy, German
    CHF 30.00

Download

  • Technischer Bericht NTB 14-02/VII
    Download

Details

Dossier VII: Conflicts of use

Dossier VII on conflicts of use discusses whether resources that are commercially exploitable either from a present-day viewpoint or in the foreseeable future (e.g. salt, hydrocarbons, coal), mineral and thermal water sources, geothermal resources, raw materials for the construction industry, ores, etc. occur within, above or below the host rock and to what extent conflicts of use could arise.

A conflict arises when the use of resources is made more difficult or impossible by a deep geological repository (including its underground access structures) or when there is a significant likelihood of unintentional human intrusion into the repository. Whether the exploitation and use of raw materials could have an adverse effect on the barrier function of the effective containment zone (host rock and confining units) is also discussed; this could occur either through direct penetration into the effective containment zone or the repository itself by exploratory boreholes or indirectly due to induced movement along faults (subsidence of the bedrock, induced seismicity).

With the decision of the Federal Council of 30th November 2011 to adopt the siting regions proposed by Nagra in Stage 1 into the Sectoral Plan process, it was also decided that the Cantons would be responsible for checking, in the case of drilling permits or concessions, whether the proposed activities could present a risk to the barrier function of the effective containment zone. These checks are based on documentation provided by ENSI and a report prepared by Nagra with maps showing protection zones.

Potential conflicts of use within, and in the close vicinity of, the geological siting regions were analysed for the raw materials and types of usage mentioned above. The results are summarised below.

  • Hydrocarbons, coal: Potential conflicts of use in terms of mining and conveying of fossil hydrocarbon resources (natural gas, oil) and coal are complex in nature. They relate to exploration, conveying methods and the consequences of the mining activities.

No deposits of fossil raw materials are known in the four host rocks proposed in Stage 1 of the Sectoral Plan process and none of them has the potential for exploitation of shale gas.
 

Evaluation of the possible occurrence of raw materials beneath the host rock shows that only the Zürich Nordost siting region shows no potential for fossil raw resources over large areas. There is a potential for natural gas in the tight rocks of the Permo-Carboniferous (so-called tight gas plays) in the whole of the Jura Ost siting region. The same applies for the Nördlich Lägern siting region; the north-western boundary of this region also lies in an area with other potential types of deposit but these are outside the disposal perimeter. There is a speculative potential for natural gas in the tight gas plays of the Permo-Carboniferous in the Jura-Südfuss and Südranden regions, as well as coalbed methane in the carboniferous coals. The data on the deep underground (> 2 km) in the Wellenberg siting region are insufficient to allow the potential for natural resources to be assessed. However, because deep boreholes would be drilled from the valley floor there are no indications that there would be a conflict of use.
 

The volumes of potential energy resources based on hydrocarbons and coal are considerable, but costly exploration work would be necessary to demonstrate this potential and its economic significance.
 

With regard to exploration of the largely speculative hydrocarbon and coal reserves, no concrete conflicts of interest are expected because of the small footprint of a geological repository. Exploratory boreholes could be drilled outside the potential disposal perimeters (with appropriate safety distances) without any significant loss of relevant information. A repository would not be adversely affected by geophysical exploration campaigns such as reflection seismics and gravimetric surveys, although appropriate safety distances should be observed.

  • Salt: The information on salt deposits in Northern Switzerland was updated for Stage 2 of the Sectoral Plan process. Rock salt is mined exclusively by the leaching extraction process using boreholes. The salt deposits in the vicinity of the siting regions are generally so deep that they do not come into question for commercial exploitation today, or there are indications that they are very small or even completely absent. Salt extraction would only come into question in the very northern and western parts of the Jura Ost siting region if future boreholes indicated a commercially viable thickness of the deposits. However, these areas would lie clearly outside the HLW and L/ILW disposal perimeters.
  • Stone and earth, ores: The collective term stone and earth (also 'inorganic non-ores') includes various non-metallic mineral raw materials such as stone and earth mined for the building industry. For commercial reasons, these materials are extracted only close to the surface, mostly through open-pit mining and rarely in near-surface caverns. Potential adverse effects on a deep geological repository would be conceivable if extensive, deep extraction of mineral resources were to take place directly above the disposal perimeter. This would lead to decompaction of the rock and a corresponding increase in the hydraulic conductivity of the effective containment zone.

In recent years, there has been a public debate in the Jura Ost siting region regarding a large-scale limestone/marl quarrying project. In the extreme case, this project would have reached dimensions that could have had an influence on the definition of the disposal perimeter. However, plans for the project have been withdrawn, meaning that there are presently no such concrete projects for the Jura Ost region. In the meantime, the protection zones for deep geological repositories have also been defined.
 

Commercial extraction of ores in the geological siting regions is thus considered to be unlikely.

  • Mineral and thermal waters: Mineral and thermal water resources are exploited at several locations in Northern Switzerland and in neighbouring southern Germany. The groundwaters typically originate from deep flow systems and it therefore has to be considered whether the accesses to the deep repository (host rock) would influence these uses. Because of the very low hydraulic conductivity of the host rock, any influence from structures in the host rock itself can be ruled out.

Use of mineral and thermal waters could be influenced during the phase of constructing or operating the accesses to the repository if a hydraulic connection is established between these uses and the areas passed through by the repository access infrastructure. Extensive investigations carried out by Nagra over many years have provided a wealth of information on the flow conditions of deep groundwaters; this knowledge provides the basis for evaluating potential conflicts of use associated with mineral and thermal waters.
 

In most cases, an influence of the underground access structures on mineral and thermal waters can be ruled out because the relevant hydrogeological units mostly lie beneath the Opalinus Clay and are not passed through. Considered overall, there is only one case where an influence from the underground access structures cannot be completely ruled out, namely the thermal water borehole (artesian outflow) at Lottstetten-Nack (Germany) which has a small delivery into a well. In this case, appropriate preventive and monitoring measures would have to be taken when passing through the Malm aquifer if the underground access structures are constructed in the Südranden and Zürich Nordost siting regions.
 

There are no uses of mineral or thermal waters in the Wellenberg siting region and its surroundings.

  • Geothermal energy (particularly deep uses): Potential conflicts of use with respect to deep geothermal energy sources depend to a large extent on the type of use (hydrothermal, petrothermal), the geological target structures and target depth and the technology being used (type of stimulation).

The sites for geothermal installations listed by the Swiss Association for Geothermal Energy indicate that there are presently no direct conflicts of use between existing and currently planned geothermal projects and a deep geological repository.
 

A potential target area for future deep hydrothermal installations is the peripheral faults of the Northern Swiss Permo-Carboniferous Trough. These peripheral faults were deliberately avoided when defining the disposal perimeters in the siting regions and boundary zones of the Trough reactivated after the Palaeozoic were designated as tectonic zones to be avoided for several reasons, i.e. there are no disposal perimeters directly above such geothermal target areas. In the siting regions Zürich Nordost, Nördlich Lägern and Jura Ost, the disposal perimeters are partly bounded by fault zones at the Trough periphery.
 

If a geothermal project were to be initiated in peripheral fault zones of the Trough in the future, a safety distance would have to be respected in these areas and monitoring programmes put in place to rule out any adverse effects on the repository due to induced movements along faults and seismic activity.
 

According to a recent assessment by a group of experts, petrothermal systems are the most promising option in terms of successful long-term development of Swiss geothermal resources. However, due to existing technical problems, development of these systems is not yet sufficiently advanced to make them viable on the market.
 

In contrast to hydrothermal systems, petrothermal systems use large-scale heat anomalies deep underground and can be set up practically anywhere. For this reason, there are many opportunities to avoid potential conflicts of use with geological repository projects.

  • Natural gas storage: Research into storage possibilities in the wider surroundings of the geological siting regions proposed by Nagra has not identified any formations that would be suitable for large-scale storage of natural gas.
  • CO2 storage: A recent study by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) shows that most of the siting regions in Northern Switzerland lie outside zones that are potentially suitable for CO2 storage. The Jura-Südfuss siting region is the only one that is located at the edge of the zone designated as suitable in the SFOE study. However, because a geological repository has only a small footprint, the authors of the study consider the potential for conflict of use in this case to be negligible.

Have your say and visit us.

Follow us

Telephone

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste

Search

Technischer Bericht NTB 14-02/VII

SGT Etappe 2: Vorschlag weiter zu untersuchender geologischer Standortgebiete mit zugehörigen Standortarealen für die Oberflächenanlage Geologische Grundlagen Dossier VII: Nutzungskonflikte

Bestellung

  • gedruckt, deutsch
    30,00 CHF

Download

  • Technischer Bericht NTB 14-02/VII
    Download

Details

Dossier VII: Nutzungskonflikte

In Dossier VII 'Nutzungskonflikte' wird aufgezeigt, ob innerhalb, oberhalb oder unterhalb des Wirtgesteins aus heutiger Sicht oder in absehbarer Zeit wirtschaftlich nutzungswürdige Rohstoffe (z. B. Salz, Kohlenwasserstoffe, Kohle), Mineral- und Thermalwassernutzungen, geothermische Ressourcen, Rohstoffe für die Bauindustrie, Erze etc. in besonderem Masse vorkommen, und inwiefern sich daraus Nutzungskonflikte ergeben könnten.

Ein Nutzungskonflikt entsteht einerseits, wenn die Nutzung von vorhandenen Ressourcen durch ein Tiefenlager (inkl. Zugangsbauwerke) verunmöglicht oder beeinträchtigt wird, oder wenn eine erhebliche Wahrscheinlichkeit des unbeabsichtigten menschlichen Eindringens in das Tiefenlager besteht. Diskutiert wird ferner, ob die Erschliessung und Nutzung von Rohstoffen die Barrierenwirkung des einschlusswirksamen Gebirgsbereichs (Wirtgestein und Rahmengesteine) beeinträchtigen könnten, sei es beispielsweise durch direktes Eindringen mittels Sondierbohrungen in den einschlusswirksamen Gebirgsbereich oder in das Lager selbst, oder durch indirekte Beeinträchtigungen aufgrund induzierter Bewegungen an Störungen (Subsidenz des Untergrunds, induzierte Seismizität).

Mit dem Bundesratsentscheid vom 30. November 2011 zur Aufnahme der von der Nagra in Etappe 1 vorgeschlagenen Standortgebiete in den Sachplan geologische Tiefenlager wurde auch festgelegt, dass die Kantone, basierend auf Unterlagen des ENSI, bei Bohrbewilligungen oder Konzessionen prüfen, ob mit den angefragten Tätigkeiten die Barriereneigenschaften des einschlusswirksamen Gebirgsbereichs gefährdet werden könnten. Dazu wurde von der Nagra im Auftrag des ENSI ein Bericht mit entsprechenden Schutzzonen-Karten erarbeitet.

Die potenziellen Nutzungskonflikte innerhalb und im näheren Umfeld der geologischen Standortgebieten wurden für die oben aufgeführten Rohstoffe und Nutzungsarten analysiert; die Ergebnisse sind nachfolgend zusammenfassend dargestellt.

  • Kohlenwasserstoffe, Kohle: Die potenziellen Nutzungskonflikte bezüglich Abbau/Förderung von fossilen Kohlenwasserstoff-Ressourcen (Erdgas, Erdöl) und von Kohle sind vielschichtig. Sie betreffen die Exploration, Fördermethoden wie auch Folgeerscheinungen des Abbaus.

Innerhalb der vier in SGT Etappe 1 vorgeschlagenen Wirtgesteine sind keine fossilen Rohstoffvorkommen bekannt. Keines der Wirtgesteine hat ein Potenzial für eine Schiefergas-Nutzung.
 

Die Evaluation möglicher Rohstoffe unterhalb der Wirtgesteine zeigt, dass nur das geologische Standortgebiet Zürich Nordost in grossen Teilen, kein Potenzial für fossile Rohstoffe aufweist. Im gesamten Standortgebiet Jura Ost besteht ein mögliches Potenzial für Erdgas in dichten Gesteinen des Permokarbons (sog. thight gas plays). Dasselbe gilt für das Gebiet Nördlich Lägern. wobei dort der Nordwestrand auch im Bereich von weiteren möglichen Lagerstättentypen liegt; diese liegen aber ausserhalb des Lagerperimeters. Für die Standortgebiete Jura-Südfuss und Südranden besteht ein spekulatives Potenzial für Erdgas in dichten Gesteinen (tight gas) des Permokarbons sowie Kohleflözgas in den Karbonkohlen. Im geologischen Standortgebiet Wellenberg ist die Datenlage über den tiefen Untergrund (> 2 km) ungenügend für eine Abschätzung möglicher Ressourcen; aber weil Tiefbohrungen von der Talsohle aus erfolgen würden, zeichnen sich keine Nutzungskonflikte ab.
 

Die Mengen an potenziellen Energieressourcen auf Basis von Kohlenwasserstoffen bzw. Kohle sind erheblich. Allerdings wären für den Nachweis dieses Potenzials und dessen wirtschaftliche Nutzung weitere kostspielige Explorationsarbeiten notwendig.
 

Im Hinblick auf Explorationsarbeiten zur Erkundung der meist spekulativen Kohlenwasserstoff- und Kohle-Ressourcen zeichnen sich wegen des geringen Platzbedarfs eines Tiefenlagers keine konkreten Interessenskonflikte ab. Explorationsbohrungen können ohne Erkenntnisverlust ausserhalb der potenziellen Lagerperimeter mit angemessenen Sicherheitsabständen durchgeführt werden. Durch geophysikalische Explorationskampagnen (Reflexionsseismik, Gravimetrie) wird ein Tiefenlager nicht beeinträchtigt. Für eine allfällige Nutzung sind entsprechende Sicherheitsabstände einzuhalten.

  • Salz: Für Etappe 2 wurden die Informationen über die Salzvorkommen der Nordschweiz aktualisiert und präzisiert. Der Abbau des Steinsalzes erfolgt ausschliesslich im Auslaugungsverfahren mit Bohrungen. Die Salzschichten liegen im Bereich der Standortgebiete meist so tief, dass sie für eine wirtschaftliche Nutzung aus heutiger Sicht nicht in Betracht kommen, oder es gibt Hinweise auf eine sehr geringe Mächtigkeit oder ein Nichtvorhandensein des Salzlagers. Einzig im nördlichsten und westlichsten Bereich des Standortgebiets Jura Ost käme ein Salzabbau in Frage, falls mit zukünftigen Bohrungen eine wirtschaftlich nutzbare Mächtigkeit nachgewiesen werden könnte. Dieses Gebiet liegt jedoch deutlich ausserhalb der Lagerperimeter SMA und HAA.
  • Steine und Erden, Erze: Unter dem Sammelbegriff Steine und Erden (auch 'anorganische Nicht-Erze' genannt) werden verschiedene nicht-metallische, mineralische Rohstoffe zusammengefasst. Steine und Erden werden aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen nur oberflächennah – meist im Tagebau, selten in oberflächennahen Kavernen – abgebaut. Eine potenzielle Beeinträchtigung eines geologischen Tiefenlagers wäre denkbar, wenn direkt über dem Lagerperimeter ein tiefreichender, grossflächiger Abbau von mineralischen Rohstoffen stattfinden würde, welcher eine Dekompaktion des Gebirges und als Folge davon eine Erhöhung der hydraulischen Durchlässigkeit des einschlusswirksamen Gebirgsbereichs bewirken würde.

Im geologischen Standortgebiet Jura Ost fand in den letzten Jahren eine öffentliche Debatte über ein grosses Kalk/Mergelabbau-Projekt statt. Ein solcher Abbau hätte Dimensionen erreicht, die im Extremfall einen Einfluss auf die Abgrenzung der Lagerperimeter gehabt hätten. Das Projekt wurde jedoch zurückgezogen. Zurzeit gibt es im Standortgebiet Jura Ost keine konkreten Kalk/Mergel-Abbauprojekte. Inzwischen sind auch die entsprechenden Schutzzonen für geologische Tiefenlager festgelegt worden.

 

Ein wirtschaftlicher Abbau von Erzen in den geologischen Standortgebieten wird als unwahrscheinlich eingestuft.

  • Mineral- und Thermalwassernutzungen: In der Nordschweiz und im angrenzenden süddeutschen Gebiet existieren an verschiedenen Orten Mineral- und Thermalwassernutzungen. Die genutzten Grundwässer stammen dabei typischerweise aus tiefreichenden Fliesssystemen. Es muss deshalb beurteilt werden, ob durch die Zugänge ins Tiefenlager (Wirtgestein) eine Beeinflussung dieser Nutzungen zu erwarten ist. Eine Beeinflussung durch Bauwerke im Wirtgestein selbst kann aufgrund der sehr geringen hydraulischen Durchlässigkeit dieser Gesteine ausgeschlossen werden.

Mineral- oder Thermalwassernutzungen könnten während der Bau- oder der Betriebsphase der Zugänge beeinflusst werden, wenn eine hydraulische Verbindung zwischen diesen Nutzungen und den von den Zugängen durchfahrenen Bereichen besteht. Umfangreiche, jahrelange Abklärungen der Nagra haben eine Fülle von Informationen zum Verständnis der Fliessverhältnisse der Tiefengrundwässer geliefert. Sie bilden die Basis für die Beurteilung potenzieller Nutzungskonflikte im Zusammenhang mit Mineral- und Thermalwassernutzungen.

In den meisten Fällen kann eine Beeinflussung der Mineral- und Thermalwassernutzungen durch die Zugangsbauwerke ausgeschlossen werden, da die betreffenden hydrogeologischen Einheiten, welche sich oft unterhalb des Opalinustons befinden, nicht durchfahren werden. Insgesamt gibt es nur eine Nutzung, bei welcher eine Beeinflussung durch die Zugangsbauwerke nicht vollständig ausgeschlossen werden kann. Es handelt sich um die mit einer geringen Schüttung in einen Brunnen artesisch ausfliessende Thermalwasserbohrung Lottstetten-Nack (D). In diesem Fall müssten bei der Erstellung der Zugangsbauwerke in den Standortgebieten Südranden und Zürich Nordost beim Durchfahren des Malm-Aquifers entsprechende Vorsichts – und Ueberwachungsmassnahmen getroffen werden.
 

Im geologischen Standortgebiet Wellenberg und Umgebung existieren keine Mineral- oder Thermalwassernutzungen.

  • Geothermie (insbesondere tiefe Nutzungen): Die potenziellen Nutzungskonflikte bezüglich tiefer Geothermie hängen stark von der Nutzungsart (hydrothermal, petrothermal), der geologischen Zielstrukturen und Zieltiefe sowie der verwendeten Technologie (Art der Stimulation) ab.

Die von der Schweizerischen Vereinigung für Geothermie aufgelisteten Standorte geothermischer Anlagen lassen den Schluss zu, dass zurzeit keine direkten Nutzungskonflikte zwischen bestehenden bzw. aktuell geplanten geothermischen Anlagen und einem Tiefenlager vorliegen.
 

Als mögliches Zielgebiet zukünftiger tiefer hydrothermaler Anlagen gelten Randstörungen des Nordschweizer Permokarbontrogs. Bei der Abgrenzung der Lagerperimeter innerhalb der Standortgebiete wurde bekannten Trograndstörungen ausgewichen und post-paläozoisch reaktivierte Randbereiche des Nordschweizer Permokarbontrogs wurden aus verschiedenen Gründen als 'zu meidende tektonische Zonen' eingestuft. D. h. es gibt keine Lagerperimeter, welche direkt über solchen geothermischen Zielgebieten liegen. In den Standortgebieten Zürich Nordost, Nördlich Lägern und Jura Ost sind die Lagerperimeter teilweise durch Trogrand-Störungszonen begrenzt.
 

In diesen Gebieten müssten – falls zukünftig ein Geothermie-Projekt in Trograndstörungen lanciert werden sollte – ein nötiger Sicherheitsabstand eingehalten und geeignete Überwachungsprogramme durchgeführt werden, damit eine Beeinträchtigung eines Tiefenlagers durch induzierte Bewegungen an Störungen bzw. Seismizität ausgeschlossen werden kann.
 

Gemäss neuester Einschätzung einer breitgefächerten Gruppe von Fachexperten sind petrothermale Systeme am vielversprechendsten für eine erfolgreiche langfristige Erschliessung der schweizerischen Geothermieressourcen, obwohl diese Systeme angesichts der noch bestehenden technischen Probleme zur Zeit noch nicht genügend ausgereift sind, um am Markt bestehen zu können.
 

Im Gegensatz zu hydrothermalen Systemen nutzen petrothermale Systeme grossflächige Wärmeanomalien im tiefen Untergrund und können praktisch überall errichtet werden. Aus diesem Grund bestehen in Bezug auf geologische Tiefenlager viele Möglichkeiten, um potenziellen Nutzungskonflikten auszuweichen.

  • Erdgasspeicherung: Aufgrund der bisherigen Speicherforschungsarbeiten konnten im weiteren Umfeld der von der Nagra vorgeschlagenen Standortgebiete keine geeigneten Formationen für die Grossspeicherung von Erdgas lokalisiert werden.
  • CO2-Speicherung: Die neueste Studie des BFE zeigen, dass die meisten Standortgebieten in der Nordschweiz ausserhalb der potenziell geeigneten Zonen für die CO2-Speicherung liegen. Nur das Standortgebiet Jura-Südfuss liegt am Rand der in dieser Studie als günstig bezeichneten Zone. Weil ein geologisches Tiefenlager nur eine geringe Fläche beansprucht, sehen die Autoren der Studie die Nutzungskonflikte auch dort als vernachlässigbar an.

Reden Sie mit und besuchen Sie uns.

Diskutieren Sie mit

Telefon

+41 56 437 11 11


©2021 Nagra, Nationale Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle